pikmin wii - pal release not working on softmod ntsc wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by samred, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. samred
    OP

    Member samred GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Tried loading this to no avail. Even tried forcing 50 and 60 PAL, no dice. Every time I try to load, I get a black screen and the disc whirring in my Wii, followed by a generic warning that the game will not load. Eject, re-insert disc, same result.

    When I go through backup loader to reboot, the disc channel loads the Pikmin disc channel screen, so I'm hesitant to call this a bad burn. Any other tips? Thanks, folks.
     
  2. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There isnt a PAL version yet,the oficial release is tomorrow
     
  3. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh?
     
  5. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's a possible solution.first download Wiipower's softchip toy R6
    http://rapidshare.com/files/194191172/Soft...hToyR6.zip.html
    and use these settings here
    [​IMG]
    I'm fairly confident that this will work for NTSC users as when i try to force NTSC using Gamma loader i get a green screen but if i use the method above i get the game working ok with red and black colours
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    My toy patches the video mode from PAL to NTSC if you select force NTSC 480i. That's why it should be more compatible with PAL games for NTSC users. If force NTSC 480i doesn't work, try force PAL 576i -> NTSC 480i.
     
  7. Blastaway

    Newcomer Blastaway Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried both of these options and I get a green screen. It will run if you choose any PAL setting (PAL60 included), but it will not run at 60 hertz and therefore it won't display properly and will flicker. If anyone has a workaround I'd be grateful. Otherwise I'll stick with the Japanese release until the US version comes out.
     

Share This Page