r4/m3 difference

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by shane1972, Oct 7, 2007.

Oct 7, 2007

r4/m3 difference by shane1972 at 6:37 PM (1,297 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. shane1972
    OP

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi All,

    Can someone please confirm that the r4/m3 are the same cart?
    I have used the search feature and found nothing.
    I know they use different firmware but it is released 1 after another.
    Are the action replay cheat files the same?
    The reason is im hoping the new r4 case is not 2 hard to get the micro sd card out of the casing.
    Also does anyone know if the white r4 shel will fit the new r4 card?

    Cheers Shane
     
  2. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    They are EXACTLY the same except for Logo/Name and Firmware Release TIME.
     
  3. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    And it also appears that more people have R4s. Although they're the same, the R4 is used more. I dunno why.
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    It came out first, alot of people got it, then they recommended the R4 to their friends so thats what they got also, etc.

    Snowball effect.
     
  5. wiithepeople

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah and also r4 gets updates sooner and sometimes costs less.
     
  6. shane1972
    OP

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    So saves from the r4 will work on the m3?

    Cheers Shane
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  8. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    And I think R4 is more popular because:

    It's easier/faster to say R4/R4DS than M3Simply.

    Meh, I got the R4 because once I read it was the same as M3Simply... I didn't care which one I got. Then I read that R4 got it's updates faster, so... That's why.
     
  9. Scytheandsickle

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also there is no slot 2 R4. My friend said M3. I got an R4 thinking we'd get the same thing. He had an M3 SD (Slot-2).
     
  10. shane1972
    OP

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    Well the problem is i have an r4 which the card slot is spring loaded and works perfectly.
    I tried to get 2 more but now they are not spring loaded and for me with no fingernails might make it a bit hard to get the card out of the card slot.
    A guy has 2 x m3 simply ds for sale which both have the spring loaded slot so i might just grab them seeing the are 995 the same card.

    Cheers Shane
     
  11. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    You have 2 options if you want to use the non-spring-loaded R4s.

    1. Grow fingernails
    2. Put a little tape tab on the end of your SD, so that you have something to pull it out by. That's what I do.
     
  12. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    They are exactly the same. The only differences as far as which one you should get are price and availability. Which ever you can get cheaper, buy it.
     
  13. shane1972
    OP

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    Ok so the cheat.dat for the r4 can also be used on the m3 is that correct?

    Cheers Shane
     
  14. zeppo

    Member zeppo change my avatar!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, that's correct.
     
  15. shane1972
    OP

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks zeppo
     

Share This Page