M3DS Real horrible battery life!

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by RebelX, Jul 13, 2008.

Jul 13, 2008
  1. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just got my M3 Real yesterday and I loaded the M3 Sakura firmware on it. I uploaded some ROMs and played them for about 30 minutes. I saw the light go red. So, I just thought maybe it had low battery life because I was playing it for a while without charging it. I have a DS Lite black version.

    I charged it up to a full charge last night and started playing it today. The time I played it today was the course of about 30 minutes and then the red light came on! I was like WTF??? And then it went out 10 minutes later!!!

    I was playing Call of Duty 4 on the 2nd light setting.

    I did some research and none said anything about getting an hour of battery life but instead they said they got like 4 hours, even more!

    Am I doing something wrong? Has anyone else had this issue? Please help, I don't want the feeling that I wasted $30 and waited 2 agonizing weeks for this.

    Thanks in advance!
     


  2. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    um, sounds like your battery is dead/dying.
     
  3. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Try play your DS without M3.
     
  4. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    No way dude, I just got my DS Lite 3 weeks ago so there is no way that my battery could be dying. I am going to try an experiment by switching the MicroSD cards. I have one for my phone. The phone is Moto Q which is notorious for its low battery life and the SD card for that doesn't seem to affect the battery life of the phone. My DS is charging now, I will post the results after the experiment is done. I hope to God that this works...

    And to Doggy124 I tried it without the M3 and I got about 5 hours total... So I know its something about he M3/MicroSD card.
     
  5. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Your battery is probably old, my DS lite is a little over a year old and it's starting to get a bit weaker.
     
  6. Alato

    Member Alato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Canada
    It's weird, because the same thing happens with me. I use M3 Real, and my power has gotten really bad, where I can only play for about an hour or two, depending what I'm doing.

    I think it is my battery and I was planning on buying a couple(I need one anyway, so I could get another for my DS). After reading this, though, I don't know if it's the M3 Real or not.
     
  7. melon_55

    Newcomer melon_55 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yer i have also got the same problem but just not as bad. i have it charge over night and then when i play it it goes to red light in under around 1 hour!!! wtf?!
     
  8. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    its got nothing to do with ur micro sd card. and i doubt its the m3 causing the problem. try playing ur ds without the m3, and if the problem continues, ur ds battery is fucked up (regardless how new it is). if thats the case, send it in for repairs
     
  9. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Well I could play Wario Ware Touched for 5 hours (it was over the course of 2 days) with no problems. And when I play the same exact game on a ROM on my M3 I get like 1 hour.

    Hey do you guys think its the GBA Expansion Pak? Would it be something that would affect it? I leave it in when I'm playing the DS. I do not use the Rumble Pak, as it is extremely cheap and useless.
     
  10. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    that is an idea, it has a battery, maybe it is charging itself. try recharging ur ds and playing again
     
  11. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    slot2 ram does consume battery life but it shouldn't that much [​IMG]
     
  12. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Weird. I have had my Onyx DSL for over a full year, and it's just as good as before. I use it daily, for around 4 hours too, and I really don't see a difference in Battery life very much...... Perhaps something is wrong with your DS?

    I charge mine around once per 2-3 days. Mine lasts from 4-9 hours. It's funny, because it seems to keep changing. One day, it lasts fro 4 hours, and one day, it lasts for 9 hours.
     
  13. AXYPB

    Member AXYPB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    United States
    My DS Lite is well over seven months old and I can get five hours of continuous power on the highest brightness level.
     
  14. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously? Damn I think I got a bad M3 or something xD
     
  15. bustyman100

    Newcomer bustyman100 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Do not underestimate how much juice the crappy ram pack sucks out of your DS. Back when I was still using the official/old M3 Real firmware, I remember my battery light going red after an hour of use, and if I pulled out the ram pack, the light would turn back green immediately. I havn't used the ram pack since I switched to Sakura, so I don't know if the firmware makes a difference- I highly doubt it anyway. So I would recommend yanking the ram pack out. Besides, the DS with its tiny screen plus black border doesn't really do justice to the GBA games anyway. You are better off playing GBA on the PSP/PC emulator or the GBA itself.

    I get almost 6 hours on my M3 Real with the following set up:

    White DSL
    4GB Kingston Class 4 SDHC card
    M3 Real running Sakura english hacked version
    Nothing in Slot 2
     
  16. tguellich

    Newcomer tguellich Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I used to have a similar problem but I lasted at least 1 1/2 hours before red. I stopped playing with the expansion in all the time and I did see a difference. The expansion has a battery that charges itself from the DS battery while the DS is on, so you are losing some power to that. Try leaving the DS on and keeping it plugged in for many hours with the expansion in it. That will surely charge the expansion to a full charge. Maybe then you will see some improvement.

    My new DS Lite doesn't last as long as my older DS Lite does. I think Nintendo isn't making their batteries like they used to, a little drop in quality really shows.
     
  17. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Wait so the expansion pack uses batteries??? It needs a charge? o.O explain, explain...
     
  18. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    all GBA expansions have save-ram which gets erased when it has no power.
    to prevent it from getting erased there's a battery.
     
  19. RebelX
    OP

    Member RebelX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Irmo, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Ahhh ok then. So when I charge it up will it still use the battery on the DS?
     
  20. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    not only that, but the M3 expansion also has a clock.
     

Share This Page