My Acekard 2i Suddenly Freezes on Blue Loading Screen

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Shade32, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    My Acekard 2i, which I've been using for about the last year or so on my DS Lite is suddenly stuck on the blue loading screen. I started playing Pokemon White 2 yesterday for a bit, no issues. When I went to turn it on again a few hours later, I'm met with this loading issue. I tested my MicroSD chip by trying it in my roommate's Acekard 2i on my DS, and it works fine, so that's not the issue. I can only assume my actual Acekard is the problem and there's some sort of contact issue. I tried the paper trick, where I put a tiny peice of paper behind the label side of my MicroSD and put it into the slot, and that didn't get me any success.

    Anybody have an idea of what I could do to fix this issue? Or is my Acekard just done and I need a new one? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    lots of larger roms (especially pokemon games) have been reported along side acekards no longer booting. we never were able to figure out if the issue was akaio related or if it was other problems. it is really hard to test for everything when you are relying on another person to do all of the testing. some where along the line they usually fix the issue but what caused it continues to remains a mystery.

    for some people a proper reformat of the msd card fixed the issue. i read that others fixed it by reflashing the bootloader. but what needs to be done comes down to what behavior your card is exhibiting.

    do you still see the same ak2i icon you saw before in the ds firmware?
    can you try with a different msd card to see if that card works on your system?
    can you verify by CRC value that your rom is a clean, good, and uncorrupted dump?
    can you test your ak2i on another ds system? preferably a ds lite as they seem to have less contact issues than the dsi/3ds.
    can you run some scans on your msd card to determine if it has any issues, bad sectors, etc?
    does your msd reader get warm/hot to the touch after using it?

    -another world
     
  3. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I still see the same ak2i icon upon starting the DS. I don't think it's a problem with the ROM either, since my MicroSD card with the ROM on it worked in my roommate's Acekard.

    I tried it with one of my other MicroSD's and my roommate's, and neither worked. My cart doesn't work when tried in another DS Lite, either.

    Basically any combination of systems/acekards/microSD chips works when I don't use my Acekard, but did work with my roommate's Acekard, so I assume it's my Acekard that has the issue.
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    there really is no reason why running that game would cause this. the fact that you see the bootloader icon means it may not be related to the bootloader. you could try reflashing it to see if that fixes your issue.

    consider reformatting your msd card using the panasonic formatter. drop on a clean fresh copy of akaio (not a previously backed-up copy) and then try to boot it.

    for larger roms (like the pokemon games) you'll want to format your msd card using 16k clusters. this is due to the AP patching akaio is using.

    being stuck at the first "loading..." screen usually means a contact issue or corrupted system files. the fact that no msd works for you probably means you have a contact issue. double check that you do not have any bent pins in your slot1. the paper trick is, well, tricky. you need to dial in the exact thickness or paper required for your specific card.

    -another world
     
  5. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I've already ruled out a problem with the MicroSD card since it works just fine in my roommate's Acekard 2i, so I'm pretty sure it's a contact issue with my Acekard. I tried the paper trick with one, two, and even three little pieces of paper slotted in front of label side of the microSD and it didn't work. Debating just getting a new flashcart.
     
  6. Latiken

    Member Latiken GBATemp's Epic Fusion

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i recommend another flashcart. alot of AK 2is have contact issues includiing mine but i fixed it with the papaer trick except mine is the one where you put a peice of paper in the pcb. and mine goes under the ak so it adds a little more thickness to it. it works flawlessly now but acekard should fix this. if i were you i would try the paper trick. the one that puts a piece of paper under the pcb contact area
     
  7. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,621
    Country:
    United States
    Its possible your kart is biting the dust. I had an R4 original (way back when) and it would start freezing late late into its lifespan.
     
  8. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, there's been a development. I'm pretty sure this issue is related to the ROM now.

    My roommate also just tried playing Pokemon White 2 on his Acekard 2i (also on a DS Lite) and after starting the game once and turning it off, he now gets stuck at the blue loading screen as well, just as I did.

    I didn't know ROM's could cause this kind of problem, does anybody know what's going on?
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    its probably related to the AP routine. you'll need to reflash the acekard bootloader. in the future, when you run roms 128MB+ you need to make sure your msd is formatted with a 16k cluster size.

    -another world
     
  10. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, that's weird, I've never had a problem with 128MB+ ROMs before. How do I reflash the bootloader? This technical jargon goes over my head and it's been a while since I formatted my card and had to do anything with it.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    as of akaio 1.8.5 the ap routine was adjusted to combat a bricking issue on the 2.1 cards. the new routine has 1 quirk, lager roms require 16k clusters. from what i can tell it doesn't seem to have an issue with all of them, and sd cards may play a part, but the pokemon games seem to require it.

    there have been other reports of users who ran the pokemon games and corrupted the bootloader. the akaio devs are aware of the reports but as of yet no issue has been found.

    to reflash the bootloader you will need a second working flash kit. any flash kit will do. read the following guide for more information: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Updating_the_AK2i_Bootloader

    -another world
     
  12. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, thanks for all the help man!

    I'm just confused, how would something ont he MicroSD like this cause the Acekard itself to stop working?

    EDIT: Question, how do I update the firmware when I can't even boot up the Acekard on my DS Lite?
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The cluster size changes how the AK2i addresses things, and if it fucks up it might address it's own internal storage instead of the MicroSD.
     
  14. Edsonkye

    Newcomer Edsonkye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Australia
    You may need another working card to reflash it.
    Here is the method to fixing this problem, things you need:
    1. Another flashcart( anyone can work on DS or DSi console)
    2. DS console or DSi (version lower than v1.43)
    Now, I would like to take the dstwo and DSL console in the example:

    Step1:Download the dstwo firmware, unzip it, put the file "_dstwo" and "ds2boot.dat" into the root of your SD card.
    Step2: Download the latest ak2i patch, unzip it, you will get two different patches, one is for DSL console, the other one is for DSi console.
    Just put the file "ak2ifw_update_3ds43_dsi144_onDSL.nds" into the root of SD card.(If you use DSi console, put the related DSi patch )
    Step3: Insert the SD card and dstwo into your DSL console, power on it, click the patch file "ak2ifw_update_3ds43_dsi144_onDSL.nds",
    After that you need to eject the SD card and dstwo, then insert the ak2i (without SD card) into the DSL console. Press "B" to continue,Then press "start",
    (Friendly notice: Do not turn off DS during the updating).After completing this updating, the ak2i may work again.
    Hope this can help you guys.
     
  15. Derek D

    Newcomer Derek D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    China
    If you want to fix it, I think DSL is better. that's because it only needs to be rejected on DSL but not DSi. so that you can insert the broken card on it.
     
  16. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    -another world
     
  17. Shade32
    OP

    Newcomer Shade32 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Damn.. both of our flashkits are messed up right now. I'll try to find someone else with one then, thanks!
     
  18. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    DSLite/Phat is the ONLY way to fix it ._.
    DSi handles hotswapping "correctly".
     
  19. Derek D

    Newcomer Derek D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    China
    yeah, u r right : )
     
  20. koolking97

    Newcomer koolking97 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Canada
    so did he ever fix it?
     

Share This Page