Hacking REDnand boot failure - Luma issue?

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
Hello All,

Thanks for reading. I am in the process of following Plailect's Guide. In Part 3 I am able to successfully complete up to step 26 without issue. When I reach step 26 Luma will load into the home screen but the version does not reflect with EMU. I will load back into Homebrew and launch Luma but Luma will fail to load. I have tested this to 12 failures on load for Luma. The only thing that resolves this is deleting the config.bin file in the Luma folder. This will allow me to repeat step 26 but I am still receiving the same results. I have checked in Nintendo 3DS folders and I have 3 folders. So I am assuming I have Rednand and Emunand. Any and all feedback is appreciated.

EDIT: The unit is an old 3DS that belonged to a friend who used it for Gateway.
 
Last edited by Spadra27,

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
Hi David,

Thanks for the reply! It is much appreciated.

In the config screen for Luma I activated "Show current NAND in System Settings" by checking it off before hitting start. I have attempted to launch RedNAND with Luma5.5, 5.4, 5.31 & 5.2.

I also went back into EmuNAND9 selected "Complete RedNAND setup" and checked to see if I would receive the note that RedNAND already was present. It is. Perhaps it is corrupted?
 

NintenDavid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
450
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Soobway
XP
238
Country
United States
Hi David,

Thanks for the reply! It is much appreciated.

In the config screen for Luma I activated "Show current NAND in System Settings" by checking it off before hitting start. I have attempted to launch RedNAND with Luma5.5, 5.4, 5.31 & 5.2.

I also went back into EmuNAND9 selected "Complete RedNAND setup" and checked to see if I would receive the note that RedNAND already was present. It is. Perhaps it is corrupted?
If you don't know if it is corrupted or not, use OTPHelper to validate EmuNAND/RedNAND.
 

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
I will give OTPHelper a try. I know RedNAND installed successfully and EmuNAND9 confirms Red exists but when I am able to successfully load the 3DS home screen from Luma reboot the version type does not display EMU. I will update in a few. Thanks for the help!
 
Last edited by Spadra27,

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
I have tried with the 2GB the unit came with and an upgraded 64GB SD that was formatted to 32FAT.

For the EmuNAND/RedNAND formatting what would be the proper procedure? Assuming I would be using EmuNAND9?
 

NintenDavid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
450
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Soobway
XP
238
Country
United States
I have tried with the 2GB the unit came with and an upgraded 64GB SD that was formatted to 32FAT.

For the EmuNAND/RedNAND formatting what would be the proper procedure? Assuming I would be using EmuNAND9?
Backup all files on your SD Card to your computer, then on EmuNAND9, do either the complete RedNAND or EmuNAND setup.
 

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
I will give that a try. I have conducted the Complete RedNAND Setup several times. Should I remove RedNAND prior? Will it overwrite the existing Red or create a second one? Starting to wonder if there is a duplicity issue...

I also saw this
O3DS running v9.0.0-20U using menuhax and all the updated files told in the guide
Going to try and restore RedNAND by cloning my SysNAND over to it since SysNAND is still working fine

EDIT: So the clone got RedNAND booting again. Went to the System Settings Emu 9.0.0-20U; all good.

Should this be something to consider?

What version of Luma is considered to be the ideal for this? I have read people are using 5.31 or 5.2
 
Last edited by Spadra27,

NintenDavid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
450
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Soobway
XP
238
Country
United States
I will give that a try. I have conducted the Complete RedNAND Setup several times. Should I remove RedNAND prior? Will it overwrite the existing Red or create a second one? Starting to wonder if there is a duplicity issue...

I also saw this

Should this be something to consider?

What version of Luma is considered to be the ideal for this? I have read people are using 5.31 or 5.2
The only one I would answer is the one from the other thread. Try cloning SysNAND to RedNAND.
 

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
Backup everything, and do a real format to the SD Card, as in formatting everything, even EmuNAND/RedNAND.

I will definitely give this a shot.

For clarification
- For formatting the card can I do this on a Mac? Set to 32FAT? Or were you referring to formatting in Homebrew?
- Once the card is formatted where do I pick the guide up from? part1?
 

civickm

Rocky Mountain IT Guy
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Location
Mile "High" City
XP
698
Country
United States
I will definitely give this a shot.

For clarification
- For formatting the card can I do this on a Mac? Set to 32FAT? Or were you referring to formatting in Homebrew?
- Once the card is formatted where do I pick the guide up from? part1?
Try to format on windows i have had issues with doing it on a Mac :(
 

gkoelho

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
558
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
346
Country
Brazil
Are you absolutely sure you are not trying to boot the CFW while being already on it? because it will cause a black screen 100% of the time
 

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
Are you absolutely sure you are not trying to boot the CFW while being already on it? because it will cause a black screen 100% of the time

Hi gkoelho, thanks for joining the discussion. I am fairly sure I am not in RedNAND/EmuNAND. It was my understanding the menuhax config for booting into Homebrew was dependent on you being in SysNAND. Or am I misinterpreting CFW and your question?
 

Spadra27

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
42
Country
United States
UPDATE:

Formatted the card and I am ready to Complete RedNAND Setup. I noticed that when I initiate the process the first line says "File starter.bin was not found continuing without autosetup..." I can still opt to continue the process. Is this my red flag??
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    being poor and healthy is the worst case scenario because you have the longest amount of time to "enjoy" being poor
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Yeah back in my late teens I used to mow about 10 lawns every two weeks for $35 a yard. It was stupid big yards I knew where paying a lot more than that to lawn care companies in a some what up tier gated community a few blocks from the area I lived. Was great getting $700 a month with no bills at the time and good excercise too, now I have bills so I never have any money to buy things.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yet kids are always like I WANNA BE ADULT
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I wish I could go back to 14, living at home free and little to no worries.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kids still have bs getting manipulated easily, believing dumb youtube content etc
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If I could go back, I'd be more of a horn ball than I am now. I'd be chasing all the girls I never had the balls to back then
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd drop out of school sooner
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Yeah I would probably drop out sooner too, the country ass high school I went to wouldn't know intelligence if it hit the up side the head.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I used to play those goonies games on NES, used to piss me off
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    I think the most frustrating nes game as a kid to me was contra.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    well, i got school tomorrow, night yall
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Imagine still going to school in 2024... Wild times we live in.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    @BigOnYa My most-hated game on the NES was gilligan's island. Couldn't figure out the controls. Played it on actual hardware. Super frustrating, and boring as shit.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Blue name in chat :P
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Jayro, you realize not everyone is the same age here right
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Jayro reminds me of GYRO! :P
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm not a greek taco. "Jayro" is pronounced similar to "J.Lo" (Jennifer Lopez). Not "Gyro" like gyroscope or the pitabread taco thing...
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    "Jay-row" Like that.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @Jayro, Hello