R4/Kingston Micro SD corrupting files?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Skye07, Jun 4, 2007.

Jun 4, 2007
  1. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I was copying files from my MicroSD (Japanese Kingston) to my PC and found many files were corrupted, or so did Windows say because they work perfectly fine on my DS... a few MP3s, pictures and roms just got "corrupted" and unable to copy them back to my pc...

    I've had this beofre, with a 256mb flash MP3 player, when writing things to it, (insert a period of time), writing more MP3s on it, it happened a couple of times the MP3 player corrupted some of the MP3s. I was wondering if this is the same thing? Should I just format and copy everything back to the MicroSD card everytime when I add a couple of new things?

    And, does anyone else have this?
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it once but I thought it was because I was using DSOrganize to edit files. I stopped using DSOrganize and I haven't had any problems.

    - Sam
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Now that you speak of it, I just inserted my M3 Simply MicroSD card in my M3 Perfect to check if I could run some of it's homebrew when I saw it had corrupted. Some savefiles had become directories. When I opened them they messed everything up!
    On my M3 Simply it still works perfectly though...
     
  4. bennydigital

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    DSOrganize also corrupted some of my files
     
  5. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    DSorganize has really messed up my card in the past, but as of 2.7 Final it's been fine. Though i'm sure there's still a few more bugs to sort out..

    An older snemul did corrupt my entire card at one point. Just backup your stuff when dealing with ANY homebrew.
     
  6. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    As darksavior said allways backup.
    Reminding me of my MMD haha..
    The only way to defrag it is formating [​IMG]
    But im not backing up my stuff on R4 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page