Mod-chips- I need to know more.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Livin in a box, Jul 19, 2008.

Jul 19, 2008
  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EDIT:

    I've decided to make this thread a Mod-Chip Q&A (Question and Answer) thread. I've asked a lot of questions through here that might help a lot of people, but people might also want to ask some more.

    Below is the original post I made.

    ________________________________
    As you probably know, i'm new to the Homebrew and hacking scene. I know about bushing's security flaw and all that but I want to know about Wii mod-chips.

    Basically, I have a launch Wii and it's on 3.2E (i'm in England) still. I would like a chip that can play DVD's (so I can put Wii games on them and the like), be able to play games from anywhere in the world and for me not to have to solder it in, i.e. the Wii-Clip. So what would best suite all that?

    What I have at the moment is:
    DVD-R discs
    Standard Dell DVD drive (do I need one capable of dual-layer?)

    So...can anyone answer that? Pwease?
     


  2. MizuhoChan

    Member MizuhoChan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm the same as you, I just installed mine last week. What I installed was a wii-clip + wiikey from ozmodchips. It only cost £35 with the shipping and the tri-wing and took a week to get here. I've gotten some of my games onto Verbatim DVD+R's, but my computer is dying and keeps crashing when I try to burn games now, so I tried a DVD-RW. It worked, but didn't read, unsurprisingly. I used the DVD-RW to burn the newest update though, so it could read my retail Brawl and it worked fine.

    So in conclusion, wiiclip + wiikey is what you need, dual layer if you want to do dual layer games without ripping stuff out (e.g. brawl removes vidyas).
     
  3. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I just went on OzModChips and the price of Wii-Clip V3 with everything comes to £31.6344p...

    But the Wii can still read normal games, right? Games that are bought from a shop? You don't have to put them all on discs, do you?
     
  4. perkele

    Member perkele GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Finland
    You could also get the Key-Clip, it's a Wii-Clip with an ATMega chip built in so you can program it with the dumped Wiikey code.
    Deal Extreme sells them for £13 shipped, but they seem to be on backorder since yesterday.

    You can run original games with a modchip.
     
  5. idunnoilikends

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    i could never install a modchip
     
  6. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, thanks everyone. But I still have some more questions.

    Does the WiiKey give region-free support? Also, I'd just like to ask how easy it is to install the Wii-Clip. Many thanks.
     
  7. djcraze

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    All WiiKey info

    Wiiclip you just pop it on the Drive Chip.. it has a very tight hug on the chip so it doesnt fall off.
     
  8. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    regionfree isn't a problem anymore
     
  9. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can. I thought the same think before but its pretty easy.
     
  10. djcraze

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Installing a mod-chip can be hard or easy depdending on the person.. If your doing soldering, you have to be very precise and have a lot of patience.. However, I will agree if you use a wiiclip then as long as you keep your screws in order and where they go its very straight forward..

    I saw this one guy use masking-tape that he put the screws on and drew a line from the screw pointing to a diagram to where it goes if you fear you'll lose one.
     
  11. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Modchips. Okay.

    First of all - yes the most of mochips enables regionfree compability, however:
    1. Updates from other regions can brick your wii. However, it's small problem, because you can easily patch or remove update.
    2. NTSC TV mode is not supported on PAL consoles or otherwise. It's not a problem too, since you have 3.2 firmware you can use something called Freeloader (you can DL it too) to automaticaly boot the game to work on your TV. Plus, you can patch TV mode to sometimes work. Also, you can use homebrew app called Gecko OS.

    If you have launch wii, then you could have problems with Dual layer/DVD RW discs. Then, if you could, borrow a Super Smash Bros. Brawl (there was Super Smash Bros. Brothers [​IMG] at my typing) and try if it will work. If not - you could send your wii to Nintendo since it's unmodded to fix this problem. I found however that simply cleaning laser MAY fix it.

    Istalling a modchip isn't a pain in the ass. If you want to buy a Wii Clip, then installation will be rather easy.

    Wii is not an Gamecube and will rather read all brands of DVD-/+Rs. But it's recommended to buy better quality discs like Verbatims, TDKs, Sonys or so. The best burning program is IMGburn BTW, but some people like Nero better.


    If you have more questions ask.
     
  12. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks skawo96. That's helped a lot. I do have a copy of Brawl and it works absolutely fine, so I have no need to send it back. The discs I have now are 4.7GB DVD-R single-layer Kodak discs, which I think are fine.

    At the moment i'm just trying to persuade my mum to get one. She doesn't know the joys of it all...

    Oh, one other question. All the 'the pins need to be uncut'- what does this mean? Are the pins in my Wii uncut because it's a launch Wii?
     
  13. djcraze

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Launch wiis don't have cut pins, your fine.
     
  14. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do ya' want tutorial how to open a wii?
     
  15. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I watched one on YouTube and then I saw a guide, and they looked completely different. The person on YouTube (I think it was waninkoko) seemed to use a really long way of doing it. But yes, I would like a guide, thanks.
     
  16. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wait awhile I have to find it (so I have to got past 20 pages of 3.3 topics, so it will be long)
     
  17. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Edit:Double post, sorry. Too late.

    FOUND IT! How I don't know, but... My old guide:


    Here is how to open wii;
    First remove these two:
    [​IMG]
    Next get your smallest screwdriver and remove these screws:
    [​IMG]
    now remove the black thingy and you will see a white thingy:
    [​IMG]
    now remove these screws that are in red Os. You will need a triwing or something that will fit in.
    When you end, next turn your console down and remove clock battery:
    [​IMG]
    ...and these screws:
    [​IMG]
    (Some of them are behing a white thingys. Remove them with flat screwdriver)
    Next remove these screws:
    [​IMG]
    (they are behind white things. remember: these are the Y ones.
    Next CAREFULLY remove the clap with power button and VERY CAREFULLY remove this cable:
    [​IMG]
    Next remove these thingys and remove screws:
    [​IMG]
    Next you must remove the box of wii. Do this carefully and slowly. Now you can see the metal thingy that covers DVD. Remember how it is on DVD and remove it:
    [​IMG]
    Remove these screws
    [​IMG]
    AND VERY CAREFULLY AND SLOWLY lift the drive.
    Remove this cable from socket.
    [​IMG]
    And we have it [​IMG] There you can try to clip the chip [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Ps. Used someone's photo's to this guide. I found them, but maybe somene don't want them there - if so tell me, I can remove them.
     
  18. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that- I'll use that!

    Also, using the WiiKey, could I just burn the disc using whatever and then put it straight in the Wii, or would I have to Trucha Sign it first?
     
  19. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using IMGburn at 4x you almost always do not need to do anything with game...unless it show 001 error/update. If so: tell me, I'll tell you what to do.

    Also remember to put Wiikey configure disk first.
     
  20. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, also, if I downloaded a Wii game and Trucha Signed it and booted it with Gecko OS without a mod chip, would it load or not?
     

Share This Page