Questions about the GBATEMP DSTWO.

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by inhuman19, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011
  1. inhuman19
    OP

    Newcomer inhuman19 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Does the GBATEMP DSTWO come prepatched from 0shippingzone to work with the DSIXL(1.4.1)or(1.4)?
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Depends.
    Does firmware 1.05 work with DSi 1.4.1?
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The DSTWO is able to update itself on an updated DSi afaik (it's internal processor can run as long as the DS supplies power to it)
     
  4. Irock23

    Newcomer Irock23 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    United States
    It's not really even an update to work on 1.4.1, you just need to put a new system3.dat or 1, I don't remember but it is in the latest EOS.
     
  5. inhuman19
    OP

    Newcomer inhuman19 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the responses. Will this method work for the 3DS as well?
     
  6. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Be careful with that. Someone said that the 3DS killed his DS2.
     
  7. ShinRyouma

    Member ShinRyouma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Surabaya
    Country:
    Indonesia
  8. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I didn't see that. Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  9. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    The GBATemp DSTwo comes pre-flashed while the other ones don't.
    That's what I've read, anyway.
     
  10. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    If you remember where you saw that, I'd be interested in reading it.

    All I could find was this.
     
  11. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I didn't read it exactly that way, but I had read that DSTwo cards came with no firmware on them.
    But since my GBATemp DSTwo came with v1.05, if regular DSTwo cards really all came with no firmware then that would mean GBATemp ones come pre-flashed while the regular ones don't.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Mine came already updated for DSi 1.4.1 (and I did the 3DS update on my DSi no sweat).
     
  13. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    to actually answer his question, no, you need to do a firmware update, to 1.09 which you can find here labeled "DSTWO Fireware ver 1.09"

    just extract that to the root of your microsd card with "DSTWO EOS v1.11(03-22)" and put your dstwo into a ds/lite/i/xl, once it gets to the plugin menu it should start the update, however if it doesn't just rename "dstwoupdate.dat" to "ds2update.dat" and try it again
     
  14. inhuman19
    OP

    Newcomer inhuman19 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help! One more question... Does the DSTWO folder(the folder with system files) have to be in the root of the SD card or do the actual files have to be in the root?
     
  15. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    the folder
     
  16. inhuman19
    OP

    Newcomer inhuman19 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Does this mean I can keep everything in the root?
     
  17. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    put the _dstwo folder holding all of the files it's supposed to in the root
     
  18. unseen4ce

    Newcomer unseen4ce Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Australia
    Is the firmware on the flash card itself or on a micro sd that comes with the card, I ask because I wasn't able to order a micro sd with the card and am now unsure whether I can just put a new blank one in, and update that. I just need a quick answer to a brief and nieve question, as I will read the full-guide when it finally comes in the post.
     
  19. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    the firmware is on the flashcart, however you should be able to update it with any microsd card and the appropriate files (and a nds lite/phat)
     

Share This Page