Homebrew [Release] Homebrew Launcher with grid layout

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
@mashers try uploading your existing changes to GitHub. if you have to, copy it to OS X and use GH desktop.

here's a quick run down of the commands that I think are all that's needed for now. if something is confusing, I might be able to help.

setting up git:
Code:
git config --global user.name "mashers"
git config --global user.email "email address"
you should use the email address used on GitHub. if you don't want to, take a look at "Keeping your email address private"

clone the repository:
Code:
cd /path/to/some/place
git clone https://github.com/mashers/3ds_hb_menu
cd 3ds_hb_menu

make your changes! then each time:
Code:
git add <individual files, or just . for all the ones that were edited>
git commit -m "commit message"
git push -u origin master
THANK YOU! I've just got the changes pushed up from my Linux VM to GH! Beta 83 should now contain a working boot1.3dsx. Please could you reenable to online updater so I can test this?
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
6,070
Trophies
2
XP
7,874
Country
United States
THANK YOU! I've just got the changes pushed up from my Linux VM to GH! Beta 83 should now contain a working boot1.3dsx. Please could you reenable to online updater so I can test this?
try it out right now. I can't since I'm away from my 3DS at the moment
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
try it out right now. I can't since I'm away from my 3DS at the moment
Great! It works! :)

Everyone - the version on the online updater now works. If you are experiencing gridlauncher crashes on boot or when launching apps, please download the 3dsx on the first post, manually copy to your SD card, and then carry out an online update.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

It wont work on the latest Version too... and with the Original Homebrew Launcher it wont work too
Then the problem is not the grid launcher. You probably need to update your hax to 2.5.
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
Oh, and in light of this morning's trauma around compiling and uploading to Git through Linux, I'll just put this here...

git.png
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
It's merged. All of @RedHat's changes are working in the main gridlauncher fork now :)

Now that that's solved, are you able to reproduce the bug I found, mashers? If you click the question mark to go to the about page, it seems to freeze the 3DS entirely, causing the user to have to use the "escape" combo (L+R+Down+B).
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
6,070
Trophies
2
XP
7,874
Country
United States
Oh, and in light of this morning's trauma around compiling and uploading to Git through Linux, I'll just put this here... snip
after a while, you do get pretty used to 'git add .', 'git commit -m "i did a thing"', and 'git push -u origin master'. I've never actually used GitHub desktop since I'm often using Linux for dev work.

also, you finally have your first "public contribution"! https://github.com/mashers maybe since something wasn't set up before. https://help.github.com/articles/why-are-my-contributions-not-showing-up-on-my-profile/
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
Now that that's solved, are you able to reproduce the bug I found, mashers? If you click the question mark to go to the about page, it seems to freeze the 3DS entirely, causing the user to have to use the "escape" combo (L+R+Down+B).
Yes, and I think I know the problem. RedHat changed the version from an int to a string. I've changed it back, but forgot to change the formatting string. I get compiler warnings about it, and I think that's what is causing it. I'm about to change it now and hopefully it will be fixed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: daxtsu

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
6,070
Trophies
2
XP
7,874
Country
United States
I have a feeling there's still something broken with the updater, or the version publicly available. can anyone else tell me if the launcher has some issues after using it?

it looks like there's a problem with the help menu. @mashers are you getting it too?

I can't seem to read, it was already reported above this...
 
Last edited by ihaveahax,

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
Yes, and I think I know the problem. RedHat changed the version from an int to a string. I've changed it back, but forgot to change the formatting string. I get compiler warnings about it, and I think that's what is causing it. I'm about to change it now and hopefully it will be fixed.

Oh, and one thing. I'm sorry if I sounded ungrateful in that last post. I really do appreciate all the work you've put into this launcher. I didn't mean to suddenly slap a bug report in your face, lol.
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
Help menu fixed now on my local copy. Will push up an update shortly :)

Oh, and one thing. I'm sorry if I sounded ungrateful in that last post. I really do appreciate all the work you've put into this launcher. I didn't mean to suddenly slap a bug report in your face, lol.
No, not at all! It's been stressful this morning since I managed to completely fuck the launcher, and was scrambling to get it working again. I really appreciate everybody's help, and you didn't seem ungrateful at all :)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Screw remembering git command lines ;)

Code:
#!/bin/bash
# Save this to mylocalrepo/gitpush
git add .
git commit -m "$1"
git push -u origin master

then just do

Code:
./gitpush "Awesome commit!"

B-)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Just pushed beta 84, which fixes the crash on entering help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: daxtsu

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
5,084
Country
Well,now I have to find out how to use the bgm thing
I noticed that too. Here is instructions if you want to make your own BGM.bin

1. Download an MP3/MP4/whatever you want as BGM.
2. Load it up in audacity/any audio editor.
3. Delete all of the tracks but one (If it is stereo, make it mono, for example. The result should leave you with a mono file.)
4. Edit how you like it (make it louder, longer, faster, stronger).
5. Change the project rate to 44100Hz if it isn't already.
6. Export it as a WAV (Microsoft) signed 16bit PCM file.
7. Rename it to BGM.bin and put it in your themes folder.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @K3Nv2 - sounds like you need a better place to find cracks!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psionics offline right now or I would
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @cearp, Psi is offline at the minute, but he knows where to find them.
  • cearp @ cearp:
    get your mind out of the gutter, I'm talking about piracy
  • cearp @ cearp:
    not that type of crack
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I mean the drug not the booty pervs
    +2
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    @cearp At a plumber convenstion. Loads of cracks!
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A plumber is either on crack or in crack or showcasing crack
    +2
  • cearp @ cearp:
    or of course, dealing with cracks (in pipes)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Sure he could be on cracked flooring causing the leak
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How much you bet delta going to be DRMd to hell and back
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @linuxares the dev just ends up at 0
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's no worse than if you pirated
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's probably better, because not all keys on key sites are stolen
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    plus piracy is not always an option
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i heard a related story for a dev actually
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    from a dev*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    DRMs are getting stronger these days
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    they bought their own game on a key site and checked where they came from and it turned out they were review copies he had given out by email to someone
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    *all* of them
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    no storefront I'm aware of (at least on pc) requires the devs to pay for the keys they generate
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    they don't lose money doing this, even if someone decide to chargeback
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so that seems to be a pretty common thing, i kinda blame the dev for that one though as they were giving out like 5 keys to someone just because they asked for multiple copies for review for whatever reason and there were multiple people doing this. he should've seen the red flags
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: hi