Replacing the top screen

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Kwajongen, May 13, 2012.

May 13, 2012

Replacing the top screen by Kwajongen at 4:36 PM (638 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Kwajongen
    OP

    Newcomer Kwajongen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi guys,

    during a trip in the car, my daughter inadvertently leaned with her elbow on her DSi XL while it was closed, when she opened it and pushed the ON button, the top screen display did no longer work, as you can see from the attached picture.
    For the rest, everything is working fine.

    http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php?quickkey=288zv90ssh1s0oh

    Before buying a new top screen, I'd like to read your opnion as I assume the screen itself is damaged and it is the cause of the problem, would you think I should look at some other area too before buying the part?

    Thank you
    Alex
     
  2. Im bored

    Newcomer Im bored Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Well if your considering buying a top screen i could only assume that you have a little of technical knowledge in that case before buying anything my first move would be open it up and make sure that she didnt rip a ribon cable or one didnt get disconected. Take a look at it internally and see if you can see something obvious that stands out.

    EDIT
    After wathing this video there really doesn't seam like there is much there to break other then the screen it self.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBQU6AcGEBU
     
  3. Kwajongen
    OP

    Newcomer Kwajongen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree with you, I had already a look at this video and I will double check for any ribbon cable, although I do not expect any disconnection.

    Thanks

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  4. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol the screen has a butt.
    do you have warranty?
     
  5. Da Mafia

    Member Da Mafia GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In case you haven't watched the video fully, I just want to warn you that you'll need to desolder the speakers from the old screen and resolder them to the new one.
     
  6. alphamule

    Member alphamule GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    United States
    Yay for Nintendo qQuality. I'm dealing with the original DS right now and it's being a pain. Ribbon cable hell. I think I got the hang of getting the twist 'just right' and folding the part under the main board (near L-button) 'just right' but after having to reopen the dumb case several times to get the replacement case's B-button to fit loosely in the poorly-molded hole, I think I messed it up again. This stinks - I really wish I hadn't broke the (rather flimsy) original ribbon cable. Counting the original cable, this is my third that is giving me grief. LOL, I think I'll start a post asking for advice or at least to combine all tips on that Top LCD Cable from Hell (TM).
     

Share This Page