Homebrew RetroArch - A new multi-system emulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Disorarara

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
608
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
1,200
Country
I am also very very VERY happy to report that Zomebie Raid (think of it like a precursor to House of the Dead) also works perfectly - Just no way to aim? Gosh what a fantastic piece of work!
 

nakata6790

True Player
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
891
Trophies
1
XP
618
Country
Greece
Dude those those games you mention (like tgm2, space bomber, zombieraid, etc) were already among those working ever since the very first Wii fba core (0.9.7)...

Anyway, IR would be REALLY useful, not only for lightgun games but especially if SCUMMVM is to be added down the road. As i mentioned before, ToadKing already had setup great IR controls on SDL Mame Wii, would it be able to ''transplant'' those controls options to RA too?
 

Gamecuber

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
61
Trophies
1
XP
218
Country
Switzerland
On wofhfh.zip, I have read the source codes of FBAS and FBA and found something.
Lacking buttons is a bug from original FBA.
source code from fba-libretro:
static struct BurnInputInfo WofhfhInputList[] =
{
{"P1 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+0, "p1 coin" },
{"P1 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+4, "p1 start" },
{"P1 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+3, "p1 up" },
{"P1 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+2, "p1 down" },
{"P1 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+1, "p1 left" },
{"P1 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+0, "p1 right" },
{"P1 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+4, "p1 fire 1" },
{"P1 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+5, "p1 fire 2" },
{"P2 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+1, "p2 coin" },
{"P2 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+5, "p2 start" },
{"P2 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+3, "p2 up" },
{"P2 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+2, "p2 down" },
{"P2 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+1, "p2 left" },
{"P2 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+0, "p2 right" },
{"P2 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+4, "p2 fire 1" },
{"P2 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+5, "p2 fire 2" },
{"P3 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+6, "p3 coin" },
{"P3 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+7, "p3 start" },
{"P3 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+3, "p3 up" },
{"P3 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+2, "p3 down" },
{"P3 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+1, "p3 left" },
{"P3 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+0, "p3 right" },
{"P3 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+4, "p3 fire 1" },
{"P3 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+5, "p3 fire 2" },
{"Reset" , BIT_DIGITAL , &CpsReset, "reset" },
{"Diagnostic" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+6, "diag" },
{"Service" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+2, "service" },
{"Dip A" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01A , "dip" },
{"Dip B" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01C , "dip" },
{"Dip C" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01E , "dip" },
};
STDINPUTINFO(Wofhfh)

source code from FBAS:
static struct BurnInputInfo wofhfhInputList[] =
{
{"P1 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+0, "p1 coin" },
{"P1 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+4, "p1 start" },
{"P1 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+3, "p1 up" },
{"P1 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+2, "p1 down" },
{"P1 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+1, "p1 left" },
{"P1 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+0, "p1 right" },
{"P1 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+4, "p1 fire 1" },
{"P1 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+5, "p1 fire 2" },
{"P1 Fire" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp001+6, "p1 fire 3" },

{"P2 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+1, "p2 coin" },
{"P2 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+5, "p2 start" },
{"P2 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+3, "p2 up" },
{"P2 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+2, "p2 down" },
{"P2 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+1, "p2 left" },
{"P2 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+0, "p2 right" },
{"P2 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+4, "p2 fire 1" },
{"P2 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+5, "p2 fire 2" },
{"P2 Fire" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp000+6, "p2 fire 3" },

{"P3 Coin" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+6, "p3 coin" },
{"P3 Start" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+7, "p3 start" },
{"P3 Up" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+3, "p3 up" },
{"P3 Down" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+2, "p3 down" },
{"P3 Left" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+1, "p3 left" },
{"P3 Right" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+0, "p3 right" },
{"P3 Attack" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+4, "p3 fire 1"},
{"P3 Jump" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp177+5, "p3 fire 2"},

{"Reset" , BIT_DIGITAL , &CpsReset, "reset" },
{"Diagnostic" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+6, "diag" },
{"Service" , BIT_DIGITAL , CpsInp018+2, "service" },

{"Dip A" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01A , "dip" },
{"Dip B" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01C , "dip" },
{"Dip C" , BIT_DIPSWITCH, &Cpi01E , "dip" },
};
STDINPUTINFO(wofhfh)

I know FBA guys hate FBAS, but FBAS guys do better in some aspects. As a result, if you want to get your emu being a masterpiece, never deny anything good . Keeping the FBA main line is right, but DO NOT refuse fixes from FBAS and other branches.
 

AntonioJosedeSou

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.whisperedwords.co.cc
XP
100
Country
Netherlands
The Gamecube should be able to load ALL CPS-1 games without any problem. The biggest CPS-1 rom is Slam Masters and only has 6.28 mb (6.435 KB).
And yes, I agree with Gamecuber that FBA Shuffle does have some fixes in many games that the official FBA lacks. If RetroArch team want to do something about it is another matter. They already have tons of work right now to be concern about merging different branches of FBA. Besides, I think Mame 0.78 will be a better option than FBA when it comes out and is optimized.

Also, I have a doubt about the Nintendo Wii and Gamecube memory ram. This are the specs of both consoles:

Gamecube:

24 MB internal 1T-SRAM
16 MB external SDRAM
3 MB embedded GPU (1MB Texture Stream, 2MB ZBuffer/Frame Buffer)

Nintendo Wii:

24 MB internal 1T-SRAM
64 MB external GDDR3 SDRAM
3 MB embedded GPU (1MB Texture Stream, 2MB ZBuffer/Frame Buffer)

So, if you see those specs the only difference between the Nintendo Wii and Gamecube (in terms of memory RAM) is that the Nintendo Wii has more external memory.
Both consoles have exactly the SAME amount of internal memory RAM. That's basically the memory that both system uses as a main RAM (24MB).
So, how the Nintendo Wii has more memory RAM available than the Gamecube when both consoles has 24MB of memory RAM?
 

Disorarara

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
608
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
1,200
Country
Dude those those games you mention (like tgm2, space bomber, zombieraid, etc) were already among those working ever since the very first Wii fba core (0.9.7)...

Anyway, IR would be REALLY useful, not only for lightgun games but especially if SCUMMVM is to be added down the road. As i mentioned before, ToadKing already had setup great IR controls on SDL Mame Wii, would it be able to ''transplant'' those controls options to RA too?

It's still amazing to me, also sbomber ran amazingly slow first release.
 

nakata6790

True Player
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
891
Trophies
1
XP
618
Country
Greece
Found the chance to do some more testing:


FBA
note: add mwalk.zip AND mwalkbl.zip to the list (thanks AntonioJosedeSou)
34qmpup.png

rkanwn.png

CPS1
note: add pnickj.zip to the list (thanks Hielkenator)
2h3bu4i.png

CPS2
4juxoi.png

NEO GEO
note: also add rbffspec.zip to the list (thanks Charco)
add androdun.zip, burningf.zip, pnyaa.zip, bstars, miexchng.zip and popbounce.zip(thanks Hilekenator)
2dbwi7b.png




And on the subject of non working games:
NYW
Note:disregard the Ironclad.zip, Xsleena.zip and Asterix.zip as they are NOT FBA roms (thanks Hielkenator)
vliner.zip, pbobble.zip and pnickj.zip also work (see above)
mwalkbl.zip (requires mwalkbl.zip) also work (see above)
xc5efo.png

Some of those have palette issues, others run great as far as performance goes, but buttons do not register in gameplay (Arkanoid, Arkanoid 2, Funkyjet) and others with gameplay that slows down: (Darius, Ddux, Dinorex, Cninja, Cbuster, Cadash etc)

I'd REALLY like anyone that gets games from the NYW list to work fine, to SHARE it with us. Let's build a compatibility list people!
 
  • Like
Reactions: MassiveRican

Hielkenator

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
4,210
Trophies
0
XP
679
Country
Netherlands
I'll test those games out tomorrow.

The controls in Forgotten Worlds don't function really correctly to begin with - the 'turn' button seems to not really work like it should so instead directional movements 'turn' - it's very awkward.
Forgotten worlds cannot be started at all, the start buttons still do not respond.
Also The irritating maze ( NEOGEO ) gives black screen. But this seems to be an FBA problem.
 

Hielkenator

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
4,210
Trophies
0
XP
679
Country
Netherlands
Found the chance to do some more testing:


FBA
34qmpup.png

rkanwn.png

CPS1
2h3bu4i.png

CPS2
4juxoi.png

NEO GEO
2dbwi7b.png




And on the subject of non working games:
NYW
xc5efo.png

Some of those have palette issues, others run great as far as performance goes, but buttons do not register in gameplay (Arkanoid, Arkanoid 2, Funkyjet) and others with gameplay that slows down: (Darius, Ddux, Dinorex, Cninja, Cbuster, Cadash etc)

I'd REALLY like anyone that gets games from the NYW list to work fine, to SHARE it with us. Let's build a compatibility list people!

DUDE get FBA on your PC and validate your roms.
Filename means nothing and you mixed parent and children roms.
If you have a parent rom, you basicly have the game.
If you validate with fba you ready to go.
Makes catagozising also alot easier on the eyes......
 

Hielkenator

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
4,210
Trophies
0
XP
679
Country
Netherlands
You can add Real Bout Fatal Fury Special to the list of working Neo Geo games (rbffspec.zip).
ALL Neogeo game under 23 mb work except the irritating maze.
Make sure you have the parent roms and validate with fba on pc.

Anyway most of the Kaneko games have glitched GFX ( only 11 games in total excluding child roms)
I remember playing some of them a while back without problems....

Also the technos wrestle games are glitched.

Some psykio games crash retroarch, but are well under the 23 mb mark.
Demon world glitches, Fireshark sound problem, ghox sound problems, Rallybike no player sprite GFX, TekiPaki Soundproblem, Vimana No sound( Toaplan )

Thunder Dragon no sound ( misc HW )
Prehistoric isle in 1930 -Pallete screwed ( misc post 90' )

Final round -Glitched GFX, Lighning fight ( ? ) does not boot beyond raster testscreen, Minssing in action MIA does nott boor further after prog rom ram check( Konami )
 

nakata6790

True Player
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
891
Trophies
1
XP
618
Country
Greece
DUDE get FBA on your PC and validate your roms.
Filename means nothing and you mixed parent and children roms.
If you have a parent rom, you basicly have the game.
If you validate with fba you ready to go.
Makes catagozising also alot easier on the eyes......

Really? The only child romset i knowingly used was for xmen cota cause the parent one didn't work, what else is mixed?:unsure:
Please give specifics so i can improve the list. It could help people as a compatibility guide.

PS. Charco thanks man, added to the list!
 

LibretroRetroArc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
748
Trophies
0
XP
1,258
Country
Netherlands
Holy crap guys, Tetris the Grandmaster 2 loads in FBA!!! Hell yes! Too bad it has slowdown, but I seriously could not be happier right now, best emulator ever!

Tetris the Grandmaster 2 (Psikyo SH2 game) uses a ~28Mhz SH2 CU - so it's demanding to emulate.

So far the only SH2 game that seems to run at fullspeed on Wii is Gun Barich.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Disorarara

Gamecuber

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
61
Trophies
1
XP
218
Country
Switzerland
I've tested a lot of CPS1 games on Gamecube tonight and found some bugs.
cawing.zip and all its clone : at first stage, you will meet 6 planes with graphic glitches. if you do not shoot them down at first sight, game will freeze.
daimakaib.zip : black screen after ROM is loaded.
dinohunt.zip : BGMs are all replaced with permanant noise in game.
dynwar.zip and all its clone : No attack-button is mapped.
forgottn.zip and all its clone: Start button does not work at all.
all vertical scroll shooting games : forced to stretch to full screen except 640x480i. For other games, 384X224P is fantastic!
 

LibretroRetroArc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
748
Trophies
0
XP
1,258
Country
Netherlands
I've tested a lot of CPS1 games on Gamecube tonight and found some bugs.
cawing.zip and all its clone : at first stage, you will meet 6 planes with graphic glitches. if you do not shoot them down at first sight, game will freeze.
daimakaib.zip : black screen after ROM is loaded.
dinohunt.zip : BGMs are all replaced with permanant noise in game.
dynwar.zip and all its clone : No attack-button is mapped.
forgottn.zip and all its clone: Start button does not work at all.
all vertical scroll shooting games : forced to stretch to full screen except 640x480i. For other games, 384X224P is fantastic!

Cawing - I'll probably have to look at this.

dinohunt.zip is just a clone/bootleg of Cadillacs & Dinosaurs. So, not really important.

daimakaib.zip - clone of ghouls.zip/daimakai. So not really important.

Dynwar - I'll look into that.

Forgottn - it's known about - I don't know what causes it yet. I can get beyond the title screen on PC but not on consoles.

Vertical shooter games - use rotation options inside the menu and/or the aspect ratio options.
 

Hielkenator

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
4,210
Trophies
0
XP
679
Country
Netherlands
Really? The only child romset i knowingly used was for xmen cota cause the parent one didn't work, what else is mixed?:unsure:
Please give specifics so i can improve the list. It could help people as a compatibility guide.

PS. Charco thanks man, added to the list!
Ironclad, was'nt a NEOGEO game it's NEOGEOCD game later ported to the Wii VC.
Pnickies CPS1 does work, So does Vliner.zip and pbobblen.zip ( bad romname in your list) NEO GEO.
Alien storm also works you need to wait longer.
Androdun.zip missing from your neogeo list, working.
Bakatono.zip missing from working neogeo games.
Bstars.zip missing from working neogeo list.
Burningf.zip missing from working neogeo list, also janshin.zip missing from that list of working games.
Kof96.zip is not suppose to work because of ram limit so that does not belong in the working list.
Mahretsu.zip,marukodq.zip, miexchng.zip, minasan.zip, mosyougi.zip missing from working neogeo list. Also missing pbobblna.zip from that list...Also pnyaa.zip and popbounce.zip.
quizdais.zip, quisdai2.zip, quizkof.zip are also missing from neogeo working list.
rbff1.zip is a big rom/ not working .tws96.zip missing from working list neogeo.
pzloop2.zip is a non working rom and does not show up in the fba neogeo master list...

Really? zintrick? is'nt that neogeo cd game? I do not think it's supose to work.
And that is just mostly the neogeo working list.
I suggest you get fba and validate your roms, before posting.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nakata6790

nakata6790

True Player
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
891
Trophies
1
XP
618
Country
Greece
I know, i have it on NeoCD emu (the VC wad had AWFUL picture quality on my TV).
This one (Ironclad) plus Asterix and Xsleena are off RA. I will edit the NYW list above.
Thanks!
 

Tetsuo Shima

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,875
Trophies
2
Age
45
XP
4,913
Country
Italy
If I do what you want me to do (ie. build in CPS1/CPS2 again into the main FBA build), then that will mean less RAM available for other games that need it.

You can already play these games with FBACores CPS1/CPS2 - therefore, this is the best way to go about it. Besides, FBA didn't even load into the Gamecube's RAM because it was so big - now at least you can get it to at least boot even though it doesn't play that many games yet.

All the decisions here are made for a very good reason that go beyond 'I just liked how easy this made it for me with Wiiflow'.
Ok, thanks.:) This is the answer I was looking for and I understand and respect your decisions.
Glad you cared to share it.
Peace.
 

aea

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
86
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
232
Country
I've tested a lot of CPS1 games on Gamecube tonight and found some bugs.
cawing.zip and all its clone : at first stage, you will meet 6 planes with graphic glitches. if you do not shoot them down at first sight, game will freeze.
daimakaib.zip : black screen after ROM is loaded.
dinohunt.zip : BGMs are all replaced with permanant noise in game.
dynwar.zip and all its clone : No attack-button is mapped.
forgottn.zip and all its clone: Start button does not work at all.
all vertical scroll shooting games : forced to stretch to full screen except 640x480i. For other games, 384X224P is fantastic!

Good job. I also tested two CPS1 games tonight:
-Strider: Works well but I noticed some lag in the cinemas, I do not know if the game runs full speed becaude I have not played the physical version.
-Street Fighter Zero CPS Changer: It does not gives me an error code in the begining, but after it seemed it would load it rebooted my GC instead.

I think gamecube users should join in order to divide the games of the CPS1 list to have a kind of compatibility list for RA gamecube, and maybe the same for the other cores, of course.
 

LibretroRetroArc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
748
Trophies
0
XP
1,258
Country
Netherlands
Good job. I also tested two CPS1 games tonight:
-Strider: Works well but I noticed some lag in the cinemas, I do not know if the game runs full speed becaude I have not played the physical version.
-Street Fighter Zero CPS Changer: It does not gives me an error code in the begining, but after it seemed it would load it rebooted my GC instead.

I think gamecube users should join in order to divide the games of the CPS1 list to have a kind of compatibility list for RA gamecube, and maybe the same for the other cores, of course.

I should check if Street Fighter Zero CPS Changer is supposed to work on the slimmed down FBACores CPS1.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    D @ diamondsofmayhem: I was just trying to get the US/EU NTR plugin for Hyrule warriors, but the link is busted. does...