m3 sakura 1.12 reverse engineering

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by iamanobody, Oct 14, 2008.

Oct 14, 2008
  1. iamanobody
    OP

    Newcomer iamanobody Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    OK, i'm back [​IMG] this thread is for REVERSE ENGINEERING/HACKING of m3 sakura 1.12 (not for discussion/questions/etc.) i'll try to post information when possible. if you have something related to REVERSE ENGINEERING, please post it here. please leave questions/comments out of this thread to avoid clutter. i've just downloaded the new version and i need to look at it. it may take longer this time because i have school/life

    EDIT: main thing hacked, working on loaders
     


  2. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    iamanobody FTW [​IMG]

    Please post here for any questions or comments that aren't related to reverse-engineering the firmware.

    *EDIT*
    NOTE: The firmware download on this thread is no longer up-to-date. The game loaders (ROM config menus) are still in Japanese.

    Get the FULL English version on the M3 Sakura FAQ.
     
  3. iamanobody
    OP

    Newcomer iamanobody Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    at first glance, the gba loader protection looks the same

    EDIT: after checking, it does look the same, testing

    EDIT2: GBA working, but will be busy for a while so i'll crack the NDS loader later

    EDIT3: NDS and GBA working [​IMG] [​IMG] i need to do something now so i'll package/release it later
     
  4. Leon2457

    Newcomer Leon2457 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EDIT: I apologize for this, I didn't read the first post to begin with. [​IMG] Sorry!
     
  5. lilkerv90210

    lilkerv90210 Newbie

    EDIT: sorry didnt look at the second post
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Is there any chance you want to share with us your findings and how you patched it to work, just incase your not around in the future?

    EDIT: why the hell is there acekard, supercard and ezflash stuff in this release? dsmenu.bin is acekard, the included moonshell is ezflash v, and there's a supercard ds1 dldi.
     
  7. iamanobody
    OP

    Newcomer iamanobody Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    i'll write some stuff out soon. i was wondering about that too [​IMG] the included moonshell actually seems to be a DSLink, the "morning timer" has a r4 dldi, there's a acecard rpg sd dldi [​IMG]
     
  8. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Its a mess of flashcarts, indeed, I've just finished making a dldi version of this. The dsmenu.bin is a hacked version of the acekard firmware (it is open source so m3 should technically have to release their modifications as open source). I seriously wonder WTF the m3sakura team is doing? seems bad for business too include stuff from other flashcarts.
     
  9. iamanobody
    OP

    Newcomer iamanobody Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
  10. LUGiA

    Member LUGiA GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    has the new loader been translated into english
     
  11. -Mew-

    Member -Mew- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    FUCK YEAH! I love you guys ;_; [​IMG]
     
  12. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Erm....the post above yours?!?!
    [​IMG]

    That's the download for hacked english version!
     
  13. -Mew-

    Member -Mew- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    This is surely a stupid question but how do i soft reset?
     
  14. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    If the button combination is the same.....Than push either L, R, A, B, X, Y together or L, R, A, B, X (L, R, A, B, Y)....I might be wrong, but I think that's the button combination (and you have to enable it in the NDS config. menu!)..
     
  15. -Mew-

    Member -Mew- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    Holy shit it works [​IMG] AWESOME [​IMG] !

    Yeah it's L,R,A,B,X or L,R,A,B,Y and you have to enable it in the menu.
     
  16. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wait, does that mean that Soft Reset works now? Alright, that a very big step in the right direction!

    I'll wait for a bit until this is included in the M3 Real Triple Loader, then I'll use it a lot. Thanks for your awesome work iamanobody!
     
  17. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah, Soft-Reset and returning from config. menus to File Browsing are updates in this version..

    Also, NDS-GBA linkage is added..
     
  18. -Mew-

    Member -Mew- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    As in you can link Harvest moon GBA Rom to the NDS rom or just links between the gba and nds?

    Or am i stupid and it just supports GBA roms now.
     
  19. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    As in you can load GBA game into slot 2 (GBA expansion), and play NDS game with extra features that GBA game enables..

    example. Aria of Sorrow and Down of Sorrow (at the start of game you get extra ring)...or Pokemon Linkage etc.
     
  20. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's very nice! This might be a dumb question, but how can you start linkage? In the normal M3 Real software you used the Y-button, is that still the case in M3Sakura?
     

Share This Page