1. Whelt

    Whelt Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting, so there are more drivers? I'm not sure how to enable these - when I go into driver settings, the only options for Input Driver and Joypad Driver are "wiiu" or "null".
     
  2. TheChosen

    TheChosen GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes it is! And that guy wrote a fantastic program there buddy. However the mistake was thinking, that games are only protected by one-step-security, No dude. On Wii, certain Mario-games and games made by Nintendo themselves were protected with a second protection which are "software-triggers". Which hackers larned to circumvent (when you crack a program you "patch" the exe-file by taking out these lines of code from the original program). However those games were tiny & so it was easy to circumvent them or shut them off. But times have changed & WiiU`s games and even "exe"-sizes are much bigger now. It would take years to find these triggers build into the software.

    So there`s nothing you can do about it. But did you ever consider that your 1st-step-attack in WiiU`S "chain-of-trust" is a good solution to now start running a full-grown Linux? Mocha is perfect since you shut-off that security bullshit before it even starts.
    Now it`S time to start building a Linux-loader with Mocha-support. I can help you, if you want (first building another linux-kernel is necesasry, right?). Or it´s time you think what you can do with your program. E.g. start over supporting Retroarch since it gives a much better speed!

    I couldn`t get Mocha to detect my games yet. It´s too complicated for me right now. May it be, that the USB has to be formatted with 32 kbytes or bigger to be detected? I used 8 Kbyte block size right now. The screen just says black with those bubbles on it. All games are directly dumped and have 3 files, and corretly formatted with the right folders. But nothing detected.

    Mocha would be really great in order for something such as Retroarch. Forget the WiiU-OS. It´s garbage. You cannot save it. It´s too highly protected. We might be never able to patch all that DRM-shit out. But: we can circumvent the security before it even starts. Or we simply use CFW to install own programs.

    You guys often concentrate too much on one thing (getting original games to run), forgetting that you can use your stuff for much other nice stuff as well.
     
    jacobsson, september796 and CORE like this.
  3. CORE

    CORE 3:16
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,024
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @TheChosen

    A Full OS Replacement with all Mocha Checks in Place.

    Sounds great but everyone seems to have given up mostly due to Switch hype and generally easier to develop for.

    But you have the right idea The WiiU is an awesome overlooked Console and I do intend to do stuff with it myself.

    There is a Linux Project but have not really looked at it besides my Coding skills are pretty much non existing but I do intend to learn just getting round to it lol.

    I was looking into Eclipse or Visual Studio along with Notepad++ and DevKitPro etc.

    I also read up on your post about USB Dangers which is very TRUE.

    I have replaced 4 PCs due to Voltage Spikes with USB Ports one caused by idiocy cleaning dust from port with screwdriver lol.

    I even read at one point 360s actually had some issues from front ports.

    HDMI Ports have voltage too.

    SM 3D World crashes via SSD Loadiine trying to save and Load times are dreadful still regarding Loadiine I have not tryed anything else however apart from RetroArch which runs well slightly faster. MOCHAFAT32.

    But Overall I Agree and like your approach regarding Alternative Linux OS.
     
    Last edited by CORE, May 21, 2020
    depaul likes this.
  4. vgmoose

    vgmoose GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United States
    snip
     
    Last edited by vgmoose, May 21, 2020 - Reason: oops
  5. damex

    damex Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    hi,
    i tried using retroarch (1.8.7 - last stable) on Wii U and some things are not working so here is the questions (I checked last few dozens of pages here and done search online to no avail):

    - I have GBA games. RetroArch on different platforms scan them fine and add to a tab (xmb menu) under the 'GBA' console. it does not do so after scanning for Wii U RetroArch. although I can run games manually using 'Load Content' from the menu. there is two cores present for emulating GBA. is there anything I could do to fix it?

    - network seem to be working (I can download database and list net play groups) but you can't download thumbnails for the games in the menu. option for downloading them directly for each item is not present (it is present on other platforms) and downloading through the content downloader does not function (nothing happen after clicking it). is there anything I could do to fix it?

    thank you
     
  6. hug0-a7x

    hug0-a7x GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    Brazil
    How do I add shaders ?
     
  7. DracoSage

    DracoSage Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Mexico
    To add shaders just extract them into your SD card and from the quick menu when a game is already loaded choose "Shaders" then "load preset" and look for them in the directory you extracted them
    I'm having a problem. While fast forward the game freezes, have happened to me three times today. Somebody knows what could be causing this problem? Just donwloaded the lastest retroarch version
     
    Last edited by DracoSage, May 24, 2020
    hug0-a7x likes this.
  8. MarioSilva

    MarioSilva Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Brazil
    just keep in mind that shaders will only work if compiled for Wii U. and about the freezes, this was happening to me a while ago, just changed the speed to x6 and it seemed to work fine after that.

    by the way, now I'm having a different problem, sometimes retroarch does not load the proper core for each file extension, for example: I select a .gba rom, retroarch loads mgba (as expected), then I select another .gba, but this time retroarch loads snes9x instead.

    not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, it didn't happen to me in previous versions, I've already reconfigured the .cfg and reinstalled all .rpx/.info files.

    Edit: fixed this last problem by changing my sd card
     
    Last edited by MarioSilva, May 24, 2020
    jacobsson likes this.
  9. tmnr1992

    tmnr1992 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Version 1.8.8 is acting very weird. I haven't fully configured it yet, but so far I can get snes games to play properly but not nes games. For some reason nes games won't detect any input from my controller, even though I can navigate the emulator's menus just fine. Maybe I broke something? I removed the old version's (1.8.5 I think) config files and cores and replaced everything else with the new update files, so maybe some of the old files are not compatible I guess? Since everything worked perfectly right before updating.

    Also it seems like configurations are not saved properly because after exiting the emulator and opening it again I could no longer access the menu with the key binding I had previously assigned.
     
    Last edited by tmnr1992, May 28, 2020
  10. Zense
    This message by Zense has been removed from public view by Flame, Jun 3, 2020.
    May 28, 2020 Show
  11. tmnr1992

    tmnr1992 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Did a fresh install and everything seems to work now, except I still can't fceugx core to register any input, other NES cores work, but this one specifically does not for some reason.
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  12. MarioSilva

    MarioSilva Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm having the exact same problem, I thought it was just me
     
  13. depaul

    depaul GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    France
    Please implement the ability to turn off gamepad screen. Since Padcon crashes retroarch.

    Some play RA on big screen, it's just a waste to output video both to TV and gamepad all the time :(
     
    CORE, Maxbeta and Masana like this.
  14. Maxbeta

    Maxbeta GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    United States
    Would be nice but in the meantime you can turn it off before going into retroarch on the Wii U menu Home options.
     
  15. Aruvein

    Aruvein Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi,
    My wiiu gamepad works fine alone with retroarch.
    When I connect a dualshock3 (the only extra controller I have) , it is recognized and the system says the gamepad is set on port 1, dualshock is on port 2. So far so good.

    As soon as I launch a rom, the dualshock3 is automatically assigned to port 1,and the device (wiiu gamepad) is disconnected. Game starts with only ds3 working. When I try to go to the input settings, the wiiu gamepad is gone, impossible to assign it back.

    Does anyone have the same problem? I can't get to have both work at the same time.
    (I'm launching retroarch via hbl with Browser exploit)
     
  16. depaul

    depaul GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    France
    @Maxbeta Thank you my friend but that's only possible if you use another controller. If you use Gamepad it will be turned on again if you press a button :(
     
    Maxbeta likes this.
  17. september796

    september796 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    As an alternative: while on retroarch, after you load a game and setup another controller as player 1 you can just force power off the gamepad by holding its power button for a few seconds. Keep in mind that if you then load another game/core or exit RA it'll shut down the wii u.
    Yeah, this is totally a needed feature. Being able to at least turn off the screen on the gamepad while not using it, turning it off completely would be ideal in order to save battery.
     
    uhhh_adam, depaul and LarryD like this.
  18. LarryD

    LarryD Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    I am trying to play the english translation of Fire Emblem 6 with RetroArch 1.8.8 on the mGBA core, but everytime I play the Wii U just completely shuts down out of nowhere after approximately 10-15 minutes of play. I am on the latest firmware and use Haxchi. The problem persists with both the RetroArch Launcher and Homebrew Launcher rpx. Maybe I turned on or off a wrong setting? I got 30 minutes of play in the game a few days ago with no problem.

    EDIT: I tried playing Oracle of Seasons with SameBoy Core, same thing happens. I know it worked before, especially with that game. I will try deleting my configuration and reinserting assets.

    EDIT2: Deleting and reinstalling retroarch fixed the issue. Btw the Forwarder sucks, shuts down the console everytime I try to change cores or exiting Retroarch. I suggest sticking with the HBL rpx.
     
    Last edited by LarryD, Jun 7, 2020
    uhhh_adam likes this.
  19. Maxbeta

    Maxbeta GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any games or apps where the gamepad screen can be off while you use it as a controller? I’ve never heard of this before but it’s very interesting indeed!
     
    depaul likes this.
  20. N7Kopper

    N7Kopper Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a feature in DRC-Test, among other options to test your buttons, analogs, touchscreen, regular screen, and all the motion sensing equipment.

    A handy little program to have, all in all.
     
    Maxbeta likes this.
  21. depaul

    depaul GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    France
    jacobsson, Maxbeta and Zense like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch,