Hacking Not enough space on the vWii to install wads

Tackskull

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,375
Country
France
Hi there, I am trying to install some wads on my wiiu's xWii. I am able to install 4 or 5 of them, but if I go more a message would not letting me navigate the channel menu because of the full memory.

I tryed to move the installed channels on the sd card but I am not able to play them both from Wiiflow and by channel menu. How can I install wads directly on the sd? There is another way to install many wads without care ofthe small memory the vwii have?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,072
Country
United States
possibly the size of the sd card is the problem. I don't think the vwii can read sdxc cards when it comes to channels. I had this problem myself, and what I did was make an emuNAND (2, one for the games to show up, and another for using neek2o). then, load everything through usb loader gx.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,888
Country
United States
possibly the size of the sd card is the problem. I don't think the vwii can read sdxc cards when it comes to channels. I had this problem myself, and what I did was make an emuNAND (2, one for the games to show up, and another for using neek2o). then, load everything through usb loader gx.

Doesn't the vWii have it's own amount of alloted space? I have a 32 gb sd card (not sdxc) with plenty of space, but I was only able to install about 6-7 wads that I had made forwarders for the Wii U menu for using TeconMoon's injector, then I was out of space.

I guess using USB Loader GX might be the only way around the space, but I keep all my games on Wii U menu so it doesn't really help me.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,072
Country
United States
it has its own space, yes. I forgot the error message via an sd card. come to think of it, it might've been from using my wii's vc games. I just can't remember if I did that.

edit: now that I think about it, I think I got the same error installing to system memory, then copying to the sd. when opening the game, it errors immediately, so I think it has to do with the size of the sd card, 'cause I'm using a 256GB card.
 
Last edited by godreborn,

Anxiety_timmy

Average Asura
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
816
Trophies
1
Location
The Local Dumpster
XP
2,579
Country
United States
That I know you cant use anything higher than 32gb unless you have all the tools necessary.Even then you would still run into issues.Thats why its recommended unless your dumping games or the wiiu's nand.
 

Tackskull

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,375
Country
France
So, basically if I use a 32gb sd card I will not have to care about space and istall wads untill the sd card i full right? I am using a 64gb sd card, but at least I am only using 20gb of it, changing to a 32gb would not be a problem, all my games are isntalld on 2 different hard disc drives.
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,393
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,833
Country
United States
Well, wii originally has 512MB of internal memory. (So the wii u also has allocated exactly that much to the vWii) In order to expand that for wii ware/vc titles, a SD card is needed. You would have to install the games on the wii internal memory first, then move it to SD card after. The SD card should be at max 32GB. Though from previous experience, you can use bigger sizes SD, but you need GUI Format to "Format" the SD card to "FAT 32" which is the only way to use SDXC. It will work, but expect potential of incompatibility.

GUIFormat can be found HERE. Simply, select the drive letter for a SD card (the one that is bigger than 32GB) and select the allocation size unit to "32XXX" and start. As for loading games using wiiflow, I hope someone else can answer that. Hope this was helpful. :ninja:
 

Tackskull

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,375
Country
France
Well, wii originally has 512MB of internal memory. (So the wii u also has allocated exactly that much to the vWii) In order to expand that for wii ware/vc titles, a SD card is needed. You would have to install the games on the wii internal memory first, then move it to SD card after. The SD card should be at max 32GB. Though from previous experience, you can use bigger sizes SD, but you need GUI Format to "Format" the SD card to "FAT 32" which is the only way to use SDXC. It will work, but expect potential of incompatibility.

GUIFormat can be found HERE. Simply, select the drive letter for a SD card (the one that is bigger than 32GB) and select the allocation size unit to "32XXX" and start. As for loading games using wiiflow, I hope someone else can answer that. Hope this was helpful. :ninja:

Hi thx :)

Actually I am using a 64gb sd and is already formatted on fat32, but if I move the installed channels on it, I am not ableto launch them both from vwii menu and wiiflow
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,393
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,833
Country
United States
Hi thx :)

Actually I am using a 64gb sd and is already formatted on fat32, but if I move the installed channels on it, I am not ableto launch them both from vwii menu and wiiflow
That's probably because you don't have enough space on the internal memory. Try making more space on there. When loading a game from SD card, the wii temporary stores the game on the internal storage in order to play.

Example is Sonic 3 is 100MB and Sonic 2 is 50MB. If your wii has 75MB free, you can load sonic 2 from SD because it's 50MB but not sonic 3 cause is 100MB. The file size is over the free space. You need to make the internal storage more free. If it was 125MB, then you can load sonic 3.

The game loads on to the internal storage. If you play sonic 2, the system will use 50MB to play sonic 2 from the SD Card. When you select a new game, it will clear the 50MB the previous game used and load the new game on there. Since the file size depends on the game, you need to always make sure your internal storage has enough space free to play the games off the SD card. Hope that makes sense. :ninja:
 

Tackskull

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,375
Country
France
That's probably because you don't have enough space on the internal memory. Try making more space on there. When loading a game from SD card, the wii temporary stores the game on the internal storage in order to play.

Example is Sonic 3 is 100MB and Sonic 2 is 50MB. If your wii has 75MB free, you can load sonic 2 from SD because it's 50MB but not sonic 3 cause is 100MB. The file size is over the free space. You need to make the internal storage more free. If it was 125MB, then you can load sonic 3.

The game loads on to the internal storage. If you play sonic 2, the system will use 50MB to play sonic 2 from the SD Card. When you select a new game, it will clear the 50MB the previous game used and load the new game on there. Since the file size depends on the game, you need to always make sure your internal storage has enough space free to play the games off the SD card. Hope that makes sense. :ninja:

Thanks again, but actually how can I let wiiflow to see the channels moved on the sd card?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Darkness is my friend, I become invisible in the night.
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Best camouflaged
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I fear not the dark... the darkness fears me... lol
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    shoot, i'll send you a friend request ig
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This Facebook?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Playing pool alone is pretty boring...wifey out of town tonight. Prob over at K3nv2's house again.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    She tried thank god for ring
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you know they made black chalk, i had no idea but luckily my man gave me some for free, cause my felt is black.
    2eb22a39-4fda-4594-8b11-da4942b24075_1500x1500.jpeg
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Race
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Hiya
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    oh dear. making codes for nes is kinda stressful. i'm trying to think of cool ideas that haven't been thought of before. it's hard to be original, and i don't wanna make codes that already exist!
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    I may make a post asking for code ideas, and hopefully that would make others happy :)
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Also, my ADHD keeps me from sleeping, and It bothers me lol
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Anywho, I've been using my modded Wii to play a few games here and there, and finally installed a custom Wii theme thanks to Larsenv helping me in a call (I have a family edition, and I don't wanna brick the nand since I can't restore it) Went with the basic "Black" Theme, since I'm a huge fan of dark themes, and it's less of an eyesore at night
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Larsen also helped me with my Dazzle setup, since the drivers for my model weren't online. I also helped dump that DVD with it, since I had a DVD drive.
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    And now pinnacle studio received a new update, and reset my my KEY, and he's trying to figure out why it did that.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    good morning
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    today is a pretty damn nice day, and it's saturday
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Good moaning.
  • refrop @ refrop:
    what
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What.
    Veho @ Veho: What.