Hacking kosmos vs atmosphere

scottay

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
Hi just wondering what is better kosmos or atmosphere I'm new to modding so wanna do it right. Also will a 256 memory card be sufficient for hbg shop downloads.
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,361
Country
United States
Atmosphere is a CFW, Kosmos is a pack of a bunch of switch software including Atmosphere. So Kosmos is basically Atmosphere bundled with a bunch of other stuff that's better to get started with
 

Carlos_DobleC

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
219
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,053
Country
Spain
This is absolutely not the case

I meant that everything is already preconfigured, I prefer to configure it, and choose exactly which modules I use, etc ...
But I know it has a higher quality standard than that of a youtuber even having programmers working on the project
 
  • Like
Reactions: ds34

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,873
Trophies
1
XP
3,986
Country
Germany
just get kosmos.
you can still remove things you don't want and add things you think it's lacking.

it's made for you, since you're new to this. just put it on the sd card (which you should format to fat32 btw) and you're ready to go.

256gb should be enough if you're not a game hoarder. i'm coming close to filling a 400gb card.
 

scottay

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
just get kosmos.
you can still remove things you don't want and add things you think it's lacking.

it's made for you, since you're new to this. just put it on the sd card (which you should format to fat32 btw) and you're ready to go.

256gb should be enough if you're not a game hoarder. i'm coming close to filling a 400gb card.

Dont suppose u have a guide to doing a emu and backup and a guide to installing kosmos then as I have my jig and should receive my 400gb sd card today so will start the process of hacking my switch tonight.
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,873
Trophies
1
XP
3,986
Country
Germany
Dont suppose u have a guide to doing a emu and backup and a guide to installing kosmos then as I have my jig and should receive my 400gb sd card today so will start the process of hacking my switch tonight.

sorry, not using emunand myself.
https://www.scenefolks.com/pages.php?page=4210
this guide is rather recent but it's a little messy since it explains how to do stuff on windows and linux side by side, so you gotta read it very carefully
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,361
Country
United States
Dont suppose u have a guide to doing a emu and backup and a guide to installing kosmos then as I have my jig and should receive my 400gb sd card today so will start the process of hacking my switch tonight.
Techincally a beta, but it's the only full-featured guide I know of that covers everything including emuMMC. Made by the same people that do Kosmos.
https://pubdev.switch.homebrew.guide/gettingstarted/beforestarting

One thing of note, when you go to do emuMMC, if you run into an error message in Hekate when you try to create the emuMMC partition with fat32 instead of ext4. Myself and another person just today had a problem with that for some reason. Also there's a support chat in the AtlasNX discord if you need any help with things along the way.
 

scottay

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
Have u got a discord invite link then please
Techincally a beta, but it's the only full-featured guide I know of that covers everything including emuMMC. Made by the same people that do Kosmos.
https://pubdev.switch.homebrew.guide/gettingstarted/beforestarting

One thing of note, when you go to do emuMMC, if you run into an error message in Hekate when you try to create the emuMMC partition with fat32 instead of ext4. Myself and another person just today had a problem with that for some reason. Also there's a support chat in the AtlasNX discord if you need any help with things along the way.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Does atmosphere stay active when the switch is turned off as I plan to take my hacked switch to canada so will only have my android phone and switch available
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,128
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Austria
XP
2,942
Country
Austria
Does atmosphere stay active when the switch is turned off as I plan to take my hacked switch to canada so will only have my android phone and switch available
Install autoRCM and get apps like Rekado to inject payloads from Android smartphone. Because after your switch is turned off, you need to inject the hekate payload again.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,220
Trophies
1
XP
3,812
Country
United Kingdom
One of the downsides with kosmos is it always lags behind atmosphere.

If you want to be able to upgrade as soon as a new version of atmosphere is released, then kosmos will annoy you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: piek50

scottay

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
25
Trophies
0
XP
122
Country
Ok I just wanna get to know the basics with kosmos first then if I get a feel for it might use something else at the moment I'm struggling to get my switch into the rcm mode to inject anything need another rcm jig as the one I've got at letting me access the rcm mode.
 

Naxster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2009
Messages
621
Trophies
0
XP
1,347
Country
Sweden
Sorry to bring this up, but is Kosmos Up-to-Date with the releases?
When i download their latest version (Kosmos V14.2) i can see that it has Atmosphere 0.9.4...
And according to Atmosphere Github, the latest version is 0.10.1 :/

I think that i will download Atmosphere from their Github and just grab some softwares from the Kosmos package.
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,032
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,399
Country
United States
Kosmos has yet to adapt to the major .10 atmosphere release, so you can't use it with OFW 9.1. I'm also wondering what is going on because typically their updates are pretty fast, at least when OFW updates.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/Zp9236z