New to wii mods

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by W.I.C.K.E.D., Mar 1, 2012.

Mar 1, 2012

New to wii mods by W.I.C.K.E.D. at 3:55 AM (777 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a black wii, for like $69 at a pawn store today. I don't know much about these as far as loaders, but I wanted some opinions or recommendations if possible. I believe its on 4.3u, and I don't know what options I have. I would like to use an external drive for games if possible, but I'm open to alternatives if that is not possible. Any recommendations by fellow tempers, or a good place for me to start? Thanks in advance
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Using an external USB drive will work, and it's the best way to go. Just use ModMii and follow its instructions.
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,538
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep, if you would like to play gamecube you will need to use DML since new wiis cant play gamecube games on normal disc way anymore, nintendo removed it from the dvd drive for some reason.
     
  4. megazig

    Member megazig SU

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    GC controllers?
     
  5. The-Magician

    Newcomer The-Magician Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    For GC games yes!
     
  6. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So I got everything installed. What format should I make the hdd, and what file format should the backup files be? After that, I believe I'm done...hopefully.
     
  7. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    FAT32 is generally the best.
    Use Wii Backup Manager to put your games on the HDD.
     
  8. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I ran into a new obstacle. I purchased two black plus remotes today, and testing the first I had an issue. When conf usb loads the remote just shuts off, and then I can't do anything. I tried an off brand without + and it worked fine. Is there an update or something I should or could do to fix this?
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,412
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The new Wiimote+ require the updated library when creating the homebrew.
    Some Homebrew (USBloader for example) are still using the old libraries without the support of the new Wiimotes.

    You can compile the homebrew with the newer library or ask someone to do it if you don't know how.

    OR, you can use any wiimote in the USBloader, and once in the game then swapp the wiimote by using the Home Menu > Re-order the wiimotes.
     
  10. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    megazig's point was that DML won't be much use on the new Wii's without GC compatibility because you can't connect GC controllers, so FIX94's advice wasn't great. (It may be possible to connect GC controllers, but only if you solder on ports to the motherboard, which is beyond most users capabilities.)
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. W.I.C.K.E.D.
    OP

    Member W.I.C.K.E.D. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Just in case anyone runs into the same issue with the wii + controllers, connect your console to the net, go to system updates in the settings of cfg usb loader, and update to v70 r15, it fixes this issue :yay:
     

Share This Page