New Flasher Mistake or lucky break?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by fizzi, Mar 12, 2010.

1. fizzi
    OP

fizzi Member

Newcomer
    Mar 12, 2010
    I am new to the flashcard scene and having only ever heard of R4, it is what I googled.
    Knowing that I like to have plenty of space free on any memory card I own, I opted for an upgradeable card and found this one

http://www.r4isdhc.com/r4-product/

R4SDHC DShappybox edition.

It came from http://www.memorycardzoo.com (I'm in the UK)

After finding this site I immediately bookmarked and began trawling for information, and what I found about fakes and bricks concerns me.
    Did I just buy a knock-off fake and consider buying a better card to be safe? If so what would you reccomend for a basic micro SD upgradeable card to simply run homebrew and roms on?

Thanks in advance
    Fizz

2. ProtoKun7

ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

Global Moderator
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    Yes.

3. fizzi
    OP

fizzi Member

Newcomer
    Mar 12, 2010
    Well that was a quick reply, but not the most helpful. Any chance you could ellaborate and advise if it's worth me forking out for a different card or if I am safe with this one?

4. DarkWay

DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

Aug 21, 2008
    Cornwall
    currently there are like 4 "top" cards in my opinian these are:-
    Acekard, M3, Supercard and Cyclo DS

those are in no particular order and they are just the makes of cards

5. emigre

emigre Has complex motives

Jan 28, 2009
    London
    Well the problem is that there's so many R4 clones its hard to tell which one is decent or bloody awful. ( Though guys here can tell the difference)

My advice is to try and return and get something better like an AK2i, SCDS1i, M3i etc.

I don't you didn't pay too much for it.

6. ProtoKun7

Global Moderator
    Jan 3, 2009
    Gallifrey
    [​IMG] Sorry, I was planning to elaborate though.