Quick question about cut legs

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mwaddoups, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008
  1. mwaddoups
    OP

    Newcomer mwaddoups Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got my Wii pre-chipped, and it has a Wiikey clone (unupdateable [​IMG]) in there. I took it apart to have a look at what chipset it was etc, to get an idea of how hard it would be to install a working chip. I found a blob of resin over an area that seemed random, but now I think about it could this be something to do with the cut legs? I don't know much about a cut legs install, but the fact is the chip works with backups, and appears to be soldered normally, so if I wanted to resolder it should I leave the resin well alone [​IMG]?

    Pic here, probably not that useful but the orange blob is the resin (my camera is horrible for close-ups).

    [​IMG]
     
  2. chrispinifer

    Newcomer chrispinifer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK.
    Country:
    Canada
    Your camera should have a Macro setting on it for closeups. It looks like a Flower, kinda like the one in Super Mario Bros. So, use that button and have it zoomed all the way, no zooming! Then bring the lens close and focus - keep focusing until it looks clear. Presto! Tee hee.. I work in a Photo Lab.. [​IMG]
     
  3. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And because of that you now know that all camera's have macro settings and all are accesable by pressing a flower like button? I do however agree he needs a better pic [​IMG].

    A bit more on topic, as far as I can tell from the pic (and your story) I would say your Wii had cut legs. They 'fixed' the legs and thus 're-activating' the soldering pads. So yes if you ever want to desolder the thing, leave the resin alone as they probably put it there as a safety measure so their soldering / wires wouldn't come loose.
     
  4. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That sucks, why is it unupdateable? (errors on the new 1.9g)?

    That picture is way too blurry to really see whats going on. If it really is a clone and wont update, then i would swap it out (shame its quick solder method) with a legit wiikey. Just make sure you can solder =)
     
  5. mwaddoups
    OP

    Newcomer mwaddoups Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here are some much, MUCH better pictures - that macro mode worked wonders!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    As for the chip, I get the Test Connections error with both 1.9b and 1.9g update - as far as I can tell this is indicative of a (bad) clone. I'm probably going to get it chipped professionally with a PROPER Wiikey or some similar chip, maybe even with long wire install so I can deal with it myself afterwards (though I doubt many people do that). If the legs have already been dealt with, that should make the installation similar to normal old chipsets, and make it even easier (and hopefully cheaper!) to get modded. Hope these pictures make the situation more clear anyways, and thanks for all the help [​IMG].
     

Share This Page