Hardware my mouse pad on my laptop is off and i can't turn it back on

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,835
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
My own appartment, finally!!!
XP
8,904
Country
Canada
Hello
So I just realised that my mouse is almost broken (twisted wire problem) So I decided to order a new one, but I still tryed the mousepad
just in case my mouse breaks before the new one arrives
But then, I realised that the mousepad won't turn on.
Usually, all Ive got to do to turn it on is to press FN+F9, but nothing occurs
Anyone can help me please?
thanks :)
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,762
Trophies
1
XP
7,242
Country
United States
Hello
So I just realised that my mouse is almost broken (twisted wire problem) So I decided to order a new one, but I still tryed the mousepad
just in case my mouse breaks before the new one arrives
But then, I realised that the mousepad won't turn on.
Usually, all Ive got to do to turn it on is to press FN+F9, but nothing occurs
Anyone can help me please?
thanks :)
Use a real mouse
 

Dionicio3

The Skiddo
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,848
Trophies
2
Age
19
Location
Hollister, CA
Website
dionicio3.com
XP
5,055
Country
United States
Use a real mouse
So I just realised that my mouse is almost broken (twisted wire problem) So I decided to order a new one, but I still tryed the mousepad
just in case my mouse breaks before the new one arrives
Really shadow?

Anyways, have you tried f9 by itself? Also does your keyboard have a numbpad? If so you can turn on mouse keys in Windows. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/14204/windows-7-use-mouse-keys-to-move-mouse-pointer

Its also entirely possible to activate this feature without a mouse
 
  • Like
Reactions: Noctosphere

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,835
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
My own appartment, finally!!!
XP
8,904
Country
Canada
Really shadow?

Anyways, have you tried f9 by itself? Also does your keyboard have a numbpad? If so you can turn on mouse keys in Windows. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/14204/windows-7-use-mouse-keys-to-move-mouse-pointer

Its also entirely possible to activate this feature without a mouse
meh, its a bit too complicated for me that keypad/mousepad
Also, the F9 button alone doesnt work

Few months ago, I could easily activate deactivate the mousepad by pressing FN F9
but then, I sent it for repair (the screen border were broken), since then, I can't use the mousepad anymore
maybe it's due to that?
I didn't bother before, but now, I think I'll need it soon
 

Dionicio3

The Skiddo
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,848
Trophies
2
Age
19
Location
Hollister, CA
Website
dionicio3.com
XP
5,055
Country
United States
meh, its a bit too complicated for me that keypad/mousepad
Also, the F9 button alone doesnt work

Few months ago, I could easily activate deactivate the mousepad by pressing FN F9
but then, I sent it for repair (the screen border were broken), since then, I can't use the mousepad anymore
maybe it's due to that?
I didn't bother before, but now, I think I'll need it soon
Whoever fixed your laptop probably fucked up the mousepad and didn't notice. I recommend going to a used electronics shop and buying a super cheap mouse
 
  • Like
Reactions: Noctosphere

LineoftheDead

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
206
Country
United States
yea well, I think I'll buy a mouse right now and hope my old one dont break before it arrives
The tech probably forgot to plug in the touchpad upon reassembly, ive done it plenty of times myself :X

anyways a quick lookup on disassembly for the GL553/GL753 link shows that ribbon cable is easily accessible (closest to him & closest to touchpad).

Note: If you are going to be doing upgrades or are going to unplug any hardware, first unplug the battery
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,835
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
My own appartment, finally!!!
XP
8,904
Country
Canada
The tech probably forgot to plug in the touchpad upon reassembly, ive done it plenty of times myself :X

anyways a quick lookup on disassembly for the GL553/GL753 link shows that ribbon cable is easily accessible (closest to him & closest to touchpad).

Note: If you are going to be doing upgrades or are going to unplug any hardware, first unplug the battery
haha noted
thanks
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.cnn.com/2022/09/27/business/mcdonalds-adults-happy-meal/index.html