Hacking NTR Luma Firmware.bin Download Shows Virus?

Scoreless Pine

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
176
Country
United States
So I have had NTR working before, and at some point, maybe when installing A9LH, I might have deleted the firmware.bin file from the luma folder to make NTR work, however when I go to the github wiki to download the firmware files, when I go to download the .7z from the zippyshare it sends me to, my computer tells me that there is a virus in the download. Now, I'm no idiot, but if my computer tells me it's a virus, I'm not gonna continue the download. Is there a mirror anywhere to the firmware.bin that I need to use NTR or am I just gonna have to tough it out and hope I don't get a Trojan virus?

For reference, here is the page where I got the download link for the firmware files: https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Installation-and-Upgrade

The link should be near the top where it says "To use NTR, you need firmware.bin from this archive."
 
Last edited by Scoreless Pine,

Thunder Hawk

Firefox Master Race
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
804
Trophies
1
XP
2,563
Country
United States
No, actually just the default windows virus scanning software for windows 10.

EDIT: Wow I just realized its one in the morning and I have school in 5 hours. I'm gonna have to go and I hope you guys can help me with a solution. Thanks!
That's the problem. I recommend you get different antivirus such as Avast or something. I also recommend you download Malwarebytes while you're at it.
 
Last edited by Thunder Hawk, , Reason: cleaned it up

Tenshi_Okami

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
1,490
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,606
Country
Puerto Rico
That's the problem. Get a real antivirus such as Avast or something. Also download Malwarebytes while you're at it.
Eww, there's really no reason to have another antivirus rather than Windows Defender and Malwarebytes

Other's take a shit ton of RAM memory, CPU usage and HDD memory

If you really want another antivirus, there's always HitmanPro3
 
  • Like
Reactions: KapuDaKoopa

Zanoab

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
127
Trophies
1
XP
604
Country
United States
Are you sure you are clicking the right download button? It is a common problem for ad infested download sites.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,065
Country
United States
Are you sure you are clicking the right download button? It is a common problem for ad infested download sites.
This. Or it's most likely a false positive. BIN files can't infect you anyway as there's no way to execute them. Malware doesn't just automatically execute when extracted either. Also, use BootNTR. It supports the latest firmware and makes the firmware.bin file obsolete.
 

Scoreless Pine

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
176
Country
United States
Are you sure you are clicking the right download button? It is a common problem for ad infested download sites.
I'm sure its clicking the right button because it downloads the file entirely and then windows defender tells me its bad, and I have adblock as well so I know which button is the right one.

This. Or it's most likely a false positive. BIN files can't infect you anyway as there's no way to execute them. Malware doesn't just automatically execute when extracted either. Also, use BootNTR. It supports the latest firmware and makes the firmware.bin file obsolete.
I believe it is a false positive. What do you mean? I thought that BootNTR was the only way to start up NTR CFW, and I thought that needed the firmware.bin file in luma. Is there a different way that I don't know about or something? Also the reason I'm trying to download this file in the first place is because when I try to load NTR through BootNTR, it tells me something about an invalid home menu version or something like that which I'm assuming will be fixed by adding the file to the luma folder.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,149
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,626
Country
Norway
I'm sure its clicking the right button because it downloads the file entirely and then windows defender tells me its bad, and I have adblock as well so I know which button is the right one.


I believe it is a false positive. What do you mean? I thought that BootNTR was the only way to start up NTR CFW, and I thought that needed the firmware.bin file in luma. Is there a different way that I don't know about or something? Also the reason I'm trying to download this file in the first place is because when I try to load NTR through BootNTR, it tells me something about an invalid home menu version or something like that which I'm assuming will be fixed by adding the file to the luma folder.
The latest BootNTR supports 11.0 FIRM so you should not need the firmware.bin file, if it says the home menu version is unsupported that means your BootNTR is outdated and using the firmware.bin won't fix it because firmware.bin is not related to the home menu.
This. Or it's most likely a false positive. BIN files can't infect you anyway as there's no way to execute them. Malware doesn't just automatically execute when extracted either. Also, use BootNTR. It supports the latest firmware and makes the firmware.bin file obsolete.
That's not always true, there could be an exploit in the compression software you're using, or if it's a self-extracting SFX archive it could be infected, in this case it's most likely a false positive though.
 

Scoreless Pine

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
176
Country
United States
The latest BootNTR supports 11.0 FIRM so you should not need the firmware.bin file, if it says the home menu version is unsupported that means your BootNTR is outdated and using the firmware.bin won't fix it because firmware.bin is not related to the home menu.
I could have sworn I've updated to the latest version recently. I'll try again and see if it makes a difference.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Nope, I've now updated Luma3ds, BootNTR, and tried to see if there was a 3ds firmware update (there wasn't) and tried it again and it still does not work.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,065
Country
United States
That's not always true, there could be an exploit in the compression software you're using, or if it's a self-extracting SFX archive it could be infected, in this case it's most likely a false positive though.
Yeah, I was thinking of mentioning that about SFX archives but decided against it. And if you're referring to something like what happened to WinRAR 4.2 then that only works by double clicking the file while it's still in the archive, and even then, the extension of the file is technically spoofed.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hmm... I just believe that zippy share is not SUPER trustworthy... The archive is probably not infected, but you should use google chrome and Ad Block (the original safe one) to make sure zippy share doesn't do anything bad to you
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and if i had one it wouldnt fit inside my pc
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It might fit in your phone gotta use force
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    both are too flat
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    my phone and my pc
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Imagine if cucumbers didn't digest like corn
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    what
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    2K always messes they're own games up, esp when they pump new one out every year, and change stuff up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Fifa use to be fun on ps1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and ps2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Fifa is EA sports tho, not 2K, but yea I used to play the hell out of fifa
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont like fifa too much
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    never understood how to play it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You press a button that kicks the ball
    +2
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Instructions unclear, kicked myself in the balls. Worst game ever.
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You must have the ps5 pro controller each missed pass is a nut shot
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kenichiro Yoshida loves kicking himself in the nuts for some reason
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Why do all fish I want to buy have to be schooling species that "aren't happy" and will die of ennui unless there's like a million of them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Why can't I buy just one fish, why do I always have to buy "a minimum of 6 but 10 is preferred".
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Fish gotta get laid also
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Fucking shopkeepers guilt tripping me.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Plenty of fish in the sea, why do they have to be the exact same species? Can't they get freaky with fish that only kinda sorta look like them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Fucking racist fish.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Be more like humans and fuck anything that moves.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Didn't we evolve from fish
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Didn't we evolve from fish