Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 7,406,264 40,985 163

  1. Moodymay

    Moodymay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Then how come it's not working anymore?!! believe me I'm just as baffled as you are.. even though i played multiple games using the adapter without launching nintendont.....


    i think i have a tool like that HID-VPAD but when i open it it shows me a bunch of controllers not connected?
     
  2. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    if you played GC games on wiiu you always used nitnendont lol, nintendont is the only way to run those games, just becuase the games autobooted and skipped the nintendont menu, you were still using nintendont.

    the adapter has to work on smash wiiu first, if it doesnt it wont work on nintendont for sure, nintendont is a wii app so it makes no changes at all on the wiiu mode, so if your adapter doesnt work on wiiu super smash brothers means your doing something wierd.

    are you for sure connecting both usb ports? maybe one usb port is damaged and its not providing enough usb power? tryed switching it to back or front? since anything goes really.

    You need first to make it work on smash wiiu then nintendont, also if you go to the real vwii mode and launch nintendont through the homebrew channel there does the adapter work there?
     
  3. Moodymay

    Moodymay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    hello pedro,

    i will try your suggestion and try to make the adapter work within smash and i will let you know once it works.

    thanks
     
  4. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    you could just buy an official adapter tough they were like 20$ new.
     
  5. Moodymay

    Moodymay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    the weird thing is that I've tried the GC adapter with dolphin emulator via PC and its working with no issue so the problem must be from the WII U i might have mapped something or played with something in the settings i shouldn't have had....

    so im confused tbh XD
     
    Last edited by Moodymay, Oct 10, 2020
  6. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    a pc emulator is not something to get any remards, pc emulators have lods of controller codes and such, they dont run the native code for controllers of those consoles they just emulate them, so yeah of course any controller works on dolphin, even ones that would never work on wii/wiiu becuase its an emulator, not real hardware.
     
  7. Moodymay

    Moodymay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    oh ok noted.
     
  8. tedwards75

    tedwards75 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone here injected Pokémon Channel into their modded Wii U? For some reason, anytime I make an inject for that game and load it up, the game has a weird “pokeball” themed border on the screen. Shows up for every version I have downloaded, even the PAL versions. I can’t find any info on it online. Anyone have a clean copy that doesn’t have the border?
     
  9. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    what do you mean by border? a picture would be nice, also a picture of your nintendont settings and the md5 of your iso.
     
  10. tedwards75

    tedwards75 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    Here’s some pics of it. Very strange. A4A8D55D-0A23-4478-A30E-9EA2475E2D04.jpeg A7251A00-4E82-4C67-B653-B28F47D5FFE0.jpeg
    And here is a pic of my current Nintendont settings:
    43213B4D-6B79-47E4-A754-21C68027431B.jpeg
    I tried Pokémon Channel ISO’s from like three different rom websites (the most popular ones). This is the USA rom in the pics. When I tried re-injecting with a PAL ISO of the game, it brings up the Pokeball border as well but the screen is all glitchy.
     
  11. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    its becuase you are forcing widescreen

    try turning off
    force widescreen

    you are seeing what was never meant to see because the game was no designed with widescreen in mind so if you use the regular 4:3 you wont see the pokeballs

    here is a 4:3 picture, see where the screen cuts out compared to yours? so your seeing what the devs never meant you too see by forcing widescreen.turn it off and your good.
    Nova Imagem de Bitmap.jpg
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by pedro702, Oct 17, 2020
    tedwards75 likes this.
  12. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    as a follow up i noticed ralph on gc forever website made a widescreen gecko code for the PAl version of pokemon channel

    How to set up

    Download the zip file bellow, extract the gct and place it in the same folder of the iso file, so you have both the game.iso and this gct on the same folder of your sd card.

    second on the nintendont settings
    turn force widescreen to OFF
    turn cheats to ON
    leave wiiu widescreen ON tough


    3- if you said your screen had glitches with the pal version is because your tv might not like pal signals, so try forcing videomode to ntsc(not sure if it works, some games dont like being forced) and or maybe try turning force progressive to OFF if the abode doesnt work.
     

    Attached Files:

    tedwards75 likes this.
  13. tedwards75

    tedwards75 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh okay. As it turns out, simply turning the “Force Widescreen” option OFF and leaving “Wii U Widescreen” ON enabled me to load up Pokémon Channel in full widescreen Progressive Scan without the Pokeball bordering. I guess having both those options on at the same time is pointless anyway. Thankfully no need to use the cheat!
    7006CB9F-112E-45AC-AFBE-516C7F6E2BDE.jpeg
    Thanks for taking the time to help me with this small issue!
     
    Last edited by tedwards75, Oct 17, 2020
  14. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    that is not true widescreen, its just stretched 4:3 so if you dont mind stretch 4:3 then go for it, but if you want correct 16:9 widescreen you need pal version and the cheat.
     
  15. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    Japan
    How can i have 4:3 picture in Nintendont (with black bars on the side, not streched) on my
    Wide Screen TV, without using TV it self to set it to 4:3.

    I ask since i play Wii and GC games on Nintendo Wii via WiiFlow,
    and since i play all my Wii games in 16:9 aspect ratio, it's a drag to always
    set TV picture back to 4:3 by grabbing my remote, go through menu, switching 4:3, exit the menu
    and back to 16:9 again when i exit GC game to browse WiiFlow or to play a Wii game.
     
  16. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    if you were on wiiu then you could change the wiiu widescreen setting, if you are on wii then you need to go to wii settings on the menu and choose 4:3, there isnt much to be done here tbh but there are alot of gc games with widescreen and you can use force widescreen to get most games in widescreen so i dont know why you would want every single gc game in 4:3 only tbh.
     
  17. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    Japan
    I'm using the Wii.

    That's not what i want to do.
    I actually want GC games to be as originally intended, in 4:3 not 16:9.
    As for Wii menu/Games i want them to be 16:9 by default, again, as intended.

    So if i change Wii settings to 4:3 than i wouldnt be able to play Wii games in 16:9.

    All i need is to be able to load GC games in Nintendont with black bars added to the side, just like WiiU can do.
    Because 4:3 is native aspect ratio of 95% of GC games, just as 95% of Wii games is 16:9.
    I just want to play them as intended.

    I mean its just a convenience feature. I mean can still juggle my TV settings back and forth,
    get off the couch, click TV buttons, scroll wall of menus, enter menu, select 4:3, exit menu, go back to couch...
    When i get out of the game do the same but to 16:9 xD

    but it gets boring over time tbh... :rolleyes:


    So if any Nintendont developers are reading this,
    Please add letterbox function on Widescreen TV's to Wii app if you want (i know i do). :blush:
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Oct 19, 2020
  18. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,306
    Country:
    Portugal
    most people just prefer to force widescreen and see more of the game xD, also the only developer of nintendont Fix94 kinda stopped working on nintendont over a year or so ago and not even fixed the bugs that are on the final released version, so dont expect anything to be made really.
     
  19. Vague Rant

    Vague Rant Deceptively cute
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299
    Country:
    If this was possible, it would make your games look like absolute trash. Unlike the Wii U, the Wii's native aspect ratio is 4:3 and it uses anamorphic widescreen to display 16:9 content in the 4:3 area. Then the TV or monitor is in charge of correcting back to the intended 16:9 display.

    People sometimes describe this as being "fake" widescreen, which, not really, it's still widescreen, but you're not gaining any additional resolution when you run the Wii in widescreen, which is what people actually mean.

    Because this is how the Wii works, you can't "add" black pillars to the sides of the image, but rather you have to subtract from the total (4:3) resolution in order to black out the edges. You'd be losing a full quarter of the image resolution just to display empty black bars.

    This isn't a problem on the Wii U because the Wii U is essentially taking over the job of your TV and adjusting the image scaling between 16:9 and 4:3. It's not so much "adding" black bars as it is not stretching the 4:3 image out to 16:9.
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  20. kingjinxy2

    kingjinxy2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    From what I've read of the issue on GitHub, this is simply a limitation of Nintendont.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,