Savemiifrii & Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Wheelie Breakers

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Leussink, Nov 4, 2010.

Nov 4, 2010
  1. Leussink
    OP

    Newcomer Leussink Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got here a bricked wii with a black screen and no modchip inside.
    I got the original Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Wheelie Breakers.
    If i bought me a savemii or use a gamecube controller to enter the recovery mode is it possible with yu gi oh to fix this wii or need i a modchip to run yu gi oh?
     
  2. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Country:
    Sweden
    how did you brick it? Was it a badchannel install or did it just turn magicly black?

    Got Bootmii installed as boot2?
     
  3. Leussink
    OP

    Newcomer Leussink Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got the wii from a friend and he bought it online and he hopes to fix it.
    I tried and no bootmii or priiloader on it.

    But i want to know if yu gi oh original exploit works with safemii without having a modchip.
     
  4. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well it won't really help. You need a modchip to auto-boot the game.

    Got any more info of the Wii?

    The Savemii method just for firmware upgrade more or less.
     
  5. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    I think if it is an original dvd your wii can start it without a modchip in the recovery mode(i think it work without autoboot(?)).

    But if it is a full brick you can not recover your wii with YGO because the recovery mode didn't work.
     
  6. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    you need a mod chip to autoboot.
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    how are you planning to copy the hacked game save to the nand if the wii wont start? this exploit relies on that.
     
  8. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... That method isn't going to work. Besides not having the exploit to the nand, it would be unlikely that the wii would have the proper IOS installed to run the game if it's full bricked like that.
     
  9. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Getting a black screen directly (without any system menu artifacts)
    Two common possibilities,

    1 - Bluetooth module is broken or detached
    a. solution: Replace defective bluetooth module or attach it firmly at it's place...

    2 - A stub menu IOS is installed or menu IOS uninstalled completely
    a. solution for an old wii that accepts bootmii@boot2 installation : flash bootmii using infectus

    b. solution for a wii with keys and/or a nand backup (no bootmii@boot2 compatibility) : convert a healthy nand dump (donor should have same version of boot1) to said wii and flash it with infectus.

    c. solution for a wii with no keys no nand backup and no bootmii@boot2 compatibility : currently none

    A common method to see if it supports boot2 installation of bootmii is checking the original drive type of the wii using it's serial number (you can use wiidrives.com) If it has an older drivechip than D2C then it's 100% bootmii@boot2 compatible... if it has newer drive than D2C then it's 100% not compatible with bootmii@boot2... If it's a D2C you should check the cpu on the main board too see it for yourself...
     
  10. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    if your going to open the wii to check that youre better off just checking the motherboard rev number
     

Share This Page