1. mikifantastik98

    mikifantastik98 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    268
    Country:
    Italy
    ahahhaha !!!
    anyway...
    ... emulation is still not good for this core.
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  2. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,845
    Country:
    United States
    You'll see full speed Dreamcast emulation on Horizon before we'll see Sega Saturn emulation at anything approaching full speed on the Switch. Hell, the former is already full speed for anything not 2D (which is mostly games that you can play just fine with Final Burn Neo or PCSX-ReARMed)
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  3. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Country:
    United States
    i already got most of Rearmed-pcsx and flycast running mostly full speed also the FBneo too the only thing was pgm.zip bio wasnt there :wacko: but the rest other roms are fine :). Hopefully we get Yaba Sanshiro's Saturn core which is full speed then Ill be all set been busy converting isos to cue or chd and testing which works or not work. i need to do same with ps1 isos to compression from.img to chd or pbp to have more spaces ^_^
     
  4. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,845
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, Yaba Sanshiro keeps doing digital Judo throws anytime I go the menu on my PC to RetroArch, causing a crash, and driving me towards either using the beetle core, or Kronos.
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  5. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Country:
    United States
    hopefully M4XW get to hand on Yaba Sanshiro's core and fix the bugs for switch it been waiting half year or longer and im curious about the Android that Yaba Sanshiro Pro now available its five dallors on playstore nvm i read review that has issues like you said maybe should bring Bettle saturn ?
     
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Aug 11, 2020
    nifoc2099 and lordelan like this.
  6. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner Lost Wanderer Who Sees No Evil
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,845
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, I'm sure Yaba Sanshiro is fine, it's probably a problem on my end there. But I will say that if you want to play Saturn games, you're better off with a PC atm. I can't remember how well those games ran on an Nvidia SHIELD TV, but while Saturn emulation is certainly in a better state than it was 5 years ago, it still is woefully behind the progress we're seeing on the emulation of other systems.
     
  7. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,091
    Country:
    Mexico
    The problem is not performance, in fact the Switch can do fullspeed ahead Saturn with Yaba Sanshiro, the issue is that the dynarec code was so poorly done that is hard to adapt with libnx and the fact that the libretro core is no longer maintained due to how unfriendly is with the Libretro API.
     
    Silent_Gunner likes this.
  8. Lunatics

    Lunatics GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I am hoping someone may be able to provide some assistance to me trying to get Majora's mask working better.

    I found a reddit post talking about settings to use and they talked about changing the overscan and resolution and other settings however when I try to go through my own settings I can not find similar settings to adjust.

    Ontop of that I was trying to change the UI to xmb to see if it would help display more settings, and eventually could not get games to launch at all and it was using some retro UI and I could not change any settings and ended up having to load default settings again.

    Can anyone please assist with how I can get into more advanced menus to change the resolution and certain settings and recommended settings for Majora's mask? We had made it to the mountain and the game became so choppy and nearly unplayable and the audio was extremely glitched as well. Our save ended up getting deleted because Retroarch crashes after loading from saving at a owl statue. I am so frustrated and just want to get this game running somewhat smooth
     
  9. KiwiSwitcher

    KiwiSwitcher Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I was having similar problems and found that overclocking can help a fair bit in some parts of the game.

    1. Press - and + simlutaneously to pause the game and go to Retroarch menu.
    2. Go to MAIN MENU (not Quick Menu)
    3. Scroll down to CPU overclock
    4. Try different performance boosting modes from this menu. 1224 is pretty good for much of the game but some parts may need High or even Max performance. I found that the snow rendering in the Snowfall area slowed down the game no matter what, even on Max. But it was still playable and I have been enjoying the game.

    Be aware however that overclocking for extended periods may harm the Switch.

    I still get the game crashing really often, which sux, but the way around this is to Save State pretty much every few minutes. It doesn't take long and can be found in the Quick Menu. I even switch to different save slots and save state in at least two different save slots every now and again - because I got burned once; retroarch crashed while I was saving state and the state got wiped.

    If you are relying on the in-game saving mechanism, be aware that Retroarch by default only saves your in-game saving data when you close retroarch. For example let's say you save Zelda (in-game save) at the beginning of Dungeon X. Then you close Retroarch and play another game, like MarioKart 8. Then you go back into Retroarch and play Zelda again, picking up from where you left off. Then you beat Dungeon X, and you save (in-game save) again. However now Retroarch crashes - and when you start it up again, you find your progress is back to the beginning of Dungeon X. So you see, Retroarch has only overwritten your save data permanently once you close Retroarch manually.

    You can change this setting by going to Settings/Saving/SaveRAM Autosave Interval and making it 1 second. Now it will continuously overwrite your save data so that whenever Retroarch crashes, you will go back to the last in-game save.
    Personally though, I find that with Majora's Mask's limited in-game-saving options, and Retroarch's propensity for crashing, it's safer to use Save State religiously and constantly.

    Hope this helps. I actually came here to post my own Majora's Mask problem, which I will do now (and probalbly get chastised for double posting).

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hi all,

    I'm running retroarch on my Switch (OS: Atmosphere 0.10.5), with the Mupen64plus Next core.

    Majora's Mask is running into what I am aware is a common problem - the Bomber's Notebook. I understand that the Notebook renders at a higher resolution than the original game, which may be the source of the problem. However while others seem to report a garbled screen or a blackout, the problem I'm getting is slightly different,

    If I enter the Notebook and then press B to exit within a couple of seconds, it exits fine. However if I scroll through the Notebook at all, and then press B to exit, the game/Retroarch invariably freezes and then I have to bring up the Switch menu and force close Retroarch.

    I have checked and I am definitely running Mupen64plus "Next", as opposed to the old Mupen64plus. I only downloaded and installed Retroarch in the last couple months so it should be relatively up to date.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  10. Lunatics

    Lunatics GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply, I have the CPU OC'd to max and I think I found some of the additional settings I was missing before so I need to try adjusting again as I feel like I read a lot about people saying things play perfectly but never hear about their settings they use. I mean the snow area is playable but it is at like half fps and the audio is all messed up and it is just less than ideal to play with so I was hoping I could find a way to improve it.

    I've seen some videos of Zelda running on the Citra core on switch and honestly looks better than N64 in terms of performance. Tempted to just donate to get access to that and give the 3DS versions a shot with the better graphics.

    That being said for now I am playing through it and bound a button to save state and make sure I remember to do so every 20 minutes or so.
     
  11. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Country:
    United States
    20200814_115835.jpg 20200814_113959.jpg im so happy to let you know that i finally get to play Cruis'n USA and Cruis'n World arcade playable at least 55 to 57 fps. Few other Arcades my favorite games Battle Toads, Golden Axe 2, OutRunners and Salamander 2 are running at full speed. Killer Instinct runs average 50 fps and Killer Instinct 2 ran less than KI.
     
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Aug 14, 2020
    lordelan likes this.
  12. KiwiSwitcher

    KiwiSwitcher Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Oh nice, I hadn't thought of binding a button to save state! I'm gonna do that now. How's your bomber's notebook running?
     
  13. apiso

    apiso Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    I have a problem with retroarch 1.9.0, when i load a rom from playlist and then return to retroarch menu, instead to goes back to playlist , retroarch goes to main menu. This is a big problem because every time i load a game i have to reload the playlist, the problem is present when i close the content and even if i go back from quick menu. Please could someone help me? Is there an alternative frontend for emulators
     
  14. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Country:
    United States
    are you able to scan the file to create the playlist or no??
     
  15. apiso

    apiso Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    I prefer to left offline the switch, playlists seems correct , all the games starts without problems.
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  16. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Country:
    United States
    I had playlist worked now til i had retroarch updated from 1.8.1 to 1.8.8 it will not read so i deleted all my playlist Boo boo :lol: til now u made me want to download the database and extract it now it is scanning all my FBneo it only 12% now for 2 half hours have 66,728 roms will see if it will create playlist and hopefully
     
  17. Inzaghi09

    Inzaghi09 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello,

    I just updated retroarch for my nintendo switch and freshly installed it. My problem is that the online updater doesn't work.

    It always tells me "Task failed" when trying to update assets or something like that.

    What can I do?
     
  18. Badablek

    Badablek GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    France
    maybe because of this : https://www.patreon.com/posts/our-g...ial&utm_source=twitter&utm_campaign=postshare

    it seems some dumb people have not much to do on holidays, so they find it funny to attack this kind of project.
     
    Inzaghi09 likes this.
  19. Inzaghi09

    Inzaghi09 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Germany
  20. Reynardine

    Reynardine The Villagefox
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Germany
    https://www.patreon.com/posts/hacker-our-and-40513450

    Why would someone target this project? That's sad, what a blow to the emulation community. Hopefully the damage can be undone.

    Edit:
    I've reuploaded the recent 2020-08-13 nightly in case anybody needs it: https://mega.nz/file/26wBGb6C#Rvdd-NJ79eR09amcew0iuwnysOKYRs63kvhKMfIuSgQ

    I've been playing a lot of Starfox 2 CES, Kaze's new OOT hack, The Missing Link, and Rayman Designer levels on dosbox-core recently and everything runs perfectly well for me, I'll stick to the 08-13 build for now.
     
    Last edited by Reynardine, Aug 18, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Switch,