Homebrew [Release] Retrobattle for 3ds

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,137
Country
Italy
retrobattle.png


Retrobattle is made to look and feel like the classic arcade-style NES games, such as Ice Climber and Clu Clu Land. Not only are the sprites limited to three colors each, but the scoring, increasing difficulty, and setup of the game makes for a challenging arcade experience that mixes various oldschool concepts. Note that playing on Skill 1 is pretty boring compared to the havoc of Skill 8, so it may seem slow at first.

This game was originally implemented in Game Maker by Daniel Remar. This is a port of the C++/SDL implementation by Andreas Remar.

--------​

The source code of my port is on my github (https://github.com/nop90/Retrobattle).
The compiled game (3dsx and CIA formats) is released on github (https://github.com/nop90/Retrobattle/releases).

Enjoy this game ad let me know the bugs you find.

Credits:
The original source is by Andreas Remar (http://remar.se/andreas/retrobattle/)
This game uses the sf2d sftd and sfil libraries created by @xerpi

Changelog

Ver. 1.0 (14 September 2016)
- Fixed text drawing in the score panel
- Added resources to build a CIA package

Ver. 0.1 alpha (10 September 2016)
- First alpha release.

Installation

In the zip there is a folder with the 3dsx and the smdh files inside, to be used with a homebrew launcher. All the resources are included in the executable using romfs.

The game creates a Retrobattle subfolder inside the 3ds folder if doesn't exist. Here will be saved your scores.

Commands

MAIN SCREEN
- A: Start the game
- Left/right: Select starting stage
- Down: Select starting Skill level
- Start: Quit the game

IN-GAME
- Left/right: Move left/right
- A: Jump (keep pressed to jump higher)
- B: Shoot
- Select: Pause/unpause
- Start: Go back to the main screen

Known Bugs

-

To Do List

-

Screenshots

retrobattle1.png
retrobattle2.png
retrobattle3.png
 
Last edited by nop90,

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,137
Country
Italy
Blah blah CIA blah? :)

I'm reworking the code I use for the CIA. I solved the problems that you kindly reported for fruity, but I found anoyher problem that happens in all my homebrews: from the program if you press Home and go to main menu, closing the 3ds case hangs everything.

When solve this, I'll update all my homebrews and I'll release the CIA for this game too. I ask you only a little patience. :)
 
Last edited by nop90,

ih8ih8sn0w

Koreaboo
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
1,677
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Hell
XP
898
Country
United States
Great game, one issue though is that the game kept freezing on my n3ds. Disabling n3ds clock and the cache solved this though.
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,137
Country
Italy
Great game, one issue though is that the game kept freezing on my n3ds. Disabling n3ds clock and the cache solved this though.

What do you mean with 3ds clock?

If you refer to the possibility to set the 3ds clock with luma and other cfw, in my code I usually leave the osSetSpeedupEnable on. Since it's nor needed for this game I'll remove it in next release, Maybe this will fix the problem.
 

Tebra

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
2,242
Country
Belgium
I try this game on my 2DS.
I like it. Thank you for the port.
One small bug: the font is not easily readable.
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,137
Country
Italy
One small bug: the font is not easily readable.

Yes I know, but since there isn't very much to read I decided to release the game in alpha version.

I'm using the original gfx that I scale down to 40% of it's size with the GPU, so it's normal that something is not perfect.

I'll try to edit the font to make it more readable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tebra

ih8ih8sn0w

Koreaboo
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
1,677
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Hell
XP
898
Country
United States
What do you mean with 3ds clock?

If you refer to the possibility to set the 3ds clock with luma and other cfw, in my code I usually leave the osSetSpeedupEnable on. Since it's nor needed for this game I'll remove it in next release, Maybe this will fix the problem.
Sorry, I meant clock speed.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    there is a plugin that display them on the wii u menu, pretty sure it is enabled by default
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    so like it doesnt exist
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    yeah
    ?
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    it doesn't exist, at least not for aroma
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    ohhhhh
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    on tiramisu you can access it by opening mii maker
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    okay
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    I don't have a wii u anymore to test it myself, but if homebrews are not visible on the wii u menu I think you can press L + R + minus to open the plugin menu, there should be an option called "homebrews on wii u menu" or something similar
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    nope
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    it is L+dpad down+ select
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    but homebrew is appearing in the home menu btw
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    yes, now I remember it
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    then it is working, I also don't like that they did this but it is the only option you have if you are using aroma
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    i just didint know the homebrew launcher didint exist in aroma
  • crafthp434 @ crafthp434:
    thanks btw
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Im downloading fallout 3 goty edition
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm downloading more ram for my hamster pc
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    New hamster PC, with anal operation and BT connectivity!
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, How do I make enemies respawn on gdevelop after
    the player dies?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Carrying a PC or phone is so old school!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Squeeze your cheeks twice to answer calls!
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @Xdqwerty you can use a "spawner" function on any object.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or when your player dies, you can say in code, if enemy exists, do nothing, but if enemy does not exist, then create enemy at certain spot. (This would be a pain tho for lots of emeies)
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Easiest, simple way would be just restart scene, but player would restart from beginning.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, thx in advance
    +1
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @BigOnYa, thx in advance +1