1. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    From what I know there isn't. You're going to have to do backups with a USB loader. Personally I found the benefits (faster load times, no more disc burning, no more ejecting and putting in discs, cool USB loader interfaces) are worth the cost.
     
  2. charlieg

    charlieg GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Canada
    which USB loader is easier to use between USB Loader GX and Wii Flow ? i want a channel to open the app and i want covers (by the way where can i found cover to put in the app?) how does it works ? i don't know much about USB Loader since i always did Disc loader wii hack ..
     
  3. wiihacker3000

    wiihacker3000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    usb loader gx is the best
     
  4. charlieg

    charlieg GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Canada
    okay but, i saw on the usb loader site that we can't put the images for covers directly on HDD ? is there any solution for that now ? i can't let my SD Card in it because it is not my wii so i got to remove it and just let the HDD on this wii ..

    Thank You
     
  5. yondaiime

    yondaiime Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did the disk upload change my firmware?? Like, if I do tales of graces update, my firmware will change from 3.1j to 4.2j??
     
  6. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    what usb loader site is that? i have all my covers in the fat partition of my hdd and not in my sd.
     
  7. charlieg

    charlieg GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Canada
    i found it on a french site then if you tell me that i can do it on the HDD then it's okay

    Thank You
     
  8. brendanefro

    brendanefro Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Thx for you help Razorback 78 but im still a bit unsure

    Yes i do


    But really the main thing i want to do is play new games from a USB loader like new super mario bros and wii sports resort. I want to update the CIOS so i can play these but when i use the CIOS installer it just exists back to the HBC half way through. Also why don't i have IOS36
     
  9. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    you are 3.1 which uses ios30, but i am not much familiar with ios history. all i know is that ios36 is used by programs like ssbb and mario kart if i am not mistaken. you could verify what are the ios in your wii using an app called signcheck.

    to run those games just update your cios249 to the latest rev17. though wii sports resort needs the system menu 4.1 for it to run. anyways, you use usb backup loading that is why you don't even need to update your wii system menu to run those games. update only your cios. since you have a cios249, why don't you run the cios installer using it for you to be updated?

    in case you want to update to 4.1 and redo everything starting from trucha bug restore, you could use this guide then: http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/trucha

    good luck.

    edit: btw, you stated that the guide you are using wants you to use patched ios36 to run a cios installer. this is true, but only for those who doesn't have a cios installed yet in their wiis. in your case, you do not even need a patched ios36 to run a cios installer because you already have a cios249. you could use cios249 to run any installer.
     
  10. brendanefro

    brendanefro Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    I did use that guide but i get stuck were it says
    [​IMG]
    Because i dont have an IOS36
     
  11. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    ok i understand. instead of dop-ios mod use Trucha Bug Restorer 1.11 from here: http://filetrip.net/f9333-Trucha-Bug-Restorer-1-11.html.

    you will need to download using NUS Downloader the ff: ios15v257; ios15v523; and ios36v3351 and pack wads for each ios. place the wads of each ios to the root of the sd card.

    after preparing this files do the instructions stated here: http://completesg.freeforums.org/for-peopl...and-c-t130.html. after accomplishing this, you could use patched ios36 to install cios in your wii.

    hope this solves your issue.
     
  12. brendanefro

    brendanefro Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ok i tried it but see the step on the link you gave me that says "Leave the option at IOS36 and press B (no IOS reload)" i dont have that opn in TBR either and half way through it closes and goes back to the HBC as well
     
  13. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    then why not use wad manager to install ios36 wad that you had downloaded through NUSD, then do the steps.

    btw, could you please post the signcheck csv file of your wii so that we can see what ios and cios you have?
     
  14. mayonaze

    mayonaze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so i recently had my wii soft modded. So i have backed up my games on my hard drive usb loader. I guess i just dont know how to use the system real well. How do i launch the home brew browser to browse apps. And well how do i download them/ download games to my wii?
     
  15. Trace_hunter

    Trace_hunter GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Country:

    you need to install the homebrew channel, there are a million tuts over the internet, google is your friend.
     
  16. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,451
    Country:
    United States
    with the cISO v14 fix on from cisocorp
    NSMBW should work fine now from a disc?
    its scrubbed and has the patch installed already
     
  17. wingw

    wingw Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I recently installed cioscorp 3.6, and it doesnt seem to work. Can I remove it by restoring my nand backup?
     
  18. merbow

    merbow Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Issue: Some Homebrew applications don't seem to like my usb drive

    Symptoms: Wad manager 1.5 gives me an error= ret1 when trying to read wads off the drive
    Mymenuify says there is an error reading files off the selected drive
    mplayer_ce says it cannot find the folder (the folder is clearly in W:/apps/mplayer_ce)

    Notes:
    I know that wad manager WILL run off my sd card.
    I am trying to run these apps WITHOUT an sd card in the slot
    USB drive: 1TB Verbatim, one partition formatted to fat32 via gparted
    Have tried reformatting, same issue.
    Programs such as usb configurable loader and homebrew browser run fine

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, id rather not have to switch back and forth between running homebrew apps off my usb drive and sd card

    Thank you
     
  19. wimu

    wimu Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    Peru
    A newbie question is Wiiflow incompatible with menu4.2u? i make a 3Gbpartition on HD to store config,images and apps everything works except for Wiiflow when i tried to load it with a forwadder channel that load from USB, it just give code dumps but fine if load fine from HBC?
     
  20. Gagarin

    Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    I have a problem.
    My Wii is modchipped and I use a USBLoader. I love it. However, about 1 year ago I dropped a ball with keeping it up to date and everything.
    Recently I bought Wii Motion+ and I try to run the game (PAL) on my NTSC 4.1U system and it does not work. Neither Disc or USBLoader.
    Same thing with New Super Mario Bros. Game works with USBLoader, but I can't run it from the disc.
    What do I need to install to have up to date Wii?
    Is it in one package?
    Is there a software to tell me what what cioses I have and what needs to be updates?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,