Quake with Normal Maps..?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by bytor, Nov 11, 2010.

Nov 11, 2010

Quake with Normal Maps..? by bytor at 5:43 PM (1,093 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. bytor
    OP

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have just seen someone on another forum I frequent mention that he has a version of Quake that has normal maps, but the silly old sod managed to get himself banned for some reason so I can't find out where he got it from!!! Has anyone else seen it..? I've had Quake on my SD card for a while but haven't updated it via the Homebrew Browser in ages, if I do update it this way will I end up with the normal mapped version..? Or will I have to download it from elsewhere..?

    Many thanks in advance for any help, Quake is my all-time favourite FPS of all-time (narrowly beating Duke Nukem 3D!) and I'd love to see a normal mapped version!
     
  2. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Updating will change nothing to your maps.

    Pip'
     
  3. John_Ice

    Newcomer John_Ice Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    If you have the original CD, you have everything you need to play the original map to your wii... You don't need to update the game on the wii, you have to copy the .pak from your orignal CD, that's it...
     
  4. bytor
    OP

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup, I know how to get the full game (but thanks anyway!), I was just wondering if anyone knew anything about a normal mapped Quake on the Wii. Sounds like updating it to its latest version won't do it so I guess I'll have to wait for this guy's ban to end to find out how he did it or where he got it from. As soon as I find out I'll let you all know, a normal mapped Quake will be unbelievable!!! [​IMG]D
     
  5. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean when you say "normal mapped"?

    Quake Wii uses ALL THE SAME maps as the original PC version. Does that mean it's normal mapped?
     
  6. bytor
    OP

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't mean in-game maps! Normal maps or bump maps are shader (or TEV in the Wii's case!) effects on textures that make them appear more 3D. It makes them look more realistic by having light reflecting from the 3D surfaces creating shadows and light highlights from textures. You can see it when playing the Gamecube franchise Rogue Squadron and The Conduit on the Wii.

    You need the texture and a normal map (which is blue, green and purple when viewed in a paint program) to produce this affect. Somebody, somewhere has managed to do this but I don't know where to get hold of it. [​IMG]
     
  7. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, bump mapping. You should have mentioned earlier! As far as I am aware, none of the Quake ports for Wii have bump mapping in them, as it was not in the original engine that was ported. In fact, I don't think Quake 2 or 3 had bump mapping either, when they were released.

    It would be a good addition, but unnecessary. If you're playing the original quake to be wowed by graphics, you are doing it wrong.
     

Share This Page