NOOB PARADISE - ask away

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by richglix, Jan 26, 2009.

Jan 26, 2009

NOOB PARADISE - ask away by richglix at 11:58 PM (689,537 Views / 4 Likes) 12,355 replies

  1. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States


  2. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well done lad...qualty thread am sure a few of the long termers will drop in an help out if everything stays in here.
     
  3. Phratt

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking of doing something like this but im WAY too lazy. great job!
     
  4. drmarvin

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I like hwat you have done for the new people. I'll try to help out if I can.
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Shit you are really working on this man, I'll help you out but we need to create like a form to fill for posting questions, that way it'll be more easy for everyone to find their problem in others post, something like:


    My Wii is 3.2U (so now we know 2 things in one little number of information)
    I was on 3.4U but I've done the Oct23rd FIX and used the cIOS and IOS Downgraders
    I installed the cIOS36_r7 installer from Waninkoko thru the Wi-Fi method
    I'm using the Backup Launcher 002 fix in HBC (.dol version)

    Problem:
    I "bought" PIKMIN last night and today tryed to launch it but only gave me a black screen, I burnt with NERO6 at 16X in Sony DiscID: D21 DVD+R, I have many games working with this DVD's working flawlessly, what did I do wrong...?? please help cause I am a n00b and other question, can you please post a picture of where the search button is please, everybody is telling me to use it, but I haven't been able to find it, thanks in advance...!!! [​IMG]



    Something like that, huh..?? what do you say..?? [​IMG]
     
    calmwaters likes this.
  6. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds great. I'll add it to the OP.
     
  7. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    I'm glad to see this was made, however if people are arrogant enough to not read the stickied *****************READ HERE******************* threads, I doubt they'll look all the way down the page to see this.
     
  8. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    I had to try, plus, now instead of just screaming READ and SEARCH at the people they can be directed here for further noobish questions, thereby easing some of the congestion in the other threads.
     
  9. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, this definitely should help as a reference thread for people here.
     
  10. esoterica

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    I successfully installed the Homebrew channel on my Wii (3.4U) last night and currently in the process of getting some VC games on there. How do you play Gamecube games on there that you don't have on disk? Do you need to burn it or can you just load it somehow?
     
  11. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately there is not a way to play backup GC games on the Wii yet, without a mod chip.

    If you have a powerful PC with a processor that supports SSE2, you may want to look into the Dolphin emulator for your PC however, that thing is pretty cool

    (GO NOOBS!! First question answered!!!)
     
  12. Phratt

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States

    You can't.

    Gamecube loaders haven't been made yet.

    if you want to loader gamcube backups get a modchip as it is the only way.
     
  13. esoterica

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've read about some of the apps and loaders, but I don't know what I can really do with the Homebrew channel. What do most people use it for? I can't get the DVDx thing to install and as of the moment, I can't see much use with the Homebrew channel for myself. Do I need Starfall? When I try to install it, it just hangs and I have to do a hard reset.
     
  14. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    A LOT OF STUFFs could be done on HBC.

    Go to Wiibrew.

    If you have DVDx and Starfall failing on you, best of it's because of your firmware. Downgrade it
     
  15. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    I've just been using it to install WAD's (and maybe just maybe I rode the high seas, and my vessel landed in a funky world made of goo).

    I also use it to run the homebrew browser to check out the apps that are out there. There is everything from emulators, to a PROGRAM THAT LETS YOU USE YOUR WIIMOTE AS A LEVEL, HOW FUCKING CLEVER IS THAT!!

    If you NEED starfall or not depends highly on what you are trying to accoplish.
     
  16. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    PRETTY FUCKING CLEVER!
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace BREAKING NEWS!! i don't give a ****!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,240
    Country:
    United States
    pretty good topic now a semi-noob like me can ask questions. this should be not stickedy or not it's up to mods or admins.
     
  18. Furter

    Newcomer Furter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Wii is 3.2E
    I was on 3.3E
    I have put HBC on and followed EoC downgrade tut( with the ios51 shop channel fix as well)
    Im using the Backup Launcher With 002 fix as a channel

    My Question are
    1. Is there a list of all the original ios that should be on my system when i brought it? i.e. what ios should be with firmware 3.3E
    2. I'm i correct in thinking that the only ios that is extra is ios 249 the others can be put back to original if they are modified with an upgrade with ios downgrader


    Thanks in advance

    P.S Great Thread
     
  19. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    The way that I understand it is...

    1. Any Region Changer will write your IOS files back to the originals. I don't think IOS downgrader does the trick. I'm not sure if there is a list of the ones that "should" be there. I would check wii brew. I also know that if you google it, there are some torrents available that claim to contain the "original" IOS file packages.

    2. Yes, IOS 249 is installed from scene stuff, and is extra. I think you need it for the gamma channel.
     
  20. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,798
    Country:
    Australia
    Pretty good topic dude! I'll sticky this for now, even though we seem to have a bit of redundancy in the topic stickies, an "Ask your noob questions here" type topic is great! Let's just hope that people pay attention and notice this one.
     

Share This Page