Hacking Looking to Buy a ModChip for the Wii

Bowser-jr

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
Visit site
XP
196
Country
United States
What is the best, or rather, a good mod chip to buy for the Nintendo Wii, and do I need to have a Wii with old firmware or will any firmware do? I looked at the DriveKey and WODE. They both seem to be pretty good. Any advice/help would be appreciated.
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
You would definitely want to get the WODE. It has hard drive loading, disc backup support, and is updatable. AFAIK, it works with all games so far.

Or you could just softmod.
 

Bowser-jr

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
Visit site
XP
196
Country
United States
Ah okay, i did the soft mod. Now, I read the guides and such and I currently have the Soft Chip Loader and Neogamma Loader on my SD card. Do I need certain cIOS to play certain games?

Also, what do I need or what is better compatible with Beyblade Metal Fusion: Battle Fortress?
 

lordrand11

The Wheel of Time Turns and Ages Come And Pass.
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Gallatin, TN
XP
1,260
Country
United States
Well if your wanting to play both wii and gc backups id suggest getting a wode. save all your money from buying discs and get a hdd for it works so much smoother.
 

Bowser-jr

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
Visit site
XP
196
Country
United States
TwinRetro said:
Bowser-jr said:
Does Hermes cIOS have more then one version?

Ive been out of the loop for the last 6 months so this link would explain it better than I can

http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/cios/hermes-cios

Okay, I'm about to install using the Hermes ISO Installer 5.1 but it says to do it on the IOS that has the Trucha Bug or Dev/Rev or something. What does that mean? Is there a guide for what cIOS i need to play Wii ISOs? I'm really confused Here.
 

CarbonX13

GBAtemp 台灣人
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
1,399
Trophies
0
Location
Vancouver, B.C.
Website
Visit site
XP
127
Country
Taiwan
Bowser-jr said:
ah okay, i have everything set up thanks to ModMii.
And Dios Mios is the best thing for a GC Loader?
It's the only option for GameCube USB loading for soft-mod users. However, it was only recently released and it is incredibly unstable as far as I know, so it definitely has a long way to go. The best way to run GameCube backups is using Neogamma R9 Beta and playing via burned DVD-R games, but not all Wii consoles are capable of doing that (D3-2 drives on newer consoles).
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: i thought i could chat oh well