Homebrew S8DS

FluBBa

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
142
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.ndsretro.com
XP
1,164
Country
Staff edit 2021. Some more updates have been happening
https://gbatemp.net/threads/s8ds-new-release.601262/

Just released S8DS V 0.8, some smal fixes and support for new systems.

*Added basic MSX 1 support.
*Added SG-1000 Arcade support.
*Added System-E support.
*Added MegaTech files support.
*Added support for 3 button MegaDrive pad.
*Added mini Bios from Power Base Converter for MegaDrive.
*Added background images for all Systems.
*Added support for arguments from flashcard menus.
*Support for longer filenames and more files per folder.
*Fixed sprite palette bug for TMS9918.
*Turned of sprites for Mode 1.

www.ndsretro.com
 
Last edited by FluBBa,

Gyron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
286
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United Kingdom
Whats this for? You didnt release any downloads, links or anything to let anyone know what you are talking about.

It's on his website, which is listed in his profile info. It's a Master System/Game Gear/SG-1000 Emulator.
http://www.ndsretro.com/ndsdown.html

Fantanstic @FluBBa. I was only playing Kings Quest on S8DS v0.7 last night. Excellent work. Thanks.
 

FluBBa

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
142
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.ndsretro.com
XP
1,164
Country
S8DS should emulate everything Sega 8-bit console plus Coleco and a bit MSX 1.
I will need a mapper chooser for MSX or some kind of database, but I will get to that (though there are probably better emulators for it).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cid2mizard

nitendo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
81
Trophies
0
XP
169
Country
FluBBa: Can you please add upscaling (with aspect) to the game-gear emulation? That would be awesome and I would be most grateful..

Pretty please - with sugar on top?
(Snälla - det vore schyrrans sörru!)

In this thread - at the bottom of the page - the coder Drenn explains (kinda) how he solved the upscaling in his GB emulator gameYob:
http://gbatemp.net/threads/gameyob-a-gameboy-emulator-for-ds.343407/page-35

Maybe this is a technique you can utilize too?

I actually created a thread some time ago - checking if you still visited this forum:
http://gbatemp.net/threads/flubba-where-art-thou.374344/

EDIT: Just checked the latest version out and it looks as good as ever!

There are however something a little off with the file selector: When the amount of files/directories are less than 23, the remaining lines get padded with "} ,".

A minor issue - but I guess it's pretty easy to resolve?

/dACE
 
Last edited by nitendo,

JCR1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
220
Trophies
0
XP
571
Country
Mexico
Yeah, this emulator along with NesDs and Gameyob are the best!

By the way, you can add ten slots of savestates per game and time rewind feature? and I'm want upscaling for gamegear too, just to play shinobi GG and Battletoads

thanks!!
 
Last edited by JCR1,

reprep

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
939
Trophies
0
Website
melankolisavar.blogspot.com
XP
1,024
Country
I tried S8DS in sudokuhax on my new 3DS XL. It boots fine and lets you select rom but as soon as you select the rom, upper screen black screens. You have to press home and get back to main menu. So main menu is sudokuhax compatible while the actual emulation is not. At least that is what i found out with SMS roms which all work fine via supercard dstwo flashcart in DS mode.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SLiV3R

FluBBa

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
142
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.ndsretro.com
XP
1,164
Country
It's not much point since as far as I can see the old sprites+tiles graphics is gone from the 3DS... Though I've put together a (scene) demo the last few weeks for the 3DS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SLiV3R
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: And is the game universe Japanese sewers or the streets of New York