1. MarioSilva

    MarioSilva Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    Is there any reason why they still include a copy of each .rpx executable for each core in the /wiiu/apps folder? I mean, don't they do exactly the same thing as the .rpx that are located in /retroarch/cores?

    Also, from what I've been testing the forwarder can only be installed and started with a CFW, using signpatcher alone always fails (at least on my Wii U)
     
    uhhh_adam and n00bsaib0t like this.
  2. uhhh_adam

    uhhh_adam Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    good thing for me is i got it working on my homebrew so i just open it from there. All thats left for me is figuring out every obscure emulator that works
     
  3. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,684
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone having problems updating cores in retroarch? I tried the "Update installed cores" option, but it stuck at 40% on some cores. Even a manual update won't change anything.
     
  4. TimboTuesday

    TimboTuesday Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried installing both the stable build and the nightly build and I get bad icons every time. What am I doing wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. GABO1423

    GABO1423 Vergación...
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Could be that the SD Card is locked. That's the reason it happens to me anyway.
     
    TimboTuesday likes this.
  6. TimboTuesday

    TimboTuesday Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, not locked. I just checked.
     
  7. GABO1423

    GABO1423 Vergación...
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Then it might be that you are missing the assets. I recommend you download them manually since the in built Online Updater is prone to failure.
     
    TimboTuesday likes this.
  8. TimboTuesday

    TimboTuesday Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Totally worked. Thanks for your help.
     
    GABO1423 likes this.
  9. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Sweden
    @QuarkTheAwesome hi man, long time no see!
    I was playing around with the mame cores of retroarch the other day and wanted to see if the sensor data of the wiimote could be used as a "pointing device" or "mouse", but I couldn't make it work.

    What kind of job do you think would have to be put in to make something like that work? Imagine if wiiu could play all the light gun games and point and click adventures using wiimote, I'd probably put it up there as the most versatile hardware for emulation!
     
    CORE and Maxbeta like this.
  10. Maxbeta

    Maxbeta GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    I been preaching the same thing for a while now brother. The amount of games for Arcade, Nes, SNES and others that would be available right off the bat leaves a lot to say as to why this has not been fully implemented into RA yet.
    I mean the crosshairs and programming is already there but it just won’t work with Wiimotes. I’ve tried both the old wiimotes and the later motion controls inside versions and nothing works.
     
    CORE and jacobsson like this.
  11. Ironbass

    Ironbass Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi there !

    I don't know if somebody here would be able to help me out...

    I am trying to install the RetroArch Forwarder as explained in the first post of this thread and it doesn't seem to want to work...

    The forwarder installed and all... I can launch it, but as soon as I see the app's launching screen where you can see all these bunch of old consoles in a black box then the Wii U menu pops up instead of loading the RetroArch app...

    Thanks in advance for all your help !

    Ironbass :) :) :)
     
  12. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,684
    Country:
    United States
    So... just curious. Anyone actually gotten online multiplayer to work on this thing? :ninja:
     
  13. MarioSilva

    MarioSilva Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    It works, but you need to manually setup port forwarding, because public rooms don't work on Wii U (I don't know why)
     
  14. n00bsaib0t

    n00bsaib0t GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it is a forwarder. Did you also install Retroarch on your SD card?
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  15. Ironbass

    Ironbass Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes I did ! Thanks !

    I don't know what I've done, but it works now !

    I think restarting the machine did the trick... Don't know what happened there...

    Thanks for your help !!!

    Ironbass :) :) :)
     
  16. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,684
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, something is wrong. Is running slow. :blink:

    I turned it on to play genesis today and before it was running at stable 60FPS, now is not. I didn't change any settings since then. Just did a weekly core update to make sure everything is updated.
     
  17. Maxbeta

    Maxbeta GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    This happens sometimes with newer updates. I usually delete the config for the core that is giving problems and it usually fixes things.
    It’s annoying but a fix nonetheless.
     
    AmandaRose likes this.
  18. jul16ares

    jul16ares Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    France
    For point and click games use the Wii version of ScummVM, this version is far better than the unofficial one in RA (WiiU), and you'll get the Wiimote support, and it's very adictive !!
    You can playing around with hbl2hbc to get a forwarder on wiiu menu.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That stuff ?
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/official-wii-u-retroarch-ultimate-build.549063/#post-9001950

    Stuck on 1.7.7 but what it does it does well. My selection is based essentially of 16 bits machines :
    All the arcadeset, Amiga, Some of DOSbox (Wing Commander+Alone in the dark), Selections in Snes, MD, GBA, PCE, NEOGEO and GBC
     
    Last edited by jul16ares, Jul 11, 2020
  19. Maxbeta

    Maxbeta GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like there’s a new PSX core supporting various renderers. Finger crossed that we get it for the Wii U soon.
     
    depaul likes this.
  20. niuus

    niuus GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Made for x86-64 and ARM. So, not on any Wii U soon.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch,