Just got Acekard 2, but it didn't come with instructions...

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Makoto03, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Makoto03
    OP

    Member Makoto03 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone please tell me how this flash card works? I have also got a 2gb microSD which i guess fits into the Acekard thing, and it came with a usb thing for the microsd. My question it how are roms patched or placed on the microsd? are they just dragged directly into it? And how do i update my Acekard? Also how do cheat codes work with this?

    I have been using a G6 Lite up until now and it came with software for patching (and intructions). I'm so confused about this new card. [​IMG]
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There may be instructions hosted on Acekard's website, although I don't know the URL. Most games are probably drag and drop anyway, though newer games may require patching sometimes.
     
  3. Makoto03
    OP

    Member Makoto03 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    oh, i can just drag and drop into the Microsd? Thats so cool! My old G6 Lite made me manual trim and patch every rom on my pc using some program, before i could even put it on the flashcard. >_<

    Now i found the update webpage, but need to figure out where to place it on sd card.
     
  4. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Oficial site and info -> www.acekard.com (just see your flashcard box [​IMG])

    EDIT:
    JUST UNPACK KERNEL/OS (acekard or AKAIO) and copy to microSD...
     
  5. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Instead of using the official acekard 2 firmware, I would recommend using AKAIO. It's updated far more often then the official firmware and has better compatibility.

    Wiki below if you want to read up more about it.
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php?title=AKAIO
     
  6. Makoto03
    OP

    Member Makoto03 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    thanks. I got a question about the Akaio_v1.5 winrar file. Am i supposed to place the entire '_Aio' folder on my sd or open that folder and place everything in there to the SD? Also what is that 'AKmenu2.nds' for? Do i place it in the games folder or somewhere else?
     
  7. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Place the akmenu2.nds on the root of your micro sd card. The _Aio folder is placed on the root of the micro sd card also. You don't open the folder and place everything on your card.
     
  8. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    and you must get the latest loader and wi-fi plugin
     
  9. Makoto03
    OP

    Member Makoto03 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    okay, i think i understand now. thanks!!!
     

Share This Page