PKMN B/W ROM/Flashcart questions

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Aster Selene, Sep 16, 2011.

Sep 16, 2011
  1. Aster Selene
    OP

    Newcomer Aster Selene Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    So many questions and so many answers around here found by searching that don't exactly answer my question, so I'm clumping them all here.

    When I get a 3DS I'm going to get a flashcart and put Black or White on it, and I want it specifically that way because I'm probably going to do a ridiculous amount of cheating (mostly for event silliness). (And before "wrong thread", B/W is a DS game and these questions apply even if I for some silly reason decided to get a DS instead.) Some questions about doing this:

    -Will the Dream World work all right if I use a ROM?
    -Will there be issues with any Wi-Fi functions (trading, battling, C-Gear, Entralink, etc.)?
    -Do long Action Replay codes work with flashcarts, and if not, is it worth investing in an AR device? (If yes to the latter question, is it worth shelling the extra $2 for non Pokémon related stuff?)
    -There was some kind of thread that mentioned a Mystery Gift Liberty Ticket AR code that worked perfectly fine except for the fact it was impossibly long (and thus didn't work on computer emulators). And now I can't find it or the code...And I have no clue how to work the Distribution ROM very well, so can I have help with either of these solutions?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You will not be able to use WPA wireless security with any cart except the iEvolution (which is the only cart that can run in DSi-mode), and even then you may have to use White, as it seems the commonly-found ROM dump of Black is incomplete and lacking some of the DSi data (and thus fails/locks when trying to use certain in-game features like c-gear IIRC).

    AR codes work on every decent flash cart.
     
  3. Aster Selene
    OP

    Newcomer Aster Selene Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, I think I can deal with the lack of WPA (I think my router uses WEP), so that won't be too much of an issue. It won't cripple the whole thing though, right?

    If Black's ROM has issues with C-Gear, does this apply to WEP as well?

    Urk...Maybe I should just buy the real game and invest in Action Replay at this rate...
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Even if your router is set to WPA, you can change it to WEP and such when you want to play.

    I'm not sure how badly the common black ROM is damaged, so I don't know if it works in DSi-mode at all or just DS mode.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Nah, you're mixing it up.

    When the Japanese versions were dumped, the Black version was dumped incorrectly, which caused the game to black screen whenever you attempted to enter the Union room (not sure about other Wireless Communication stuff)
    Some flashcard teams have included fixes for that problem in their card's OS, like the DSTwo.

    I would assume he is going to use a US rom of the game. In that case, the DSi parts on both Black/White have not been dumped properly.
    If I remember correctly, only the Japanese and French roms have been dumped properly. (Correct me if I'm wrong.)
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The french wasn't dumped correctly, but somebody released a patch to fix the french one.
     
  7. Aster Selene
    OP

    Newcomer Aster Selene Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    ...Now I'm really confused...
    I am going to get US, so does this mean wireless will be unplayable...or just WPA mode...or...?

    I'm sorry. I'm not good at this orz
     
  8. tlyee61

    Member tlyee61 le dancing Tyranitar~

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    When, I was little, I went through about 5 or 6 ARs because they would either brick or erase all the games and back then, I had dial-up internet...
     
  9. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope.
    The french roms were dumped properly and Poryhack extracted the DSi parts from the french ones to let us patch our english versions.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I misread.
     

Share This Page