Putting Gamecube Isos into Metroid Prime Trilogy

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiUBricker, Jan 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WiiUBricker
    OP

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Metroid Prime Trilogy contains 1 Wii game (MP3) and 2 GC games (MP1 &MP2). Since MP1 and MP2 are actualy gamecube games Im wondering if it is possible to replace the MP1/MP2 partitions with a gamecube Iso so that you can play a gc game with a USB Loader in Wii mode. This might be a stupid idea but who knows [​IMG]
     
  2. woodoste

    Newcomer woodoste Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Italy
    This trick is used on PC Engine to load roms throgh official CD collections [​IMG]
    It should be awesome if it works!
     
  3. Gangboy

    Newcomer Gangboy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Isn't it so that the MP1 and MP2 are remakes with Wiimote controls?... Could be wrong here, if so it's converted to work on Wii hardware and not in gc mode... [​IMG]
     
  4. SwedishGojira

    Newcomer SwedishGojira Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry to bust your bubble, but that won't work. These games are ported to the wii and not run trough any emulator. Same goes for all the "New Control"-games and Resident Evil re-releases.
    Why the hell would you think to emulate games that run natively in GC-mode on the Wii anyway?
    Get a modchip instead, the solderless ones are not that expensive and you can runn all the GC games you want.
     
  5. OOPMan

    Newcomer OOPMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    South Africa
    You're right, it is a stupid idea.

    As others have said, the games in MPT are Wii games.

    Also, USB + GameCube == Not Possible (Kinda like the DS Slot1 + Native GBA game == Not Possible answer)
     
  6. BinFairy

    Newcomer BinFairy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do realise that it probably wont hurt to try replacing the partitions and shove it on a USB loader. The controls are probably hardcoded into the game partition and therefore if you put a GC game in it it will automatically use the GC controls.

    Admittedly, I dont know much about how the wii works, but I think the games are just ports and not re-makes therefore it can't hurt to try. At most you will waste an hour or so of your time. If someone tried this and it did work, I'm sure it would be all over the forums, so it doesn't look like someone has tried (and succedded).

    Just jump in there, and tell us what happens. I would, but I don't have access to a backup of MP3.
     
  7. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This topic is really funny, some great quotes could be had from it all.

    I think it should be locked before someone spills hot coffee on themselves laughing.
     
  8. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah best to lock this before people start.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page