Pokemon Migration

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by SP0RK, Jan 5, 2008.

Jan 5, 2008

Pokemon Migration by SP0RK at 6:18 PM (1,590 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. SP0RK
    OP

    Newcomer SP0RK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I've got a slot-1 Cyclo DS and a slot-2 EZ Flash IV Lite and am wondering how to migrate Pokemon from Fire Red/Leaf Green to Diamond/Pearl. I've tried loading D/P through both the Cyclo DS and through the EZIV's DS loader but neither detect FR/LG. As far as I understand, I'm supposed to beat the Elite 4, obtain the National Dex, and reach the Pal Park on D/P (which I've done). A menu is supposed to show up the next time I start the game asking if I want to migrate any Pokemon but I haven't been able to get it to show up. Any ideas?
     
  2. Primworm

    Member Primworm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    You are using a legit cart right? to my knowledge you cant transfer if its not a legit cart. The menu, once you unlock it, should be on the title screen, and will show up when you have your cart inserted. Happy Transferring!
     
  3. yoshi43

    Newcomer yoshi43 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    To my knowledge you can't transfer pokemon from a gba rom
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The only flashcarts you can migrate pokeymans from are the M3 Real GBA expansion (or an M3 Perfect used as a GBA expansion, either way the M3 Real is required) or the EZ-Flash 3-in-1 (requires a patched Diamond/Pearl rom, but should work with any slot 1 cart).

    You will not be able to migrate your pokeymans with the flashcarts you have.
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bad mistake [​IMG]
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Who said anything about Pokemon Battle Revolution? The OP wanted to know how to migrate pokeymans to Diamond/Pearl.
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah, my mistake, i thought it was a bit odd lol
     
  8. suppachipmunk

    Member suppachipmunk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    You need to have seen all 150 shinnoh pokes.
    You must beat the entire game, 8 gym leaders and elite 4.
    Then you need to visit Pal Park.

    Once you visit Pal Park, you should be able to restart Pokemon and see the Migrate tool in your main pokemon menu. You need an official GBA cart, or possibly a 3-in-1 with the Poke GBA game flashed to the NOR flash so it would act as an official game. I would try, but my DS is not on me right now.
     
  9. SP0RK
    OP

    Newcomer SP0RK Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Darn. Does anybody know if there is a way I could migrate them using a DS emulator and uploading the .sav files to my PC?
     
  10. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    you could just use pokesav
     
  11. 23qwerty

    Member 23qwerty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Canada
    I should check if I can migrate from a legit fire red or ruby to a illegit diamond [​IMG]
    EDIT: Yes you can [​IMG]
     
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that should work with most slot 1 flashcarts.

    You may have issues if the slot 1 flashcart you're using auto-patches the Diamond/Pearl rom to link with an expansion pack. The EZ-V and the M3 Real do this. I don't know if it's a problem on the Real, but you have to downgrade an EZ-V to a very old kernel to get Diamond/Pearl to link with a legitimate GBA Pokemon cart.
     
  13. EN!GMA

    Member EN!GMA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming that if one has an older gba cart (like firelink) that has a multiboot shell this wouldn't work... Am I correct in assuming that?
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That is correct, but not because of the multiboot loader. The DS Pokemon roms have to be patched in order to read the save from a GBA flashcart (even for non-migratory linkage), and the only patches that currently exist are the one for the 3-in-1, and the one built into the M3 Real's loader.

    The only slot 2 flashcarts that can currently be used for DS GBA Pokemon linkage are the 3-in-1 (with any flashcart), or the M3 GBA expansion or M3 Perfect with the M3 Real.


    If you're talking about other DS games (that don't try to read the save from the GBA cart), then yes, the multiboot loader would prevent linkage from working.
     

Share This Page