Partition Magic question

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Harsky, Jan 10, 2008.

Jan 10, 2008

Partition Magic question by Harsky at 2:46 PM (800 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So my sister has a laptop which was bought brand new... in 2002 and as such the hard drive is 40gb but for some reason it's split into 2 drives (drive C and drive D, 20gb each). This never really bothered her as back then, the laptop was really only ever used for typing and the occasional browsing but now when she asked me to check her laptop, she only had 1gb left in drive C but she never touched anything in drive D. My question is, if I use Partition Magic to combine both drive into one single drive, will I lose any data and have to format?
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    IIRC, using Paragon Partition Manager, you can do this without losing any data. Did this some months ago, if I remember correctly.

    Not too sure, though [​IMG] You could try to do it, if then it warns you about data loss, never mind [​IMG]
     
  3. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While this topic is made I thought I might as well add in my own question.
    Is there any way to change the filesystem used by a drive without actually having to format and erase all data on that drive?
    I have a FAT32 C drive and a NTFS D drive and my C drive is driving me nuts (sorry!). I want to change its filesystem but I'm not sure I can without having to do a complete format.
     
  4. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    CONVERTING FAT32 to NTFS
    (Does not require a format)

    (Edit: Below question was answered on IRC)
     
  5. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Umm.. I see it says in the instruction I should boot a floppy...
    I don't have one...

    Do I really need to do all that stuff beforehand or could I skip to the last step?
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    IIRC, yes, Paragon Partition Magic is your friend.
     

Share This Page