Question about WADS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MemoryDash, Mar 6, 2012.

Mar 6, 2012

Question about WADS by MemoryDash at 1:50 AM (814 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. MemoryDash
    OP

    Newcomer MemoryDash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    So Im used YAWM to install Pokemon Rumble, so i was wondering can i move the channel to my SD Card?
     
  2. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Just as you would a normal channel. (:
     
  3. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, but if I remember correctly you need to have a patched system menu IOS
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Only to launch a modified channel, I think.
     
  5. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Generally, it takes a LOT of mods to be able to move warez installed WADs to the SD Menu.

    My Wii is hacked beyond recognition, and I don't even have that ability.

    EDIT: Moving them isn't the problem, it's launching them without the WAD also being installed on the Wii.
     
  6. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    What? I've always been able to move Wiiware to the SD with a standard softmod installation.
     
  7. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume you are also able to launch it? What did you use to softmod your wii, the ModMii Wizard?
     
  8. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. But even when Modmii wasn't even created, in 2009 or so I was able to move and launch channels. I never did anything special to do so, I just followed the guides...

    edit: Maybe the Wii doesn't have enough space in the system to launch the channel?

    For example, when launching Majora's Mask (it's around 200-300 blocks I believe) from the Sd card, the Wii's internal memory has to have at least the amount of space that the game takes up. It's temporarily using Wii space while the game is running, then puts it back. If there is 100 blocks free on the Wii, and you try to run a 300 block game from the SD, it simply won't work.)
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,917
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    You can launch installed WiiWare and VC games from your SD card menu if you have a patched system menu IOS. If you're having issues, your system menu IOS probably isn't patched. It's recommended you use ModMii to install the recommended IOS files, including a patched system menu IOS.
     
  10. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Nintendo supports moving VC/WW games to the SD card since... 4.1? 4.0? I dunno...
    However, when you launch them they are copied to the NAND again before launching. So you need the free blocks before you can launch the game.
    Its a handy feature nevertheless though, since you can just stack away all games on the SD card and just keep whatever-amount-of-blocks-the-biggest-game-needs free, instead of needing free space for ALL your games.


    If you want to launch them from the SD card without letting the Wii first copy them to the NAND you need to make some modifications which Im not familiar with.

    But, doesnt usb loader GX support installing VC/WW games on its partial NAND emu?
     
  11. themanuel

    Member themanuel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have a patched SM and I can moved them too. I'm talking about wads installed with say, Wad Manager, and then moving them with the Wii's Data Management utility.
    I started a thread a while back where this was discussed. The overall conclusion was that this depends on how the wad was created. Apparently, some packaging apps modify the tmd and then the Wii will not allow you to run these games when transferred to SD card (unless you have a patched SM). However, if the wad was packed correctly (whatever that means), then you don't need a patched SM.
    So go ahead and try it, and if it does not work your two options are:
    - get another wad that is properly dumped
    - patch the SM
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    But you will still want your SM patched anyway from the brick recovery options, that's why ModMii does it.
     
  13. themanuel

    Member themanuel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is that for Priiloader or brick protection beyond that?
    I never got to patch mine, once I realized I could just copy the games to the SD card.
    Ultimately, I use forwarder ISO's to launch wiiware, so it wasn't necessary for me.
     
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It's for running recovery discs without a modchip, to prevent region changed Korean Wii's from bricking if you (stupidly) update past 4.1, and prevent bricks if a new Wii downgraded below 3.4.
     

Share This Page