No GBA support, right?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by synce, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009

No GBA support, right? by synce at 5:12 PM (1,119 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. synce
    OP

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    It's ironic that I have to play my GBA backups on the PSP instead of the DS... Is there any way to get them working on a Lite with an Acekard 2i?
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, if you have a slot-2 expansion.
     
  3. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    DSi requires a flashcart that can run a GBA emulator; I think only the CycloDS can do this and be supported officially.
    With a DS/DSL, I don't know if the cyclo can do it since the more powerful DSI hardware can't be used, but usually you can use a slot 2 GBA compatible flash device and the acekard can function as a passme to it. (not like you would need a passme or a flashed DS for GBA flashcarts anyway; only DS mode with a slot-2 requires such a thing). I don't know about the EZ 3 in 1; I still use my G6 lite for GBA.

    But no, the acekard can't do GBA games by itself.
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    please stop posting. you are throwing around all types of terms that don't gel together.

    how can you use a slot2 device on the dsi?
    why would you use the slot2 in "pass-me" mode to run a gba game?

    the iplayer can run a gba emu from the slot1 because it has a small onboard cpu. if you are using a dsi that is your only choice right now. wait until the people behind the working dsi flash linker announce it, until then stick to pc emulation or get a phat/lite and a gba flash linker (or a 3in1).

    -another world
     
  5. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it's NOT ironic that your PSP can emulate GBA games and the DS can't by itself.
    One system is much more powerful than the other.

    A lot of people get confused about this, but the DS Lite has native GBA support, there's no emulation involved.
     
  6. synce
    OP

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I'm asking about the Lite itself (never cared for the DSi)... But I guess it's still impossible without a slot 2 card. Thanks for clearing it up
     
  7. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you get an iPlayer...Correct.
     
  8. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use an Acekard 2i and a EZflash 3in1 Slot 2 card, perfect GBA - the Acekard autocopies the GBA to the 3in1 to play then autocopies the save file back when you next switch on.
     
  9. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Why are you insulting me?
    I'm trying to help people. Isn't that what a forum is all about?
    And nowhere did I say that a DSi has a slot 2, did I? -.-

    I was explaining some things about what the Acekard can and can not do. And you're right, it was the iplayer that can use GBA emulation; I didn't remember at the time. Instead of insulting me, you could have simply pointed that out instead of a "stop posting".

    Maybe I'll go hide in a cave now away from humanity and wipe myself from the gene pool [​IMG]
    Sorry, ok?

    I'm not a perfect individual...at least I try to help people without coming on and cussing and saying other rude things like some people like to do here. BTW, I'm age 38. And there are people here who are a LOT worse than I am.
     
  10. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Country:
    United States
    Falkentyne, you posted this sentence in an unclear way, resulting in other users misunderstanding you.

    To everyone else:
    -The iPlayer is a GBA Emulator, using the onboard CPU to run faster.
    -On the DS(L), it is run as if in the GBA, because of the ARM7 and plenty of RAM; no emulation involved. All that slot 2 solutions do it A. Copy the GBA into RAM that the DS thinks is a legit GBA game, or B. flashes the game to on-board flash chip so that the DS thinks it is a legit game.
     
  11. AC/DS

    Member AC/DS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Advantages of playing GBA games on the PSP as opposed to the DS, IMHO:

    - Bigger display, better resolution (some games look even better on the PSP display than originals, when properly scaled
    - Better controls. The DS has no joystick -- I know the PSP's analogue nub is not ideal, but I've found it to be better than just using the DS's d-pad IN CERTAIN GAMES
    - Quicksaves (save states) are as easy as a pie on the PSP, in my experience. I've had problems with certain GBA save states not working after rebooting the Acekard.

    I was using the Acekard 2 + EZ Flash 3in1 combo, by the way. So in conclusion, I'd recommend using your PSP to play GBA backups, if one has that option.
     

Share This Page