Hardware PS3 Controller To 360 Emulator/Program

SonicRings

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
1,820
Trophies
1
Location
Johto
XP
1,835
Country
Canada
Thanks Zerousen for this video! Problem solved! :)



So I've been using Motioninjoy for a while now with my DS3 via USB cable (not bluetooth). It treats it as a 360 controller so it works in all the games I play. However, when trying to play Sonic And All-Stars Racing Transformed (ASRT) on my PC, it keeps constantly doing tricks, which is performed by inputting a direction on the right analog stick. Something to do with there being no dead zones and the slightest movement caused by rumble (which I refuse to disable since I really like rumble) makes me perform a trick when I don't want to, making playing the game impossible.

So I try going into options and changing the deadzones for the right analog stick.

Here's how it looks normally

Here's how it looks when I make my desired changes and hit "Save Changes" down at the bottom left

And here's the best part:
Here's how it looks after I click on profiles and then click back to options

The same thing happens when I click Reload Page, or do anything that leaves the options. When I go back, they are set back to default. What can I do for it to actually save when I click save? I tried running this as administrator as well and it still happens.


So yeah, motioninjoy is being difficult for me. So I decide to use x360ce, which is what I use with my MayFlash gamecube adapter (for gamecube controllers for those keeping track). It works perfectly with gamecube controllers.

However, it's god damn impossible for me to get it to work with my PS3 controller the way I want! If I just plug in my PS3 controller, it loads up a 360 controller control scheme, which makes my D-pad act as the left analog stick, switches the bumpers with the triggers, and the rumble won't work.

I can get it to work almost 100% perfectly when using Motioninjoy along with it, but it won't rumble unless I press on "Pass Through" in the advanced tab. Doesn't that just disable x360ce altogether and just use motioninjoy, though? Because the deadzones I have set, which are at 95% for the right analog stick, don't seem to have any effect. The random flipping (tricks) when I'm airborne still occur, screwing me in each race.

I am very frustrated at how my DS3 is incapable of being used with ASRT. It works just fine in any other game (except Sonic Generations, where it will randomly spam quickstep once every blue moon, but I'm not too concerned with that anymore). I don't get any camera issues in Burnout Paradise, which uses the right analog stick for the camera, and my controller rumbles almost non-stop when playing that game.

Can ANYONE help me use my PS3 controller to play ASRT? Please don't suggest I buy a 360 controller, as I don't like the shape or size of it. Thanks in advance, and thank you so much for reading this much!
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
Try this. Should, once the drivers install, recognize a PS3 controller basically as a 360 controller, only the analog and pad aren't switched like in your scenario. I don't know if rumble works, though, and I don't remember if the Home button maps to the Guide button or not. I've never tried setting custom deadzones, either.

Also you'll have to keep a background service running for auto-pairing on bluetooth, but it's generally more functional and (way less invasive than) MiJ, although I don't know if it's compatible with the same number of bluetooth dongles/chips.
 

SonicRings

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
1,820
Trophies
1
Location
Johto
XP
1,835
Country
Canada
Try this. Should, once the drivers install, recognize a PS3 controller basically as a 360 controller, only the analog and pad aren't switched like in your scenario. I don't know if rumble works, though, and I don't remember if the Home button maps to the Guide button or not. I've never tried setting custom deadzones, either.

Also you'll have to keep a background service running for auto-pairing on bluetooth, but it's generally more functional and (way less invasive than) MiJ, although I don't know if it's compatible with the same number of bluetooth dongles/chips.
Thanks for your response! I use a USB cable. Does that change anything, or does what you said still apply?

EDIT: That is the exact program I used, x360ce, which switched the analog stick with my D-pad lol...
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
It's completely separate from x360ce; there's generally no reason to be using the two together, and I'm almost certain you can't run it alongside MotioninJoy without driver conflicts.
 

SonicRings

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
1,820
Trophies
1
Location
Johto
XP
1,835
Country
Canada
It's completely separate from x360ce; there's generally no reason to be using the two together, and I'm almost certain you can't run it alongside MotioninJoy without driver conflicts.
Oh, I must have been mistaken. I'll give that a try, but if I install the drivers, will motioninjoy still work? It was hell getting motioninjoy to work, and I don't want to screw things up and have nothing to work with my DS3..
 

Zerousen

【=◈︿◈=】
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
1,987
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,440
Country
United States
Thanks for your response! I use a USB cable. Does that change anything, or does what you said still apply?

EDIT: That is the exact program I used, x360ce, which switched the analog stick with my D-pad lol...


I use the same SCP drivers, and it works flawlessly for me. Make sure you uninstall MiJ before you use it, and get the latest 360 drivers here. You probably won't need to have to use MiJ ever again, since the DS3 will emulate a 360 controller natively in all games.
 

SonicRings

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
1,820
Trophies
1
Location
Johto
XP
1,835
Country
Canada
I use the same SCP drivers, and it works flawlessly for me. Make sure you uninstall MiJ before you use it, and get the latest 360 drivers here.
Oh, do I have to uninstall motioninjoy? I was hoping I could keep it as a safety net in case this program doesn't work or support rumble or whatnot.
 

Zerousen

【=◈︿◈=】
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
1,987
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,440
Country
United States
Oh, do I have to uninstall motioninjoy? I was hoping I could keep it as a safety net in case this program doesn't work or support rumble or whatnot.


Everything works, rumble and all. I use it to play games like Borderlands 2 and on PCSX2, works perfectly fine.
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
if I install the drivers, will motioninjoy still work?

On that front, I don't know; I've never had any reason to go back to Motioninjoy, and frankly if I had to I'd probably stop using my PS3 controllers in Windows altogether, but I think both of them install their own USB drivers. I'd try it on a different machine or a VM first if you're not confident.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i remember have this for rca inputs over rf in the late 90's, iy was neat but i bet has a chunk of input lag when gaming.
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i just prefer wired connections, more stability in general. i do ftp to my ps2 and og xbox and sometimes my 14tbof network storage for archival purposes
    .
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ye I use to have set ups like those but now I just fell less wires the better
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    when i say network storage i mean locally over openmediavault.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    one day i will set up the hp dl380 g7 i got for $50. when i have an appropriate closet to blockout the wind turbines it houses for fans.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it's got like 48gb of ddr3 in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I almost got enough spare parts to do a secondary pc build with a 7950 windforce wonder what it benches out to these days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    3gb gddr5 lol
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i had a 960 2gb in the server for a min as a gaming pc probably
    a bottle neck with two xeon x5680's , it wasn't terrible not the best experience but nothing amazing fits in u2 rack mount server anyway.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it was the loudest gaming experience for sure tho.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    also probably had the power bill higher than my 5800x3d and 6950xt do.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: BURRITOS! :P