Homebrew [Release] Retrobattle for 3ds

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,011
Country
Italy
retrobattle.png


Retrobattle is made to look and feel like the classic arcade-style NES games, such as Ice Climber and Clu Clu Land. Not only are the sprites limited to three colors each, but the scoring, increasing difficulty, and setup of the game makes for a challenging arcade experience that mixes various oldschool concepts. Note that playing on Skill 1 is pretty boring compared to the havoc of Skill 8, so it may seem slow at first.

This game was originally implemented in Game Maker by Daniel Remar. This is a port of the C++/SDL implementation by Andreas Remar.

--------​

The source code of my port is on my github (https://github.com/nop90/Retrobattle).
The compiled game (3dsx and CIA formats) is released on github (https://github.com/nop90/Retrobattle/releases).

Enjoy this game ad let me know the bugs you find.

Credits:
The original source is by Andreas Remar (http://remar.se/andreas/retrobattle/)
This game uses the sf2d sftd and sfil libraries created by @xerpi

Changelog

Ver. 1.0 (14 September 2016)
- Fixed text drawing in the score panel
- Added resources to build a CIA package

Ver. 0.1 alpha (10 September 2016)
- First alpha release.

Installation

In the zip there is a folder with the 3dsx and the smdh files inside, to be used with a homebrew launcher. All the resources are included in the executable using romfs.

The game creates a Retrobattle subfolder inside the 3ds folder if doesn't exist. Here will be saved your scores.

Commands

MAIN SCREEN
- A: Start the game
- Left/right: Select starting stage
- Down: Select starting Skill level
- Start: Quit the game

IN-GAME
- Left/right: Move left/right
- A: Jump (keep pressed to jump higher)
- B: Shoot
- Select: Pause/unpause
- Start: Go back to the main screen

Known Bugs

-

To Do List

-

Screenshots

retrobattle1.png
retrobattle2.png
retrobattle3.png
 
Last edited by nop90,

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,011
Country
Italy
Blah blah CIA blah? :)

I'm reworking the code I use for the CIA. I solved the problems that you kindly reported for fruity, but I found anoyher problem that happens in all my homebrews: from the program if you press Home and go to main menu, closing the 3ds case hangs everything.

When solve this, I'll update all my homebrews and I'll release the CIA for this game too. I ask you only a little patience. :)
 
Last edited by nop90,

ih8ih8sn0w

Koreaboo
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
1,677
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Hell
XP
888
Country
United States
Great game, one issue though is that the game kept freezing on my n3ds. Disabling n3ds clock and the cache solved this though.
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,011
Country
Italy
Great game, one issue though is that the game kept freezing on my n3ds. Disabling n3ds clock and the cache solved this though.

What do you mean with 3ds clock?

If you refer to the possibility to set the 3ds clock with luma and other cfw, in my code I usually leave the osSetSpeedupEnable on. Since it's nor needed for this game I'll remove it in next release, Maybe this will fix the problem.
 

Tebra

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
102
Trophies
0
XP
1,633
Country
Belgium
I try this game on my 2DS.
I like it. Thank you for the port.
One small bug: the font is not easily readable.
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,011
Country
Italy
One small bug: the font is not easily readable.

Yes I know, but since there isn't very much to read I decided to release the game in alpha version.

I'm using the original gfx that I scale down to 40% of it's size with the GPU, so it's normal that something is not perfect.

I'll try to edit the font to make it more readable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tebra

ih8ih8sn0w

Koreaboo
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
1,677
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Hell
XP
888
Country
United States
What do you mean with 3ds clock?

If you refer to the possibility to set the 3ds clock with luma and other cfw, in my code I usually leave the osSetSpeedupEnable on. Since it's nor needed for this game I'll remove it in next release, Maybe this will fix the problem.
Sorry, I meant clock speed.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I wouldn't advise anyone to stick anything else down there. :creep:
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    too late
    +1
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    OOOOOOOWW MY DICK IS BURNING
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    200 degrees fahrenheit. It's burning at the speed of light.
    +2
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what the actual fuck is a candle warmer?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    isn't that just a candle
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It obviously warms candles
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why would you need your candles warmed?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    is this like a fetish thing
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because they obviously need to be warmed
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The person who made the image was probably just thinking of wax melts and said candles shit happens
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Although the wax of a candle could probably be melted down and repurposed with a fresh wick sometimes the wick burns out and the jar is still full
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I dont think a candle is ever going to work on there.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    no they're actually called candle warmers
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Thought that was a mug warmer.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what i don't get is, if you want the smell, but not the ambience of burning a scented candle, why dont you just get an aromatherapy oil diffuser, scented candles are shit anyway they barely smell
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @M4x1mumReZ they're used for that, but they're called candle warmers
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I don't get why they would name it that.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You wouldn't melt a candle with this, as if it was too big for example then the wax would flood the holder.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's my theory btw
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    apparently people use them to melt scented candles instead of burning them which sounds like a very roundabout way to accomplish something
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It would be more recommended though for wax melts.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    yeah you use candles that come in jars, apparently
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: yeah you use candles that come in jars, apparently