Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 7,571,695 41,168 167

  1. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    afaik you got the forced videomodes of forced ntsc and forced ntsc with deflicker, afaik solo forced ntsc withtout deflicker is the best you get imo.
     
  2. shinichi999

    shinichi999 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Chile
    I have a problem with Nintendont that is driving me crazy, so I really hope someone can help me!

    I'm trying to play my Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire on the TV using the Pokémon Box game. Both my Pokémon Box ISO and the original GBA game are in Spanish. I'm using the official GBA-GCN link cable in a backward compatible Wii and I have the last version of Nintendont (6.489). I can check my Pokémon and items of my GBA game in the box, but if I select the "adventure mode" to play it on the TV, then the game stucks at the boot screen:

    [​IMG]

    I tried EVERYTHING (using another cable, using another version of Nintendont and even burning the ISO in a real DVD but nothing works!).

    The native control option is ON.

    I googled this problem around all the internet and I found out that lot of people are having the exact same issue but I couldn't find any real solution.

    Please, I will REALLY appreciate if someone can help me with this!
     
    Last edited by shinichi999, Nov 7, 2020
  3. kingjinxy2

    kingjinxy2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I can't help you right now, but if no one else does, I will try to test this sometime around November 25.
     
    shinichi999 likes this.
  4. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    afaik i think pokemon box got broken along the way, i dont have ruby or saphire to test so just to confirm, could you try using this old dols and see if they worked back then?

    first this is very very old nintendont its jsut for a matter of confirming it ever worked before if you can try and test.

    1- delete your current ninconfig file from root of usb/sd whenever it is then download this version
    2- download this https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont...69f0b49de72980a0f6/loader/loader.dol?raw=true its version 363 download it and rename it to boot.dol and try like abode and try setting native to on and try the adventure mode.

    if it works or even if not then try this one
    3- https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont...4404e439853fb2764c/loader/loader.dol?raw=true its 364 just download and rename it to boot.dol and replace the current nintendont boot.dol and try like abode.

    let me know if it even worked on this old version, im guessing it was broken by exiting out of an exception list or entering its a matter of trying to see when.
     
    Last edited by pedro702, Nov 7, 2020
    shinichi999 likes this.
  5. shinichi999

    shinichi999 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Chile
    I tried both of them but now I can't even see the games in ISO. I tried putting them in the root folder of the SD but I still can't see them. Do they use another path or extension?

    EDIT 2: Ok I figured out the old path and I launched the game. Same result with both files, the game is stucked at the Gameboy logo (same image of my previous post). I think I'm done with this :cry:

    Any other piece of advice?
     
    Last edited by shinichi999, Nov 8, 2020
  6. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    just try this one its 313 https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont...7896a366dce1c3cf98/loader/loader.dol?raw=true if it doesnt work here it might never have worked, its hard to find someone with an original wii+official gctogba link cable+ruby/saphire that atuacly wants to use pokemon box over an emualtor on the wii lol.

    just making sure is your pokemon ruby ntsc or pal? and is pokemon box iso ntsc or pal?

    might be an imcompatibility if pokemon ruby is ntsc and pokemon box pal even if both have spanish imo.
     
    Last edited by pedro702, Nov 8, 2020
  7. shinichi999

    shinichi999 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Chile
    With this version I just get a black screen... this is really frustrating.

    There is not an NTSC version of those games in Spanish (we got the USA version in English).

    Both the ISO and the videogame are PAL (the GBA is not region locked, though).

    I can't even buy the original Gamecube disc to play, since my Wii is NTSC (I'm from Latin America) but I want to play the games in my language (and only PAL versions of those games are in Spanish, since we never got a Latin Spanish translation even until today). But the NTSC version is not compatible with the PAL version (I already tried and it says that I need a game with the same language).

    So I think I have no choice. I tried literally everything but nothing works. Thank you very much anyway for all your help!
     
    Last edited by shinichi999, Nov 8, 2020
  8. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    you can play the games on several gba emulators on the wii and then if you want the save on cartridge you can just inject it it with a wii homebrew app and the gba to gc cable.

    imo your last chance is to use dios mios lite, is basicaly a sorts of mios booter and maybe it works for you there just google it, also why do you really want to play ruby and saphire on the tv? and if you really really need to play it on tv just use a gba emulator on wii, mgba or vbagx or the likes.
     
  9. shinichi999

    shinichi999 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Chile
    I wanted to play it on the TV because my GBA is not backlight and because I'm creating some romhackings and I wanted to test them there too (including making other GBA games compatible).

    I'll try it with dios mios lite, but at this point of time I don't think it will make any difference. Very frustrating.
     
  10. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    you do know no romhacks will work on pokemon box right? the way the pokemon box works is that there is an emulator and the rom inside the iso and it sees your gba cartridge id and just loads the rom internal, there is no rom download from your official gba cartridge only the save file, so it doesnt matter if you made a romhack on your gba the only thing that pokemonbox will read is the savedata(pokemons in box/party only)

    also there are several gba emulators on wii homebrew apps no need to use a gc iso to play the gba games... just use one of many gba emulators on the wii lol.
     
  11. shinichi999

    shinichi999 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Chile
    I just have to inject the hackrom into the ISO and I can play it. Moreover, I like playing the games through official ways and not with emulators. That's the magic for me, and that's why I wanted to fix this problem (especially since I'm not the only one but I still can't find a real solution). I even bought an official GBA-GCN cable just because I was told that this would fix the issue, but clearly was not the case.

    As I can understand, Pokémon Box is not recognizing the ISO (since it only shows the Gameboy logo and not the Nintendo logo).

    Still... I would like to know why this happens and how can I fix it. It's not only because of playing the videogame, but having the feeling that I can enjoy all the features of Pokémon Box without limitations.

    Thanks again dude!
     
  12. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    like i said try dios mios lite, it may work for you since it runs in mios.
     
  13. Mamothstard

    Mamothstard Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    France
    For people having black screen issues on Wii U, read this.

    Made a quick guide in its own thread. Hope that helps.

    It has now been a full year since the latest progress in Nintendont.
    Development has stopped as of now, I tried to reach FIX94 to no avail.
    Hope that this issue will be fixed eventually.
     
    Last edited by Mamothstard, Nov 9, 2020
  14. cimerio

    cimerio Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Brazil
    well, nintendond worked with Sandisk Extreme sdxc V30 64gb.
    however, a lot of games, the original gamecube controller doesn't work.
    it only works in select screen rom.
    after game works, I need use a wii classic controller.
    somebody have seen that?
     
  15. Mamothstard

    Mamothstard Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    France
    what do you mean by "select screen rom"?
    On what console are you running it (wii, wii u)?
    Do you use a forwarder like USB Loader GX or VWii gamecube injections?

    @pedro702 Just saw that you did a merge to add support for a new controller.
    So... about the HID problem. Should we do something about it?
     
    Last edited by Mamothstard, Nov 10, 2020
  16. geoGolem

    geoGolem GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
  17. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    i do have merge privileges and if fix94 doesnt say anything until the end of the November or something im gonna merge/update nintendont to 490 with temporary fix that people made on this thread, just wanting afew days i guess to see if fix will do it himself or if he says something at all.
     
  18. geoGolem

    geoGolem GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    You might also want to merge changes such as https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont/pull/778 so thaet the codebase can be built with more up to date versions of devkitPro. Anybody who does any dev and or wants to build will need those small changes..

    and maybe also publish a release here: https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont/releases so that people can download the necessary pre-built files (boot.dol, meta.xml and icon.png in a zip file or something)

    (maybe even both before and after the merges)...

    EDIT: actually I see these are linked in the github repo readme if I scroll down .... --> but would be nice to have them in the releases section as well if possible. this way older versions of boot.dol etc. will be documented and still available if they are ever needed. Just some suggestions. I don't know what is best going forward..
     
    Last edited by geoGolem, Nov 10, 2020
  19. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,476
    Country:
    Portugal
    every boot.dol is available on github to this day.

    just go to any commit like this https://github.com/FIX94/Nintendont/commit/7be1b6df41f07f39fd8e67dfd8be7b0b68209fc7 which is 486 then scrool down until you see loader.dol and click on the ... then choose view file, then click view Raw and you can download the loader.dol, rename it to boot.dol and thats it.
     
    geoGolem and Mamothstard like this.
  20. Mamothstard

    Mamothstard Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    France
    @geoGolem @pedro702 Oh yeah, I'm aware of the github PR and issues. I'm SubSystemD on GitHub btw ^^

    I think everybody here tried at some point to get in touch with @FIX94. If he wanted to answer I think he'd have done that by now.
    @GaryOderNichts has also done a fork for himself with quite a few changes and fixes.

    I think FIX94 won't mind if we try to fix things.

    Since you have the rights on the original github page, subsequent follow-up is a good thing so the project lives on.
     
    Last edited by Mamothstard, Nov 10, 2020
    geoGolem likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,