Hacking sdhc, and slot 2 devices

IMonCRACK

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
the supercard ds one v3 sdhc does support 8 gig micro sd correct? i heard somewhere that the sdhc only supports up to 4. my other question is, which slot 2 device should i get with this, i want gba games. all i really want slot 2 for is gba, and an extra microsd slot, but alot dont have the sd slot (well not that i see), but wut else is slot 2 used for if your using a slot1 flash cart??

gamadaya

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
I'll reply, but don't just take my word for it, because I'm a noob. The HC in SDHC stands for high capacity, so I do think it supports 8 gig microSDs. Also, for a slot 2 device, I've heard good things about the EZ Flash 3-in-1, and I'm thinking of getting it myself, but I think it only fits in DS lites.

mysticdrake

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Okay, so first off, while SDHC has different addressing protocols than the SD format, all sizes of SDHC use the same protocol (sector addressing instead of Byte addressing). Therefore, theoretically, you should be able to even use the 16 Gb microSD that just came out a couple weeks ago and it will work on the SuperCard DS IF AND ONLY IF you get V3. If you get V1 or V2, then you're stuck with a 2 Gb max as they are not SDHC compatible. (You can tell the difference because V3 has a white shell while V1 and V2 have black ones).

About the Slot 2. The EZ Flash 3 in 1 doesn't have a MicroSD slot. It contains rumble PSRAM and NOR Memory. This product is basically used as an extension of a Slot-1 cart's applications. You can use it to play GBA games off a slot 1 card, use it for select homebrew that require more memory and even as DS Opera's Expansion Ram.