R4ds kernal translator for v.1.17

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by VoonZ, Apr 1, 2008.

Apr 1, 2008
  1. VoonZ
    OP

    Newcomer VoonZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Malaysia
    as title says, which software is available to translate the chinese language kernel to english? i bought a chinese r4 and i can't play FFCC without the latest firmware [​IMG]
     


  2. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use this AR code:

    Code:
    1202876A 0000429B
     
  3. VoonZ
    OP

    Newcomer VoonZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Malaysia
    tried it as well, my game didn't even load (before the code or after) it just stayed ont he white screen
     
  4. RealApprentice

    Newcomer RealApprentice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not sure if i understand correctly but isnt it just a matter of downloading and installing te english firmware from the r4ds website.

    and as far as playing FFCC is concerned its my understanding that firmware 1.17 fixes problems for US version. And the patch Cracker made fixes problems on both US and EU versions.
     
  5. TheTalentedMrRip

    Newcomer TheTalentedMrRip Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, you don't understand it correctly. You can't put English firmware on Chinese hardware and viceversa. (the m3/r4 patcher doesn't work anymore either)
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check out this post with link to latest patcher http://gbatemp.net/index.php?s=&showto...st&p=911116
    if it still doesn't work then PM iq_132 they may be able to help you.
     
  8. VoonZ
    OP

    Newcomer VoonZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Malaysia
    thank you very much guys, i understand chinese, but it's just that i prefer it to be in english, thanks for your help again. i'll check it out
     
  9. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmmm... I'm pretty sure the one from the download page here worked okay with 1.17 when I tried it, and it's positively ancient. I'm pretty sure that's all I've got on the machine I mostly do this kind of stuff with.

    That said, the latest one at the end of that link supports the n5 versions of the kernel too.
     
  10. VoonZ
    OP

    Newcomer VoonZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i've already tried it on v1.17. doesn't seem to work.
     
  11. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    I've just downloaded the 1.17 English FW from the downloads area here, and the old version of iq_132's patcher from the downloads area here, and used one on the other... I then took the modified kernel, put it on my Chinese R4, and it worked perfectly. So, I think it's pretty safe to say that version of the patcher works with 1.17 [​IMG]

    Your R4 - is it perhaps the so-called "R4 - II Upgrade" version?
     
  12. VoonZ
    OP

    Newcomer VoonZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Malaysia
    oh DANG, i patched it on the chinese kernel. LOL tried it againa nd it's working fine. thanks people for being so helpful [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah got you. you don't patch the Chinese firmware to become English, you patch the English firmware to run on the Chinese cart. [​IMG]
     
  14. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    1.17 English to work with Chinese R4.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?jme0dmalwid
    Its the same file that was pre-patched for someone else to make all of the rayder cheats work so if it doesnt work I will download a diff 1.17.
     
  15. nlmcc

    Newcomer nlmcc Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I hope I'm not breaking any rules here but I need some answers and this topic is similar to my problem. I just bought an R4 Revolution for DS from China with a 1gb microcard and it just arrived today. On the site it claimed to be the english version 2.0. There was no software disk in the package. I have tried to go to the R4 website today but it say it's being moved.

    Now I'm concerned that 1. I don't know if this is a Chinese R4 or English R4 and 2. that I cannot get the R4 kernal download to run this card on my Nintendo DS Lite.

    I got this setup so that I could run a paint program called Colors! as I'm not into gaming.

    Do you know of another source for the R4 Kernal?

    Do you know how I can tell if my R4 is chinese or english?

    Your help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  16. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can tell by putting the Chinese firmware on it and if it runs it was the Chinese version of the R4 [​IMG]
     
  17. nlmcc

    Newcomer nlmcc Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Never mind I finally got it figured out and working.

    nlmcc
     
  18. RealApprentice

    Newcomer RealApprentice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    is there an actual difference between the english and chinese R4 hardware? Is the chinese version much cheaper than the english so they try to prevent the sales of non english hardware outside china?
    Otherwise im supprised why R4 would go to the trouble to manufacture different versions of same product
     
  19. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I don't know why, but the official website of R4DS is in chinese, not english, maybe that will explain why those R4 developers love chinese so much, however, my nephew got R4DS with chinese package, but with english v1.15 firmware, now that's weird.
     
  20. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The official site is in Chinese because the people who make the R4 are Chinese, and they are based in China, as is the factory that makes their carts for them.

    Why shouldn't the site be in Chinese?

    Be grateful they even release anything in English.
     

Share This Page