NES VC Games. The A B Y X Layout Button problem

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by ManFranceGermany, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. ManFranceGermany
    OP

    Member ManFranceGermany Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Germany
    The 3DS Buttons are arranged like a SNES-PAD right?
    So why the hell, do this ********* at Nintendo don't rearrange the layout for the NES VC Games? how can I run and jump at the same time with A+B on an arrangement like on the SNES/3DS ? It must be Y + B, like for all SNES/DS/3DS Games.
    I could even rearrange it on my SuperGameBoy...

    I was thinking such mistake an SuperCard team could do on an DSTwo Emulator, but Nintendo? Did they ever tried to play this games???

    I cant play SMB like this. **** you Nintendo, seriously, so long in Biz. and than this.

    Edit: I called Big N. and they said some of the Titels will get 3D classics!!! and they will put an options to rearrange the buttons.
     


  2. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The buttons say A and B on them, the in game instructions (if any) will say to hit buttons A and B.
    There is no problem here at all, just hold your thumb a different way. Many people prefer this layout, just because you don't like it doesn't mean Nintendo made a mistake.

    And YES you can play SMB like this, I'm doing a might fine job of it.
     
  3. ManFranceGermany
    OP

    Member ManFranceGermany Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Germany
    are you kidding?
    I play SMB on my NES with A and B because the layout of the controller is for it.
    Show me how to play with A and B on an layout like for the 3DS. how are you holding your hand? twisting it or what? or are you going, jumping, running, jumping...lol i need to run and jump at the same time, sorry.

    I will call them and ask them how I should play it.
     
  4. BoxmanWTF

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree, moving your thumb slightly to the right isn't that big of a deal
     
  5. beenii

    Member beenii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Germany
    amen!
    But not only SMB, i aswell have problems to play most of the games with this button layout.
    i just dont understand, why they wouldnt let you configure it on your own, or at least have have jump on y and run on x, too, so that you might use b and y
     
  6. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put your thumb on the B and rock it sideways to the A. the buttons are really close together so it takes hardly any movement at all.
     
  7. mariofanatic64

    Member mariofanatic64 The guy who does things

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Australia
    I agree with the OP. Yeah, sure you CAN play with A and B, but personally it's annoying. I prefer Y and B because my thumb naturally crosses over them so I don't have to keep moving it back and forth like i have to do with A and B. Nintendo could at least have set up an option to switch the button layout, X and Y aren't even utilized at all for the NES games, they could at least set those buttons up as alternatives to A and B. It feels a bit like a step back from using nesDS, where the button layout is easily changeable.
     
  8. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do realise that there is probably still a bit of work to do on the nes emulator and what we have is no necessarily the final version. If it bothers you so much, go onto an official Nintendo forum and complain about it there, it might help.
     
  9. Weaselpipe

    Member Weaselpipe Erratic Temp user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do we really need a thread for this, a topic that has been discussed heavily in several other threads about the NES games?
    We get BASIC emulation until they're for sale- if the option to change buttons isn't on the real ones (which we are also getting for FREE) maybe then we can spam the forums with this minor complaint
     
  10. mariofanatic64

    Member mariofanatic64 The guy who does things

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Australia
    What makes you think that "it bothers me so much"? I'm only saying it's a bit of a nuisance, i can play the game fine.
     
  11. dragonkid6

    Member dragonkid6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    ....WTH is the problem with the controls? Hold B to run and A to jump.....oh my gosh the controls are like all the games that have come out in the last 15 years...why would they change the controls from something we are used to? I mean what if SONY finally switched back to O being Accept and X being decline for their next system (it's like that still for JPN games and that's how it used to be for some of the first PSX games in NA) everyone would throw a bitch-fit. I've played on Ninty handheld for too long, these controls are perfect I've upgraded with the times I'm used to it, if they changed the controls now I, and others used to the new controls for the last 15 yrs, would be the ones complaining and I'm pretty sure you fit in the minority on this issue.
     
  12. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I agree with OP. I'm so used to run/shoot with Y and jump with B on the SNES/3DS-button layout that it feels so arkward using A + B. Nintendo did it with the Super Gameboy and Super Mario All-Stars for SNES. So they knew about this.

    But as some of you mentioned this could be implemented in the updated versions of the games when they go live on VC. But tbh I doubt it cause Super Mario Land also uses A + B [​IMG] We'll see...

    Hell, even Super Mario 3D Land uses Y + B (played it at Gamescom) [​IMG]

    Well, Nintendo changed it themselves starting with Super Mario World in 1991.
     
  13. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay.
    I'll be sure to spam you with complaints when they change it to Y and B, because I find A and B better.
     
  14. tombot

    Member tombot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe add a poll to see who prefers what. I don't mind the A+B controls, but playing SMB on my 3DS feels just not as responsive as the real thing. Also, it may just be me but the D-pad is really tight. I figured I'd "break it in" a little more by now, but it just doesn't move as fluidly as a DS lite or as tactile as a DSi.
     
  15. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, it's not that bad. I played NES and GB emulators on my Lite when I had a lite. By default buttons were mapped the same and I learned to adapt to it.
     
  16. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Every time I play SMB on nesDS, I switch the button layout to use A+B.

    I just got that way from playing SMB (The Classic NES Series one) on my DS Lite.

    I even switched my NSMB control to A+B just to not confuse me.

    BTW, instead of using your thumb like \, don't try to use your thumb tip to hit B, use it to hit A.

    Or, if you have big thumbs like me, just constantly hold B with the left side of your thumb and use the other side of your thumb to hit A.
     
  17. Weaselpipe

    Member Weaselpipe Erratic Temp user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know what you mean, I can't work out if it's because I barely use it (only really used for Ghost Recon) or if it's just stiff (one of my wii-motes-official- was like it for a while)
     
  18. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    That's why they should make the controls configurable just like they did in Super Mario All-Stars and all could be happy [​IMG]
     
  19. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    In this thread: Very easy to tell who was born before the NES era.


    That said, remember this is NOT the final version of the emulator... What we have is essentially a "beta" of these NES games before they are released to the public... we get the full versions same time as everyone else can buy them... but for free of course.

    I have to assume configurable options will be amongst the additions, as well as confirmed wireless multiplayer.
     
  20. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It works fine for me...I don't know why you're so angry about it.
     

Share This Page