R4, Killing a DSL?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by OzModChips, Jan 22, 2008.

Jan 22, 2008

R4, Killing a DSL? by OzModChips at 11:01 AM (2,946 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Guys,
    Never heard this from a customer, but just got an email from a customer that bought 3 r4s , and 3 x 2gb Jap kingstons.
    They said 1 R4 worked fine

    The other, and i quote:

    I wouldn't think this was possible, but 2 dead NDSL's is pretty convincing.
    Has anyone had this happen to them?
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     


  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    mabye it ultra killed the batteries
     
  3. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats impossible, unless they downloaded a dodgy loader that is actually that firmware bricker. Ask them where they got the loader from, what version it is and what happened exactly (e.g. First saw the health and warning screen then Loading.. in big writing then nothing)
     
  4. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    They said they did exactly the same as the first...which is working...so i doubt they got the DS_MENU.dat from anywhere else. R4 dont ship software CDs most of the time now, so they would have had to download it from somewhere

    I will find out when they died.
     
  5. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    ?!? I've never not received a mini cd containing the software with my R4's (and I've ordered close to 20 of them over the past year now)

    as long as they d/l'ed the software from the official site, they should have been ok. that is, if the R4's in question were legit and not some new form of copy (unlike the older ones which didn't even accept a micro SD chip)
     
  6. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    maybe try to take off battery from ds lites and put them on, or try other batteries, I dont think that it could be possible to change ds firmware without short circuit in SL1 hole [​IMG], maybe bricking program is in rom memory that works only with battery energy supply. (pure theory).
     
  7. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using the R4 is like using an original DS game. Nothing can go wrong. Unless they had the bricker in one of the files.
     
  8. Lacedolphin

    Newcomer Lacedolphin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I possibly , may have an idea?? Did they make sure to do the "safely remove hardware" thing on the PC before removing the USB? If memory serves me correctly I think I've herd of a few people who did not and they either burnt the card or thier DS, but I can't rember which one. Is it possible if they forgot to, that they could've shorted out the card or corrupted the files?? Just an idea.
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a bad cart, and it may have blown one of the fuses.

    Don't be silly.
     
  10. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Well, I heard replacing a blown fues (it's that safety contact if I'm not mistaken... correct me if I'm wrong) isn't that hard.

    It should even be possilbe to solder a wire over, BUT its recommended to get a new fuse...
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's easy to fix with a wire, but I'm not sure about finding replacement fuses.
     
  12. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'd go for it being a rogue game my guess is he's pulling a fast one.
    tell them you are sorry but once they put the games on you can't be held responsible for what happens to the ds's
    yes i know this sounds really shitty but
    1 how do you know they aren't trying to scrounge 2 ds's
    2 how do you know it's not the files and you need to get them to tell you the source of the downloads and which files are different from the first ds that was ok.

    tell them if the ds's are under guarantee they need to take the ds's back to the shop they got them from and get them swapped [​IMG]
     
  13. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Or the Mr. Nice Guy Methode (which I would say, seems more customer friendly): Put a disclaimer on your webpage, replace those DS's and next time this happens just tell them to read the Disclaimer before asking such stuff.

    OR:

    (not sure about that, don't hit me):
    say them to contact the manufacturer of the R4's. Perhaps they can get a refund from there ? (Ok... this is just stupid forget that one...)
     
  14. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    It is possible.
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah. Well, not the whole firmware, but the most part. Otherwise, how would you be able to store settings on your DS?
     
  16. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    He said it wouldn't be able to "change firmware," he didn't specify how much. Unless you've flashed your DS, the amount not protected by SL1 is enough to kill your DS.
     
  17. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    I've never had it happen, but I'd be asking for them to send the two R4's they haven't used back for inspection - with the "killer" one clearly marked. I doubt there'd be an issue with the third cart, but it's better to play it safe.

    On a DS cartridge, fingers 1, 7 and 17 are GND. 8 is VCC. 1, 8 and 17 extend further towards the edge than the others, or at least they do on original carts and every flashcart I've seen (so far - R4, DSTT, M3Real, EZ-V) - this is so the ground and supply connections are the made before the signal ones when the cartridge is inserted, and is a feature that any flashcart designer would probably be wise to copy.

    FWIW, I suspect that there might be a short between VCC (pin 8) and GND on the board (e.g. a solder bridge across a surface mount cap) or a short inside one of the components. Alternatively, and especially if it's a new R4 without the guides/dividers, there may be a manufacturing issue that's resulted in the board being mis-aligned - and the contact for either 7 or 8 might be shorting the fingers for 7 (GND) and 8 (VCC) by contacting both. The rest of the lines are signal lines of various sorts - I doubt that a short between any of them and either VCC or GND would result in enough current to fry a fuse, but it might be possible.

    In the interests of customer relations, you might end up having to get them to ship you the dead DS's for inspection; hopefully you've got some contacts who could replace the fuses (note: REPLACE, rather than just bridge - RS Components ought to be able to help with surface mount fuses, but they might not be cheap and there may be a minimum order quantity) and maybe try a known-good cart and the killer one on one of them before it's closed back up - that way, you might be able to identify for sure whether the flashcart killed them or whether the customer is trying one on. Plus, you might actually be legally liable for any consequential damages caused by a product you've sold - and even if you're not, postage both ways and some repair costs are almost certainly going to be cheaper than any loss-of-goodwill associated with hanging the customer out to dry if your product really was defective.

    You might also be able to test the killer cartridge with a fused 3.3V supply - anything that would blow the internal fuses in a DS should almost certainly be able to blow a 125mA fuse, whereas I wouldn't expect a good cartridge to draw very much at all. That might eliminate the need to try the suspected killer in a DS at all - if it makes the magic smoke leak out of fuses, and good R4s don't, then you've found the cause. Mis-alignment won't be picked up by this, but a close visual inspection of the killer and a known-good cart ought to indicate if this is a possible cause.

    That said, the customer could be trying one on. A friend-of-a-friend knows a lady who bragged about buying a new pink DS Lite just before Christmas, putting a fifteen-month-old pink DS Lite back in the box, taking that back to a major chain store (with the receipt) and saying "I got a used one in the box" during the post-christmas refund/exchange confusion - the customer service desk staff didn't bat an eyelid, knowing that some of the other shopmonkeys don't check returned goods properly before putting them back into stock, and called the appropriate area to bring a new one up the front for an exchange. I used to work in retail myself, so I know full well of the kind of things that some customers will try and the kind of lazy aresholes who sometimes end up working behind the counter - and how damn hard it can be to disprove a well-thought-out and plausible scam like that.

    Good luck, and may you get to the bottom of the matter - whatever it is.

    (and as an aside, have you got any good prices on GC modchips, and replacement top housings for full-sized discs? [​IMG] )


    (edit: changed from 1,7,17 as long fingers to 1,8,17 - GND,VCC,GND make contact before the signal lines)
     
  18. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have no GC mods [​IMG]


    I just got an email back
    I mean 1 card killing 2 DSs might be believable. But 2 different cards killing 2 different DSs? It can't be.
    I have sold so many damn R4s, thousands and thousands, and no one has ever emailed me about a blown DS usng an r4.....or any other DS cart.

    Ohh and our terms and conditions, that customers must agree to before buying states that you use the goods at your own risk, even if it directly causes harm to your console. But I will be helping the customer out of course.

    here is the email.

     
  19. Little

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think they are trying to screw you over. People are likely that, they will try to rip off any organisation.

    2 Faulty R4's destroying 2 DS's, how unlucky must this person be to get the only 2 DS killing R4s ever known. If they aren't lying, and it did happen, then it was their fault and they did something wrong.

    I doubt they even have 2 DS's.
    Don't give them anything.


    On another note, a guy once came to where I work, and having bought a 360 the day before started screaming and shouting that it was faulty and didnt work.

    So it was taken out back to give it a quick test and swap it for a new one. The guy had only bought in the unit itself, no cables. So we use the cables from a faulty machine that we had already swapped over (so the cables were brand new, machine was a return), we go to use those cables and the power cable doesn't fit.... since MS had changed the power cables a few months before. So we check the serial number, and its a like a 13 month old machine. Dude was trying to swindle us. All we could do we say yeah this isnt the machine we sold you. He played dumb and was like oh i musta picked up the wrong one. He never did come back into the store...
     
  20. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    hehe ^^

    Its ok, they are not trying to receive any kind of compensation at all, just a customer trying to figure out a solution for their kids, thats all.
     

Share This Page