Pokemon Black/White (Not AP related)

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Manton, Mar 3, 2011.

Mar 3, 2011
  1. Manton
    OP

    Newcomer Manton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I realize that the post below me relating to this game has been locked, but I'm having an entirely different issue relating to the card itself, not the AP.

    When trying to run either of these games using 1.8.5 or 1.8.5a, along with the latest loaders, the game will simply hang on the loading screen. Every other game I have works just fine.

    At least two other people in this thread are reporting the same issue.

    AKAIO 1.8.5
    HW:81
    SVN:103
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you AP patched it?
     
  3. Manton
    OP

    Newcomer Manton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, does not run whether it is patched or un-patched.
     
  4. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Try running on 1.8.1 akaio? I've seen a few posts talk about it...
     
  5. DJ91990

    Member DJ91990 Dark-Type Trainer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    Oakwood Region
    Country:
    United States
    Try using AKAIO 1.8.1. Game game at least runs but I will tell you that AAP does nothing.

    You will not earn EXP points from battle...again. WTF!? Below 8000h and still it is triggered!?
     
  6. Manton
    OP

    Newcomer Manton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    After trying a few things, it appears that this is somehow related to the microSD card I was using. I tried installing 1.8.5 on a really old Kingston 2gb stick, and it works flawlessly with the patch.

    My main card is an ADATA 4gig, class 6. I tried reformatting and installing clean with just Pokemon on it, but no luck. All other games run just fine off my ADATA card.
     
  7. we1221

    Newcomer we1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Canada
    for me every game over 200 mb hangs on loading screan
     
  8. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    You're using the SD Formatter (Panasonic) to reformat, right?
     
  9. Awesomeslayerg

    Member Awesomeslayerg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Guys 1.8.6 of AKIAO is out soo.. try it [​IMG]?
     
  10. Phylos

    Newcomer Phylos Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Attempting to run clean ROM with AKAIO 1.8.6, I get in big red letters "System File is Missing"
    It seems to happen only on Pokemon Black and White. Tried holding B for the alternate load method, but that didn't work either (same response)
     
  11. Philly_Cheese

    Newcomer Philly_Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Which cart and SD are you using?
    I'm running an acekard2.1 + 1.8.6 and the euro version boots and plays perfectly.
    Try getting it in EUR and see if you have any more luck with it
     
  12. we1221

    Newcomer we1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Canada
    my acecard hangs on loading screen on 1.8.6
     
  13. chemistryfreak

    Member chemistryfreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    Japan
    Same thing happened to me with AKAIO 1.8.6
    After disabling Bypass AP in system menu i was able to get it to load my Pokemon Black & White (JPN) without any problems (No freezing & Pokemon gain EXP)
    I also tested Pokemon Black & White (Europe) and both works (Games load & Pokemon gains EXP)

    A little off topic: I don't really like the season font used in Pokemon Black & White (Europe) >_< It looks terrible >_< compared to the Japanese one...
     
  14. CrvyloOo

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    Me and a friend of mine have this problem as well. My friend also reported that the same thing happened with the most recent Kingdom Hearts game. My Pokemon worked fine until I tried his SD card in my AceKard, upon putting my card back in, I had the same problem!
     
  15. we1221

    Newcomer we1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Canada
    every game that is 256 mb does this.....and crvylooo the new kingdom hearts is 256 mb so ya.... i guess its the same for you
     
  16. Phylos

    Newcomer Phylos Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Tried this^ and it worked for me! The other bit of using the AKAIO 1.8.1 secondary also worked on a patched version. Thanks for all the help guys! I hope others found this info as useful as I did.
     
  17. CrvyloOo

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    I tried that and it didn't work, same problem persisted. And wouldn't downgrading the firmware make other games no longer work? (Yu-Gi-Oh! WC 2011 for example.)
     

Share This Page