Newbie and need help getting started

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Beamer3131, Jun 9, 2009.

Jun 9, 2009
  1. Beamer3131
    OP

Newcomer Beamer3131 Newbie

Canada
    Hello,

I am very new at this and need some help as I seem to be stuck!

So I'll first let you know what I've done up to this point. I have version 4.0 of the Wii software, and a 1 GB Kingston Mini SD card. I do not have a USB drive, I only intend on running apps through the card and discs.

1. I have Homebrew running on my Wii, I used Bootmii and Bannerbomb to get it going. Everything seemed to be going ok...I got the message for DVDx and that as well, I clicked ok to that..everything went smooth. Homebrew now appears on my wii as it's own channel.

2. I tried adding an app after creating an apps folder on my storage card. But Homebrew doesn't seem to recognize anything I put on my card. All I get is the bubbles and the 2 icons at the bottom right of the screen.

3. The Wii will still not play any dvd I put in. Is DVDX working or do I need to install it seperatley?

Ok...so...what do I need to do to get apps to run? Is it ok to re-format my card now and start over? Do I need to keep anything on there that relates to Homebrew or anything else now?

How do I get my Wii to read DVD's, etc?

How do I add apps to the memory card?

What software besides Imagburn do I need to run in order to "back-up" Wii discs and what do I need to do to get them to run on my wii?

Any help is appreciated! Thank you.

2. tj_cool

Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

Belgium
    in the apps folder you can create another folder for every app. In these folders the apps have to be placed as BOOT.dol.
    Example: SD:/apps/mediaplayer/boot.dol

To play your dvds use MplayerCE (see wiibrew.org)
    To run backups, you need to install a cIOS and then use a backup launcher
    To create backups, use the DVD dumper, or a USB loader

3. Beamer3131
    OP

Newcomer Beamer3131 Newbie

Canada