Hardware My Pokemon Shuffle booted in Japanese...

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,264
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,771
Country
Brazil
... and I think I know why! lol Maybe this explains why someone people got Japanese content fro eshop in emunand and others issues?
To start, i not even a problem, I was wanting a way to play certain games on a desired language if available on the rom... I'm happy I get something like this lol
Toru.jpg
Well, I'm on my US console on a updated emunand, I Just got this game normally from eshop and was playing
but this morning I wanted to enter and it booted in Japanese (Not a problem for me, I Like pokemon more this way xD)
What I think was the cause is that before I started the game, I just pressed select and selected a Japanese brothers on the multi game menu, then, before the game show ups on the cart part, I just booted the game, and then, it loaded in Japanese, I can do it every time I want to play it in Japanese.

I tried installing an EUR smash bro .cia and loading a game that have Portuguese , but don't worked, maybe the Portuguese from Portugal and Brazil are really separated, not like EUR and US English ...

I Don't have more to test here but if someone could, would be cool see how far we can go with that.. like if you have something from eshop, delete that, enter the eshop the way I entered the game and download it again to see if it will come in japanese (I remember some complaining about downloading things on eshop ad it coming in japanese, I think they did something like this)
Other things we can testis which games are affected by this and for the hackers find a way to make a homebrew that help to game the game on the desired language
 

plasma

GBAtemp's Artificial Lifeform
Member
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,669
Trophies
1
Location
Inazuma TM Caravan
XP
2,662
Country
United Kingdom
I tested this using my USA 3DS, loading a JPN game through multi-rom and before it appears clicking on a game, safe to say, Sm4sh boots in English

EDIT: Tested this on a few games, Pokemon Link Shuffle booted in Japanese, Super Pokemon Rumble makes the 3DS do a restart.
I think works for games that have Japanese as a language option, or are MULTI-7
I also figured out why, Gateways 'region-free' changes the region of the emuNAND so the game can be played, which results in all MULTI-7 games or games with Japanese as a language option to boot in that language.

Neat trick!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sliter

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,264
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,771
Country
Brazil
I tested this using my USA 3DS, loading a JPN game through multi-rom and before it appears clicking on a game, safe to say, Sm4sh boots in English

EDIT: Tested this on a few games, Pokemon Link Shuffle booted in Japanese, Super Pokemon Rumble makes the 3DS do a restart.
I think works for games that have Japanese as a language option, or are MULTI-7
I also figured out why, Gateways 'region-free' changes the region of the emuNAND so the game can be played, which results in all MULTI-7 games or games with Japanese as a language option to boot in that language.

Neat trick!

one question, smash4 boot in englsh but the character voices keeps in japanese? or changes as well?

I Think something like this that happens XD maybe not chaging the emuand but, like these game loaders on wii , load the game the langauge you asked for, if it's there, even if it would be possible or not lol maybe it seens that the game is japanese and tell ir to boot in japanese, else it could crash?
well I hope the hackers see it as an oportunity for a new homebrew xD
 

plasma

GBAtemp's Artificial Lifeform
Member
Joined
May 15, 2009
Messages
1,669
Trophies
1
Location
Inazuma TM Caravan
XP
2,662
Country
United Kingdom
one question, smash4 boot in englsh but the character voices keeps in japanese? or changes as well?

I Think something like this that happens XD maybe not chaging the emuand but, like these game loaders on wii , load the game the langauge you asked for, if it's there, even if it would be possible or not lol maybe it seens that the game is japanese and tell ir to boot in japanese, else it could crash?
well I hope the hackers see it as an oportunity for a new homebrew xD

Nah, Sm4sh was all English, which means that the USA/EU version of Sm4sh arnt like Pokemon XY/ORAS where they have Japanese coded in it. seems that was omitted from the US/EU release

And on games where the rom/cia doesnt contain Japanese language, they crash. (examples were LoZ OoT3D and Super Pokemon Rumble - sm4sh doesnt have it either but still worked;-;)
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,264
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,771
Country
Brazil
Nah, Sm4sh was all English, which means that the USA/EU version of Sm4sh arnt like Pokemon XY/ORAS where they have Japanese coded in it. seems that was omitted from the US/EU release

And on games where the rom/cia doesnt contain Japanese language, they crash. (examples were LoZ OoT3D and Super Pokemon Rumble - sm4sh doesnt have it either but still worked;-;)

I don't know ... we know that woith regionthree if we boot japanese smash bros on US/eur console it load in englsh ... even the language(at elats the narrator as we can se on Smea video's that he says " Free for all" instead of " battle royall" of japanese version) I think the same would happens, backwards but I don't have how to test it lol
also this is why I'm having a fight to try doing an undub version, looks like all the JP content are on the US rom, but I can't convert the character audio to see how it's organized :B
 
  • Like
Reactions: plasma

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
3,453
Trophies
2
Age
103
XP
3,233
Country
Brazil
I also figured out why, Gateways 'region-free' changes the region of the emuNAND so the game can be played, which results in all MULTI-7 games or games with Japanese as a language option to boot in that language.

Neat trick!
It seems it temporarily changes the home menu's region setting to match the selected game's.
And when you load another game during the cartridge mounting process, you get stuck at that region.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sliter

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans: butte