Remeber my dream of a new computer built by me?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by juggernaut911, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I finally shoveled out $450 for a new computer!!!

    stats (basic):
    core 2 duo 2.2 (e4500)
    2GB RAM (DDR2 667 5300)
    8 USB
    1 firewire
    onboard gfx card (945G) gonna buy a 8600GTS at my birthday!




    Ubuntu 7.10
    Windows XP
    DS

    thnx for participating in all those posts of mine!

    PS: I built it!!! YAY!!!
     


  2. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    hehe $450... I had to shovel out $4,000 for mine back in 2005. It still stands up to today's machines [​IMG]

    If I had to spend $450 on my machine, I'd get 1 component [​IMG]
     
  3. Scorned

    Newcomer Scorned Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    You did pretty good for that amount.

    Any pictures?
     
  4. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    ha! I would have spent 4 grand for a computer that wouldn't get old for 5-7 years. You still got a hell of a nice deal.
     
  5. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Ubuntu is bloatware IMO. Get something like SUSE. Or if you like Ubuntu get Xubuntu. Its quicker [​IMG]
     
  6. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice PC! It shows what you can get for your money nowadays... And congratulations on the build! Any pictures?
     
  7. grickherder

    Newcomer grickherder Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Compared to other versions of linux, Ubuntu might be "bloatware" but it hardly is objectively speaking. I run Ubuntu on a 2 ghz athlon 64 with a gig or non-ddr2 ram. Runs great. As good as it did when I first got the computer. Everything is snappy.

    That said, there are lightning quick distros for linux. I setup a non profit's computer room using Vector Linux on a bunch of Pentium MMX 166mhz computers. Worked great. Firefox, OpenOffice.org. It all just worked and saved them thousands in new hardware and software.

    Ubuntu has a lot of features that makes it worthwhile to a user with even an "old" computer like mine. It still runs fine and I don't notice any "bloat." That said, I think Xubuntu is pretty cool as well. The original poster's computer though, is definitely fast enough that regular Ubuntu using GNOME will be nice and snappy.
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nice! You should overclock that E4500 to 3 Ghz. It'll be way better.
     
  9. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I'm back.
    So im doing a fresh install and will just transfer all my stuff because a repair-install has all my old gunk. Thnx for the congrats! :blush:

    I'm not gonna OC my processor (i have to 2.7) but ubuntu is really starnge with an OC'd system...

    I'll post pics later.

    PS: I RMA'd my DVD drive from newegg (everything was from http://www.newegg.com ) because my mobo doesn't support IDE devices (besides HD's)

    link to actual wishlist: https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/WishLi....asp?ID=9421147
     
  10. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Sad you didn't get a Quad [​IMG]?

    I am making one rigth now.. total cost: 1200$
    But it also PWNS!

    Q6600 - OCing to 3.0Ghz
    4GB 800Mhz DDR2 ram
    Asus P5KC
    8800GT 512MB GDDR3
    550w Silent power supply
    250 Harddrive 7200rpm with silent fluid
    20x dual layer dvd burner
    5.1 Soundcard
    Gigabit lan
    Coolermaster chassis (http://www.coolermaster.com/products/produ...tbcate=17&id=31)
     
  11. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thats quite the computer... O_O

    I have a problem with steam, when I try to launch a game, it plays the intro then just closes... wtf!!! HELP!!!!!
     
  12. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow $450? That's pretty good. I built a new one just a week ago.

    M2N32-SLI Deluxe - 1 Firewire, 6 USB, HD sound
    550W Silent Power Supply
    XFX 8600 GTS 256MB DDR2(3?) (One more video card slot left)
    Dual 2 GB RAM (4 GB in total with 2 more slots left)
    LG DVD writer (HD DVD reader)
    320 GB Hard drive

    Sorry if my terms aren't correct, I'm not that good with computers. It was my first time building one. [​IMG] Mine costs $900. Its pretty good for $900.
     
  13. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Got new drivers?

    And a onboard graphichs card...... is kinda crappy.
     
  14. Scorned

    Newcomer Scorned Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    It isnt crappy, it IS crap.

    I only said it was a good deal because i didnt think he wanted to game on it.

    The 8800 is the price of the whole computer you built. >_>
     
  15. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    sheesh, calm down guys! I spent the money I had at the time (which is a lot for a kid with now income or allowance)

    am up to date on video card drivers, btw

    anyone else experience this? (Steam won't load games)
     
  16. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    fixed my steam... updated drivers! *facepalm*
     
  17. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    quadcores use more electricity. and most games won't take full advantage of it..ahhh my friend's still trying to bug me into buying a 24" widescreen and upgrade to core2duo... money looks better in the bank though, I'm just running P4 northwood with a 19" crt and it is pretty decent for everything I do.
     
  18. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    Awesome computer bro [​IMG] The 8600 will help with games a heap.

    Just watch out for computer elitists that will tell you your computer's crap because it doesn't have the newest most expensive parts out [​IMG]
     
  19. FrEEz902

    Member FrEEz902 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Egypt
    Heh, i got my computer here for about $950 (directly converted) without the monitor.

    Specs:
    2GB Apogee ram 800Mhz
    320GB SATA HDD
    Nvidia XFX 680LTsli motherboard
    Geforce 8500GT XFX 512MB Graphics card
    Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz processor

    It's not a brand, i 'built' it ;P, it's cheaper that way, and i get the specs i want. Anyways congrats. But on the Graphics card, i recommend you get the 8800GT, it's cheap, and MUCH better than the 8800GTS. If you don't really have money, i recommend the ATI X1950 Pro. Even though it's only DX9 supported, it's a pretty good card. Besides, if you USE the DX10 support with the 8600GTS, you would have to play the game on medium graphics, or high but with a slightly choppy framerate, whereas with the X1950 Pro, you can play it on max, with a good framerate, even though it's without the DX10. Either way, D?X10 hasn't made much of a difference in games, makes it *A BIT* prettier. However, microsoft will release DX10.1 soon (next year i think), and when they do, it will not be forwards compatible with current DX10 cards, which is a bummer. In my opinion, better to get a cheap but one of the best DX9 cards, instead of a 'good' DX10 card which you will probably throw away anyway because of DX10.1.

    [ /rant]

    Edit: About the graphics card, if you don't care too much about your game looking better than real life (Crysis, anyone?) then you can get whichever card you want [​IMG], and ignore my 5-minute-rant. [​IMG]
     
  20. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thnx Cubin'! as of now, your cool! [​IMG]


    anyone recommend a good (not crysis better than the human eye card) but a good one. I heard Geforces are better than ATIs... just what I heard...

    and my Portal crashes once i even TOUCH the portal!! wtf?!?!? GFX card issue? TF2 crashes alot too!lost coast just is LAGGY!!!! lol. HL2 is a bit choppy. but GMOD 10 is alright... and fun!
     

Share This Page