Preparing for NSMB Wii question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rockym, Nov 11, 2009.

Nov 11, 2009

Preparing for NSMB Wii question by Rockym at 1:19 PM (4,135 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Rockym
    OP

    Member Rockym GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all,
    I understand that New Super Mario Bros Wii will require an update to 4.1, has this been confirmed? If so, what's the best way to prepare the Wii so my homebrew won't be damaged or anything (i.e using the safe update to 4.2). My Wii is currently at 3.4U and I use Boot2 BootMii. I just want to make sure I don't wreck anything when I get the game on Sunday.

    Thanks
     


  2. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    OK DONT FOLLOW MY OLD ADVICE: THIS IS WHAT YOU SHOULD DO!

    1. Use GeckoOS to bypass Updates. (IF IT DOES NOT LAUNCH GO TO STEP 2)
    2. Install IOS53 using DOP-IOS, Then Launch it with GeckoOS.
    And if you're looking to put it on USB Loader
    3. Look for the SMNP01.GCT Ocarina Patch File That You will need to use to run it.

    And that is all my friend. [​IMG]
     
  3. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This, also if you're on softmod you have to use USB Loader GX, or WiiFlow, with either a) Alternate DOL (Look around you'll find it somewhere) or b) The latest version of WiiFlow which can be found on the first post in the NSMBWii "All infos" thread.
     
  4. Rockym
    OP

    Member Rockym GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    I don't use USB loaders or anything like that. I think you may have misunderstood. I am going to pick the game up on Sun morning and want to be able to play it without messing up my BootMii, HBC and homebrew. I don't use backups (and I don't have anything against those who do), just emulators really and I just wanna make sure I don't mess it all up. Also, I heard Waninkoko's isn't that good and it has messup some peoples Wiis.

    Thanks
     
  5. Jaz808

    Member Jaz808 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Melb Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    Dont install Waninkoko 4.0 it will download a stub IOS60 and that will brick your we

    You dont need to update, just use something like pre-loader, starpatch ect to skip updates
     
  6. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    DONT DO IT LIKE THIS !

    If you want a nice brick you'll do this. Wanin's updater installs the latest IOS60 version, which is a stub now.
     
  7. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    NVM... apparently it'll Brick your wii now? WTF Happend?
     
  8. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah it should be fine dude, as long as you have IOS53 from dopIOS trucha patched.
     
  9. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah wont he have to install IOS53 tho? or was that the old way to run it for the burned discs?
     
  10. Jaz808

    Member Jaz808 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Melb Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    Whats is NVM ?
     
  11. Rockym
    OP

    Member Rockym GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    I thought starpatch only ran on 4.0 and up. At least that's what it sounded like when I read about it on wiibrew. I was think of using that Safe update method that was posted on this board. Oh and I wasn't planning on using Waninkoko, I read all about the trouble it caused hehe.
     
  12. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    NVM = Nevermind... BUT THAT WAS A WASTED COMMENT!...
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    never mind
     
  14. caster62003

    Member caster62003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Follow the guide here

    It is partly taken from the guide here

    I used a combination of the two and my Wii is now on 4.2, and still has BootMii as Boot2, all homebrew is functional, and we have one happy camper.

    Bye
     
  15. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    So hold on, im clueless here?... Does he or does he not, Need IOS53? 'Cos I Had to install it.
    And you can just use GeckoOS to bypass the update easily..
     
  16. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, if he tries to play it and it doesn't work, then yeah, he needs to install it with dopIOS and patch it from within dopIOS. Then it will definitely work.
     
  17. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, there we go...
     
  18. Rockym
    OP

    Member Rockym GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    That's great Caster but that guide tells how to mod an unmodded system. My Wii already has BootMii and HBC installed and I just want to prevent the update on NSMB from messing them up.
     
  19. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah just follow the guide, i updated it now.. it's actually alot more safer now.
    sorry bout that wanin hiccup.. phew... i had no clue...
     
  20. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    just use neogamma...works well either backup disc or usb hdd.

    on the OP you can run this game even at your system menu right now...if you do not want to update, then use preloader hacks or startpatch to skip disc updates.
     

Share This Page