Nintendo 3DS RAM revealed

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Zoroark1989, Mar 29, 2011.

Mar 29, 2011

Nintendo 3DS RAM revealed by Zoroark1989 at 9:18 PM (9,768 Views / 0 Likes) 67 replies

  1. Zoroark1989
    OP

    Newcomer Zoroark1989 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States


  2. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    SWEET. So it could definitely handle a GBA emulator (After the hackage), right?
     
  3. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Wow. That's a lot.
    I wonder how much is actually used in the retail systems.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The latest PSP models have 64MB, it's not that much.
     
  5. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it was because it only had 4 MB of RAM which wasn't enough to load a ROM into.
     
  6. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I picked the wrong words.
    It's more than enough. The Wii has less than that.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That was just part of it. It's just terrible all-around for GBA emulation.
     
  8. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    Is that RAM used as storage too though?
     
  9. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No. RAM != storage.
     
  10. RNorthex

    Member RNorthex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    wonderland
    Country:
    Hungary
    the 64 mb was only for the 3000/3004 models
    b4 it used 32mb
    not sure about the clockspeed nor what type of memory it is
    but the 3ds has 4x more, ddr2, faster
    definately worth to mention
     
  11. qdog82

    Member qdog82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    PSP games only used 32 MB Ram, the added 32MB of RAM in the 2000/3000 units was used for umd caching.
     
  12. Zoroark1989
    OP

    Newcomer Zoroark1989 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    So this means the 3DS now has much more RAM than PS2, GC, Xbox, and PSP right? Now all we need is how high is the GPU is clocked at.
     
  13. linkenski

    Member linkenski GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    It's twice as much, not to mention it's half the memory of a PS3. It's more than enough. Now i just hope this makes it good enough to have flash, power consumer or not. If i'd be able to go youtube and facebook with it, i'd scrap all plans to buy an iphone.
     
  14. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    I know, faceface.
    BUT
    "RAM" has been used in portable systems for storage.
     
  15. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    wow the specs are much better then I expected [​IMG]
     
  16. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Not only is that a good amount, but like RNorthex said, it's quite speedy. Quite an advantage there. I'm interested in hearing what the model of the CPU is and the specs behind it (though that may not happen). I know it's ARM-based, but nothing else.

    And yeah, i would hope people wouldn't go to IGN and believe their crap. They always claim to have some sort of "insider source" game developer that gives them specs. And they are almost never right. Remember when they were spreading around the rumors about Tegra? Or that the 3DS was more powerful than a PS3? [​IMG]
     
  17. Warrior522

    Member Warrior522 "In all things, balance."

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    83

    SOOOOO...

    64 emmy likely?
     
  18. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    More than I was expecting, my guess was 64MB - it got twice that!

    As i'm obviously useless at guessing, my next guesstimate is... ARM Cortex A8 processor, and i only say that as it's what my phone has [​IMG] (now please turn out to be something twice as good as that [​IMG])
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    We're waiting on CPU details.
     
  20. Warrior522

    Member Warrior522 "In all things, balance."

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    Sw33t. Definately keeping an eye on this board then...
     

Share This Page