Hacking Noob needs help figuring out what modchip to use on Wii

kangarookangaroo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
wiiserial2.jpg

So yah, I am a complete noob and that's my results from wiidrives.com. Can someone give me a link to what chip will work on my Wii? I heard ozmodchips and modchipcentral are good sites but there are so many modchips there that I have no idea which one would work on mine. I don't want to do any soldering or anything so I would like to order my chip with the wiiclip thing and the triwing screwdriver. Some links to where I can buy the right modchip for my Wii would be appreciated^^ Thanks.

Slowking

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Edit: Sure that it was the full number this time? The result still seems strange...
Did you type it up to the letter at the end, or have you left something out?
Btw. I don't know if wiidrives has enough data allready. Try using the Wii serial tracker.

kangarookangaroo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
wow that looks confusing. why is there a port to connect to the PC? i gotta search some more stuff about this before i get it. btw, what about all those wiikey w/wiiclip that everyone else has? won't that work on my wii?

nvm, i guess this IS the wiikey thing? but i m still trieng to figure out what the pc port thing is for...

Slowking

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Well it's because the Chip inside this Clip is blank and you would have to program it. But YAOSM (the code that you would program on it) is the best there is for D2Bs and it's really not that hard to do...
You can find more infos about it here: http://wiinewz.com/forums/yaosm/
here is a tut how to program it (except that you won't have to build a programmer, as it is allready includet in the Free Clip package: http://wiinewz.com/forums/yaosm/66819-yaosm-scratch.html / and that the PIC inside the Clip is a 12F683, so you would have to chose that one from the pulldown menu.)

Edit: Nope it's not the Wiikey thing, it's better.
biggrin.gif