1. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    JGSHEW, KIDMods, Megadriver94 and 7 others like this.
  2. 20clarky08

    20clarky08 Official Wii Freak
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Country:
    well done lad...qualty thread am sure a few of the long termers will drop in an help out if everything stays in here.
     
    SilverRobo likes this.
  3. Phratt

    Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking of doing something like this but im WAY too lazy. great job!
     
    Yan3 likes this.
  4. drmarvin

    drmarvin GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    Canada
    I like hwat you have done for the new people. I'll try to help out if I can.
     
  5. ether2802

    ether2802 we have the techno...!!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349
    Country:
    Mexico
    Shit you are really working on this man, I'll help you out but we need to create like a form to fill for posting questions, that way it'll be more easy for everyone to find their problem in others post, something like:


    My Wii is 3.2U (so now we know 2 things in one little number of information)
    I was on 3.4U but I've done the Oct23rd FIX and used the cIOS and IOS Downgraders
    I installed the cIOS36_r7 installer from Waninkoko thru the Wi-Fi method
    I'm using the Backup Launcher 002 fix in HBC (.dol version)

    Problem:
    I "bought" PIKMIN last night and today tryed to launch it but only gave me a black screen, I burnt with NERO6 at 16X in Sony DiscID: D21 DVD+R, I have many games working with this DVD's working flawlessly, what did I do wrong...?? please help cause I am a n00b and other question, can you please post a picture of where the search button is please, everybody is telling me to use it, but I haven't been able to find it, thanks in advance...!!! [​IMG]



    Something like that, huh..?? what do you say..?? [​IMG]
     
  6. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds great. I'll add it to the OP.
     
    Megadriver94 likes this.
  7. zeldafn333

    zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    I'm glad to see this was made, however if people are arrogant enough to not read the stickied *****************READ HERE******************* threads, I doubt they'll look all the way down the page to see this.
     
  8. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    I had to try, plus, now instead of just screaming READ and SEARCH at the people they can be directed here for further noobish questions, thereby easing some of the congestion in the other threads.
     
  9. zeldafn333

    zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, this definitely should help as a reference thread for people here.
     
  10. esoterica

    esoterica GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    I successfully installed the Homebrew channel on my Wii (3.4U) last night and currently in the process of getting some VC games on there. How do you play Gamecube games on there that you don't have on disk? Do you need to burn it or can you just load it somehow?
     
  11. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately there is not a way to play backup GC games on the Wii yet, without a mod chip.

    If you have a powerful PC with a processor that supports SSE2, you may want to look into the Dolphin emulator for your PC however, that thing is pretty cool

    (GO NOOBS!! First question answered!!!)
     
  12. Phratt

    Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States

    You can't.

    Gamecube loaders haven't been made yet.

    if you want to loader gamcube backups get a modchip as it is the only way.
     
  13. esoterica

    esoterica GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've read about some of the apps and loaders, but I don't know what I can really do with the Homebrew channel. What do most people use it for? I can't get the DVDx thing to install and as of the moment, I can't see much use with the Homebrew channel for myself. Do I need Starfall? When I try to install it, it just hangs and I have to do a hard reset.
     
  14. afif95

    afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Country:
    Malaysia
    A LOT OF STUFFs could be done on HBC.

    Go to Wiibrew.

    If you have DVDx and Starfall failing on you, best of it's because of your firmware. Downgrade it
     
  15. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    I've just been using it to install WAD's (and maybe just maybe I rode the high seas, and my vessel landed in a funky world made of goo).

    I also use it to run the homebrew browser to check out the apps that are out there. There is everything from emulators, to a PROGRAM THAT LETS YOU USE YOUR WIIMOTE AS A LEVEL, HOW FUCKING CLEVER IS THAT!!

    If you NEED starfall or not depends highly on what you are trying to accoplish.
     
  16. Ga1l0w

    Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    PRETTY FUCKING CLEVER!
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. DJPlace

    DJPlace the hater of something i can't recall.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,109
    Country:
    United States
    pretty good topic now a semi-noob like me can ask questions. this should be not stickedy or not it's up to mods or admins.
     
  18. Furter

    Furter Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    My Wii is 3.2E
    I was on 3.3E
    I have put HBC on and followed EoC downgrade tut( with the ios51 shop channel fix as well)
    Im using the Backup Launcher With 002 fix as a channel

    My Question are
    1. Is there a list of all the original ios that should be on my system when i brought it? i.e. what ios should be with firmware 3.3E
    2. I'm i correct in thinking that the only ios that is extra is ios 249 the others can be put back to original if they are modified with an upgrade with ios downgrader


    Thanks in advance

    P.S Great Thread
     
  19. richglix

    OP richglix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    The way that I understand it is...

    1. Any Region Changer will write your IOS files back to the originals. I don't think IOS downgrader does the trick. I'm not sure if there is a list of the ones that "should" be there. I would check wii brew. I also know that if you google it, there are some torrents available that claim to contain the "original" IOS file packages.

    2. Yes, IOS 249 is installed from scene stuff, and is extra. I think you need it for the gamma channel.
     
  20. OSW

    OSW Wii King
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793
    Country:
    Pretty good topic dude! I'll sticky this for now, even though we seem to have a bit of redundancy in the topic stickies, an "Ask your noob questions here" type topic is great! Let's just hope that people pay attention and notice this one.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,